We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel Great Service”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A group of us stayed in October, were given a private dining room and were looked after wonderfully. The staff made us very welcome, the food first class. Rooms really comfortable and as you would expect spotlessly clean. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here in October, and were very impressed. The new(ish) Owners are refurbishing the hotel, and doing a good job. The hotel is old, so there are creaking floors, and odd sized rooms, but that you would expect. We had booked a large room with King size bed, and got room 14. This room is enormous, King size four poster bed, large sitting area, with sofa and chairs, fireplace and window seat. Also this room has a 'writing room', off the bedroom which is the oldest part of the hotel, and has a desk, and 3 windows overlooking the castle and high street. Very attractive. The room was clean and had plenty of storage, Big bathroom, with good size bath (excellent), and bidet.We had breakfast, included which was first class. Fruit, cereal, juices and selection of cooked breakfast. Nice airy breakfast room.

The staff were very helpful. They even managed to get us an extension cable at 10.00 at night, by raiding the outside electricity store. At breakfast Robyn was very helpful, being attentive and heplful,without intruding. As mentioned, parking is difficult, you can only park in the High St, which in summer must be difficult. However, we were given a free pass for the town car park, which is about 500 yards away. The Hotel is on the corner of the main road, and there is quite a lot of traffic. Our room looked out onto the road, but the noise was not a problem. Could be different in the summer, There was some people noise, as our door was at the top of the stairs, so you goy some noise from people coming and going from the bar, and going upstairs, however this is not a place for bright young things, so noise fairly minimal. The hotel is away from the church, so no problem with the allnight clock!

We had 3 nights for the price of two which made the stay exceptional value, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our standard of service is very important to us and we have passed your kind comments onto Robyn in particular and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just back from a lovely 2 night break at The Luttrell Arms. Very welcoming and nice atmosphere in bar, food good, bedroom was spotless and bathroom pristine. Would definitely return. Great location and everything in walking distance (once you have parked!)

Room Tip: Room 10 would be great if you have a dog with you with easy access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuluWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Historic and impressive building, delightful interior, location amazing, staff helpful, food beyond dreadful. We had lunch there today and I am hard pressed to think of worse food I've experienced being served in this country. Ever. Nil points... Up your act in the kitchen guys.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We decided to get away for a few days and also get some business done at the same time, upon arriving parking was difficult but we were pre warned and although a late turn up the night man was waiting for us along with genuine smiles and a warm welcome he also carried our bags all the way to the top floor for us!
Grand start after an awful journey!
we came back down and although late we decided to have a couple of glasses of wine as we deserved it.
again nothing was too much trouble and Martin had us laughing in no time , lovely Guy and funny too.
next morning the breakfast was lovely opting for a full English! Cooked to perfection a lovely attentive young red headed girl served us although she was busy she was very efficient and with good manners!
after seeing the sites in the quaint surroundings of the town and some shopping we tried reeves a few doors down, food was lovely but expensive, we tried the food in the hotel restaurant it was perfect in every way including the price!!
The hotel itself is superb and gorgeous has great atmosphere with roaring fire places that are sublime, although this is a three star hotel you get five star service! it oozes class and has wonderful history and features.
upon leaving we met the manager Tim! A thoughahly lovely Guy and although busy with tools in his hands he had time for us! All I can is We will be back again in the future and can't wait and hope to see some of the same faces.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clonditegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On a whim, instead of our normal Saturday lunch we took ourselves (myself, my wife and a very good friend) off to The Luttrell Arms.

Recently acquired by the owner of The Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth (an establishment with which we are well acquainted) we decided to see what was special about this Hotel.

We were not disappointed. Even before we arrived the journey is picturesque, the Town of Dunster is charming (dare I say picture postcard).

The Hotel itself retains many superb period features although an awning has been strung in one of the courtyards (overlooked from the main bar) it's external Tudor period carved beams are a delight. The main bar itself is magic if you like open, aromatic wood fires, original type settles (with nice cushions). It's ceiling is high but oak beamed, there are a number of other ante rooms in which you can drink and dine if you choose but for me the main bar is the best. Do not be taken in by the very good photo on the Luttrell Arms web site, this makes the bar look larger (probably taken with a very wide angle lens) and it also makes the bar look much brighter and more modern when in fact it's comfortably lit and cosy.

Beers sampled were Exmoor Stag and Ale; both very well presented.

For lunch - Rump Steak with all the trimmings and a very good Jacket Spud (properly cooked). Pudding, local ice cream and a hazelnut tart served with a tiny little pan of melted chocolate.

Bar and table service as efficient, cheerful and characterful as we have come to expect from all of the other hotels in this owners portfolio.

Also check out, the Secret Garden - a gem, and the (to my eye) original antique glazing (none of your Pilkington float process here).

All for very reasonable prices.

Apart from the super setting (the countryside is fab), Dunster Castle, there's also a plethora of nice, local shops, an incongruously large Rohan (lot's of walkers in the area) and parking (in the Steeps) was easy and not ridiculously expensive.

We'll be back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank KEGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The main area of the hotel looks great especially the dining room, the breakfast was tasty and the waitress was very polite and welcoming. We had a refurbished room with an area to dress in and the most wonderful bathroom that really had the wow factor. The room and hotel has free wifi that worked really well and even the tv had Internet built in(a quick game of cut the rope confirmed this was working) I cannot comment on the other rooms however I understand from the staff they are in the process of updating the hotel. I look forward to returning ome day

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pandoraslogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
202 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
339 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range: £93 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing