We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cream Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Cream Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We called in for a cream tea on Sunday, as it was after 4pm not much else was open in Dunster and it was getting cold. There was a warm fire in the lounge and it was quite busy with residents and non-residents, some people having alcoholic drinks and others tea etc. but all seemed thoroughly relaxed reading the sunday papers and chatting.We ordered three cream teas and the young man who seemed to be doing everything, manning the bar, clearing tables and taking orders, was very polite, friendly and efficient. The other staff were the same, offering my elderly mother a more comfortable chair and bringing two large teapots of tea, plus a large pot of hot water, six large scones ( several places only serve one scone per person these days)and jam and cream. The tea was rather weak once the hot water was added it must be said and there wasn`t really enough jam for all of the scones but the atmosphere was very friendly and hospitable. We last visited in October and stayed the night but some of the young staff then lacked training and were quite lacking in basic manners. But the place has changed hands now and the staff seem much more friendly and obliging and we wish them every success and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    152
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
107
376
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedbergh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stopped here for lunch and it was a good choice. Not the cheapest but good food, and a lovely atmosphere with open fires and helpful staff. Lunch became quite a protracted affair. Offer full meals and snacks. Good choice of drinks and we hope to return to stay overnight

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and i chanced on this wonderful hotel when passing through dunster. What started as a coffee , as soon as we were sat by the huge glowing fire in the bar area we were sold and booked for the night the staff were very helpful and friendly, our dog was made very welcome and the food and room were excellent will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertiebutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had the garden room with our own access. The room was large with plenty tea, coffee and hot chocolate along with 2 varieties of biscuits. 2 small bottles of water were in the room fridge.

We also had a sofa and armchair flat screen TV and Bose sound system. The bathroom was a good size and individual complimentaries which is much nicer than dispensers on the wall a more personal touch I feel.

Bar was warming on a cold damp weekend. Tom the barman was wonderful really friendly and up for a chat. Charley was also very happy to help where she could, along with the 2 cats who we understand are due to be re-homed.

Food - where can I start, from the pigeon to the venison also the smoked pheasant and the seabass what can we say, superb, excellent, fabulous, never had such good prepared and tasting food, compliments to the chef.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and cooked to order, much better than hot buffet.

Staff- fantastic friendly always there to help you and very knowledgeable of not only the hotel and it's histroy but the area too.

The hotel is full of character dating back to medieval times we had a wonderful stay and yes we will return.

We wish the new owners all the very best I am sure this hotel will flourish.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worxelminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for your review. It is lovely to read your kind remarks and i hope that you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Property: The Luttrell Arms
Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing