We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous getaway!”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous getaway!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Such a beautiful hotel in a beautiful area! The bars are bursting with character, still with some of it's original features. It has a wonderful garden hidden towards the back of the building with views of Dunster Castle and the village.
We stayed for three nights over the bank holiday and adored our room. The rooms are a really good size (sneeked a peek of a few ofthers!) with lovely ensuites and all have their own style.
Dunster is a pretty little village and very convinient to visit many surrounding areas!

Would definitly recomend this hotel and can't wait to go again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Sorry it has taken us a while to respond to your review. Thank you so much for coming to visit and for your lovely comments. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    156
    39
    27
    14
See reviews for
114
384
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Only stopped in for a couple of drinks and a bite to eat but what a fabulous place! We sat out the back in the sunshine and the glorious views of the castle. The hotel was just bursting with history and the bars and restaurants looked amazing.

Just wish we could have stayed there or had a meal but we didn't have time. Next time we go to Somerset we will definitely visit the Lutrell Arms again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_JWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review. The garden has really come into its own since the sunshine arrived – come back soon and check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel has everything you could want from a beautiful medieval hotel. Warm welcome, amazing service, comfy and large rooms, great food and atmosphere. Dunster is a beautiful old medieval town with a castle that can be seen from the hotel garden. We will be back !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr and Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed at the Luttrell Arms for 2 nights on my first trip to Exmoor. There was scaffolding up when we got there and the staff explained that the hotel had recently changed hands. It was clear to see that there are cosmetic things that can be improved, but the character of this fabulous old building shines through. My room was clean and a good size, with fresh modern furnishings and a good bathroom. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout, and breakfast was excellent, with a good range of cooked-to-order dishes. You can't help but fall for this quirky but charming hotel and I would love to return again sometime.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We popped into the Luttrell Arms for a light lunch and a drink while on a touristy trip around West Somerset.

The pub has lots of cosy nooks in separate rooms, which means you can always find a quiet place to sit and enjoy a chat over excellent food. There was a wide selection of food available on the menu ranging from full roasts to bar snacks and sandwiches. We opted to sample the smoked salmon sandwiches, which were served promptly with potato crisps and a dressed salad.

Highly recommended to rest weary feet and recharge the batteries when exploring in the Dunster area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This place has the potential to be really lovely and it came to us highly recommended.

We didn't stay here, but we had lunch there on Saturday as part of an outing to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday. We all came away feeling a little disappointed but thankfully none of us let our experience here spoil our day.

The staff looked blank when we arrived (perhaps someone had obviously forgotten to put our booking in the diary - as we had booked & confirmed?). The staff didn't seem to know where to put is - slightly comically we were moved 4 times before finally being seated in the restaurant! Not a major problem, but it didn't feel massively welcoming. We were a party of 9 (including a toddler) so a little bit of a shame that we had to traipse from room to room before our lunch! More than one of us had slight feeling that the staff were talking behind our backs too. One of the waitresses did try her best to rally the situation. Our experience at The Lutterell Arms could have been made much more special than it was. Although there was nothing wrong with the food, it wasn't all that striking, but the service was relatively quick once we finally got seated. I am not sure we would return here - sorry!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWillbury14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
I am really apologetic that your experience of The Luttrell Arms wasn't as you had hoped. It is never a good start if we have misplaced your reservation and don't get off to a good start!

It is always difficult to move large parties around, I am sorry that you were moved 4 times, this does seem excessive but I am sure that the waiting staff were trying to do what was best for you.

I am glad the food and service was good and I will say that we have only owned the hotel for 12 weeks having purchased the hotel from the receivers , on 24th January this year . You are quite right, it should be better and we intend to make it a hotel that all who visit fall in love with and return to. Next time you are in the area please come in and introduce yourself and we will show you how we are changing and improving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was our second visit to Dunster and first visit to the Luttrell Arms having been recommended by a friend who stayed when working on the West Somerset Railway. Upon arrival which was quite late on a friday afternoon we were met by enthusiastic staff that were very cheery and helpful. Our room was lovely - big, roomy and very comfortable (room 6) even at the front overlooking the Yarn it was quiet. We ate in the bar the first night and in the restaurant on the 2nd night and have to say that the food was delicious - could have done with a bit more belly pork!? cos it was soo good.... The breakfasts both mornings were absolutely perfect and certainly plenty of it. The warmed croissants a definite must! Thank you to Becca and the team - our waitresses both during dinner and breakfast were lovely, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Overall I was very impressed, if I had a complaint it would be the prices, they could have been a little less dear.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Property: The Luttrell Arms
Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing