We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very homely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Townsend Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #6 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We're regular visitors to Minehead, but this was the first time we'd booked accommodation outside of the main town, and it made a lovely change. We received a very friendly welcome and were made comfortable in the lounge with a fresh pot of tea and biccies. Lovely room and super breakfast. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
91
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were made very welcome here and had a wonderful stay. The hospitality and friendliness was second to none, the facilities were superb and the breakfast was outstanding. This B&B is head and shoulders above many others we have stayed in and we look forward to another visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed two wonderful nights at this excellent B&B, a lucky find as we were driving through Carhampton. We were warmly welcomed by Nick and given a huge wing of the house all to ourselves, with a comfortable bed and a massive bathroom with both shower and bath.

We followed Nick's suggestion to walk through the Deer Park to Dunster and spent a fascinating day exploring the castle and village, before getting the local bus back to Carhampton. A friendly and tasty meal at the local pub rounded the day off perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynetteMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed for two nights. Very warm welcome from Nick. House very comfortable, do wonder about who chooses what programs to watch on the only TV in the very comfortable Lounge, if all rooms are occupied. Food was excellent and a great choice. Would have liked to met Melinda.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A touch of luxury and exceptional hospitality set Townsend apart from even the best B & B's. The delightful character farmhouse, set in an excellent location for exploring the surrounding countryside, add to the charm of a stay with Nick and Melinda. Breakfasts are outstanding and guaranteed to please. If you are a dog lover, Jed and Rosie are characters. I recommend staying in Townsend Farmhouse without hesitation.

Room Tip: Book early in summer and be prepared to be spoilt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We recently enjoyed a two night stay at the Townsend "what a find" a real gem, we received a very warm welcome by Nick and Melinda, closely followed by their delightful dogs Jed and Rosie
we felt very at home, the Rose room was excellent, warm and cosy with a great shower room,
Breakfast was one of the best I have experienced, the omelette is well worth a try, portions are very generous and all the food was expertly cooked and presented, Nick was very knowledgeable about the local area, where to walk, eat etc....I would have no hesitation in recommending the Townsend should be you be in the area for a visit....Deborah & Des

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debonair07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were a bit unfortunate in that we only had a weekend at our disposal so could only stay 2 nights with Nick, Melinda and the two dogs. The room we had was on the front of the house but despite the fairly close proximity to the main road, it was a very quiet and comfortable room. Full en suite with power shower and drinks tray were all in situ. We were welcomed in the lounge along with drinks and biscuits where we were introduced to two friendly dogs who were no bother at all. Breakfast menus were in our rooms where we selected our requirements for the following morning and evening meal reservations were arranged by our hosts once we had decided where we wanted to eat. Very helpful. Breakfast was superb with more than enough to satisfy even a hungry horse like myself. Everything was fresh and well cooked and most, if not all the food, sourced from local suppliers. I would recommend Townsend Farmhouse without a second thought.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
1.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 12 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#5 of 12 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Farmhouse B & B

Property: Townsend Farmhouse B & B
Address: Townsend Farm Main Road | Carhampton, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsend Farmhouse offers 4 Star accommodation in a Grade II listed 17th century farmhouse, fully refurbished to the highest standards, yet retaining many original and charming features. From the moment you pull into the drive, you can leave the 'real world' behind, step back into a bygone age and relax in a warm, comfortable, inviting environment. Townsend Farmhouse is perfectly located to provide the ideal base to enjoy all the area has to offer in a wonderful authentic farmhouse environment at a budget that won’t spoil your holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townsend Farmhouse B & B Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing