We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a shame!”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The hotel has been in decline for many years and so it was with great anticipation that we were looking forward to the new owners who already have a good reputation running 2 establishments in South Devon. A lot of money, time and effort has been spent in decorating and refurbishing the hotel but it is such a shame that the same amount of effort has not gone into service and the management of the staff. We had a family party for Sunday lunch and although the food was excellent the service was lacking and there did not appear to be any management of the staff, although there was a smart young man wandering around but not overseeing the restaurant staff, who in themselves were trying to do a good job. There were 3 small children in our party and instead of them being served first, so that their parents could get them settled with their food, they had to wait until well after the adults had started their meals. Although we were seated at 12.00 it took a long while to get served and one of the desserts had run out when the time came to order. It seemed that there was more priority in the bar area than the restaurant.
I don't know if the new owners have a permanent presence in the hotel, because it is needed. I am sure that it will all get sorted out in time, but with such anticipation of a new beginning for the hotel, it was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trickydicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Building - dining room - court yard - beautiful!! Alas the service was amateurish, and paying the bill took ages. The starter - salad had no dressing at all; lamb main was overcooked; the drinks order was mixed up and we had to ask for water more than once.With more attention to detail in many areas this could be a great venue! Good luck.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netgezien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A group of nine retired friends and former work colleagues travelled on the train to the Luttrell Arms last Tuesday for a superb lunch and drinks. We sat in the courtyard in the gorgeous sunshine and had a wonderful time of laughter and fellowship. The food, drink and service from the excellent friendly staff helped make this a visit to remember. Nigel Way and his team have done a great job in improving the customer experience. Well Done! We will be back next year. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

That's an old hotel, indeed. However for this price it is very annoying to smell and see the dirt, especially in the room, that are due to i suspect for a very poor cleaning activity. I didnt like to stay there, at all.

Stayed: June 2013
3  Thank Adorján K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

I am really sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us here at the Luttrell Arms. We were all surprised and disappointed by your remarks regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and our bedrooms. Our housekeeping team are often complimented on the standard of cleanliness around the hotel and I was shocked at you comments. Upon reading your review we have carried out further intensive deep cleaning in an effort to elevate any further remarks like this but failed to see what could have upset you so much. It is an extremely old building and we are currently undergoing a lot of renovation work which does at times cause some dust but we are making every effort to keep on top of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had booked this hotel for a couple of nights as we had a family funeral to attend locally and what a warm welcome we received.
We had the most fabulous room ( 14) complete with an enormous 4 poster , really full of character and very comfortable.

Great atmosphere in bars, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant and also sampled a wonderful curry night special on the Tuesday.

This is a beautiful old hotel , the new owners are very much ' hands on' and we hope to return again soon, perhaps for one of their ' Fawlty Towers ' evenings.

Room Tip: Choose a 4 poster room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We also can’t wait for our Fawlty Towers Night, it should be great fun. It has sold out extremely quickly so we have booked another date shortly after (July 11th) to try to accommodate everyone! We look forward to seeing you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent a very pleasant weekend in this hotel which can trace its history back some 400 years or more. It is situated in the medieval village of Dunster overlooking the Dunster Castle and both establishments are well worth the visit. There are plenty of quaint old shops and restaurants in the lovely ancient village which has not lost its character in spite of modern day living.......even the parking is Free !!
The hotel itself, under new management, is slowly being brought into the 21st Century but still maintains its "old world charm" and is full of character throughout. Each room has its own individual welcoming charm and the newly opened restaurant is a credit to the management. Food is of a very high standard and quality and the restaurant service is first class although the waitresses did seem to sometimes become rather flustered when under pressure of a full restaurant. Nevertheless, all the hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We were made very welcome at this hotel and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. A word of caution to disabled visitors........there is no lift in this hotel with fairly steep stairs which could be difficult for some people.
Overall, a lovely hotel which is full of character in a beautiful village and well worth staying for the weekend. We will certainly go again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 24 which is rather small and needs somewhere to store clothes such as a chest of d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgioGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a kind review. We are very fortunate to have such a beautiful old building and to be located in Dunster is fantastic. The village atmosphere is lovely and there is so much to see. We have recently written our top 20 things to do in Dunster for free and it was hard to limit it to just the 20!
The new restaurant and the menu seems to be going well, thank you for the feedback, we are looking to hire more waiting staff as the hotel gets busier so hopefully they won’t get flustered!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (in general). The room and public areas very clean, as far as renovations and decorating allowed. Shame the restaurant was not in use as the Boardroom, being used as temporary restaurant, was somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The gardens and views therefrom amazing! Food good and plentiful (a bit too much sometimes), well cooked and nice varied menu. The service was a bit hit and miss when very busy and we didn't always get exactly what we asked for, but not too different to really complain! A lovely weekend overall. The parking arrangements were lacking but completely overcome by providing us with a permit for other car parks in West Somerset - Minehead, Dulverton, etc. a real boon.

Room Tip: Stairs steep and uneven. Let reception know if you have difficulty as there are some ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank branwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you so much for all the nice comments about the Luttrell arms and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and as you said we were decorating the main restaurant which we were struggling to get ready for spring bank holiday it is now completed along with the installation of a new coffee machine and lighting all complete except for some stunning curtains that we are waiting for (my dad says we can wait as we don’t have the money yet! But that’s not true!!)
Glad you enjoyed the food and the views and we are pleased you were happy with the parking arrangements, we are hoping to have our own car park soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
208 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
13.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range: £94 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing