We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luttrell arms”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luttrell arms”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Second time at the luttrell arms and just as good as the last. Staff are brilliant, can't do enough for you. Going back in January for the special can't wait!! The new owners that have taken over the luttrell arms have done an amazing job updating the rooms.

Room Tip: Upgrade to four poster room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    156
    39
    27
    14
See reviews for
114
384
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

just spent a really nice weekend break in this atmospheric hotel in the historic town of Dunster. Would highly recommend as there are some good value offers pre Christmas into and New Year.Our room No.14 was excellent if a little over warm (very mild rainy weather for time of year) large four poster and very spacious with quality furniture and nice touches. Like a suite really at the front of the hotel with village views.The bar was superb, great drinks choice and roaring fires. Food choice good and all meals including breakfast tasty and plentiful.A word on the staff - all very friendly, helpful and courteous. I think this place will get even better under its newish owners.Well worth a visit, lovely interesting town too with castle open at some weekends in Winter.

Room Tip: Go for best you can afford. Four poster suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Wonderful olde worldy Hotel of obvious quality. Called in for lunch and sat in the busy bar area which was tastefully decorated for Christmas. Although very busy the bar staff were quick and efficient, lunch took no more that ten minutes to arrive and was very good value for money. It was a very good place to spend an hour over a lazy lunch.
Very good atmosphere, I would consider returning for a weekend break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robtoon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We only stayed one night at this lovely hotel in a lovely village. We went for the candlelight experience of the village of Dunster and we weren't disappointed. The staff are really friendly, lovely room, well run bar, all in all no faults which is quite something these days. Nice little touches in the room, assorted books to read, good toiletries and we had a pretty room too, not impersonal like some of the hotel chains. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 32, not far off reception so no stairs as such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cahillsHighworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed at The Luttrell for many years, through good times and bad, the new owners are carrying out much needed repairs and with a building of this age it must be an uphill battle. There have been many improvements made, most of them long over due but I hope that this wonderful old place retains it's unique charm. The staff were attentive and friendly, food has been much improved, the breakfast was very good, we ate in the bar every night, mainly to please our dog, who loves to visit The Lutterall and as always was made very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonmin_troll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here in early October. Our room was at the front and one of the larger rooms with a sofa and chairs. The bed was big, lovely and comfy though it was 2 singles zipped together and had a slight dip in the middle because of this! The room was lovely and warm because it was cold outside. Hot water plentiful in the spacious and clean bathroom. The only small improvements I'd suggest would be a glass shower screen - which can be cleaned - rather than the unhygienic plastic shower curtains which always look grubby in hotels, and a hook on the bathroom door for bath robes etc.

The bar had a roaring log fire and an old world charm so please don't change this by ditching the mis-matched furniture for something more sanitised! The bar food was fine but one of our party had a meal from the restaurant menu and it was disappointing. A little more variety on the bar menu would be great such as local fish. Breakfasts were good- plenty of choice and can be served in your room if you prefer. The only criticism of the building was there was some noise from either smokers or staff who congregated outside under our bathroom window- the noise of loud conversations travels upwards if no one else has noticed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A group of us stayed in October, were given a private dining room and were looked after wonderfully. The staff made us very welcome, the food first class. Rooms really comfortable and as you would expect spotlessly clean. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Property: The Luttrell Arms
Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing