We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Luttrell Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$197
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
US$121
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
520
184
49
35
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
184
49
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe secret gardenbar menudunster castlemain restaurantfeature roomsuper sundaylight lunchpublic roomsbar areafour poster bedsunday lunchsuperior roomnew ownerslovely hotelgreat atmospherepuddingnooks and crannies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 night mid June for my partners birthday. We attended the murder mystery dinner on the first night in their restaurant, which was fantastic. The food was wonderful, we could have eaten so much more of each dish as it was so scrummy! We had the salmon, lamb, I had the chocolate dessert and my partner had cheese.The second night we sat out in the courtyard and had a bar meal, again the food was great, we shared the medeteranian and seafood platters. The breakfast each morning was great. We had our dog with us and she was made so welcome, from a dog bed in the room and being looked after at reception whilst we were in the restaurant. All the staff there are great and are so personable. Dunster is a really sleepy place for us and isn't usually the kind of place we would go to, but the Luttrell Arms will definitely be seeing us again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank passionfruit129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights in June 2014. Dunster is a beautiful village and offers much to tourists.

Whilst we always book our accommodation online [after research from trip advisor contributors] it is always a concern, until actually entering the property, that you will you get what you had in mind!

I must admit that entering hotels of the age of The Luttrell Arms it always goes through my mind, for a possible, subsequent, trip advisor report, will it be 'faded grandeur' - 'tired' - 'in need of refurbishment'?

Absolutely no such worries here!

Under new ownership since January 2013 - much has been done to restore the hotel to its former grandeur. Indeed there were a number of places work was being done on the hotel during our stay. It's a delightful, quirky, listed building - the sort much loved by my dear wife - and we found it clean, well appointed and much to our liking. The Dining area is magnificent.

Staff were all helpful and cheery - especially the gentleman behind the bar and Mandy our breakfast waitress. Mandy has a delightful, natural, ability to communicate with guests [as well as being efficient] and we were quite sorry when she went away on holiday during our stay!

We had two meals in the hotel as well as using the bar. All food was excellent, well presented and enjoyable. We thought price wise it was competitive with other hotels of this standard and looked almost 'cut price' compared to some prices we experienced in the Cotswolds later in our holiday!

There is a massive 'hidden garden' behind the hotel with plenty of seating where you can enjoy the lovely views over the village whilst having a drink or a meal.

We had two 'problems' during our stay - neither of which where attributable to the hotel! One is the absolute lack of mobile signal in and around the hotel. Second is internet if that concerns you. The owner told us that Dunster is going to be one of the last places in the UK to get fibre broadband and hence they are still 'on copper'. The hotel owners done their best by putting WiFi boosters in each room but the availability is 'interesting'!!

So we had a great time - room 15 - as can be seen in the pictures attached - where we were the first to use a brand new mattress.

The famous Dunster Yarn Market building [picture attached] was literally just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireBearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have been visiting the Lutterall Arms for years as we have family in the area, but OMG the price of drinks are so expensive... £17.20 for 2 pints of lager, 1 white wine and a port and lemon. So as locals these prices mean the Lutterall is no longer a place for regular visits during the summer (or winter months) - real shame.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunster_Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you found the drinks to be expensive, it did strike us as a little expensive but when I explored the bill it seems that there was no mistake.
A pint of lager is between £3.60 or £4.50 depending on whether you are having a premium lager, we serve a large selection of wines by the glass and as you can imagine, they vary. A small glass of pinot grigio is £4.30 whilst a large glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc is considerably more. A glass of port is £2.20 or £3.70 depending on your personal preference; all this combined does soon adds up.
We realise that we are at the higher end of the market but we hope that our customers do find that we offer value for money, professional service and high quality products. We are not a pub after all, we pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver and in being a first class hotel. I hope that you will visit again and make yourself known to me, Becca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Superb hotel, excellent food and wonderful staff. Charlotte couldn't be more helpful. The most dog friendly hotel anyone could wish for. Our dog was bitten by another dog whilst we were in Minehead, Christine patched her up and Fran came back on her night off to bring her some treatment from home. I can't recommend this hotel enough and can't wait to return

Room Tip: If you have a dog the superior room was great as it had terrace
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you found the drinks to be expensive, it did strike us as a little expensive but when I explored the bill it seems that there was no mistake.
A pint of lager is between £3.60 or £4.50 depending on whether you are having a premium lager, we serve a large selection of wines by the glass and as you can imagine, they vary. A small glass of pinot grigio is £4.30 whilst a large glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc is considerably more. A glass of port is £2.20 or £3.70 depending on your personal preference; all this combined does soon adds up.
We realise that we are at the higher end of the market but we hope that our customers do find that we offer value for money, professional service and high quality products. We are not a pub after all, we pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver and in being a beautiful hotel. I hope that you will visit again, please make yourself known to a member of management and we will en devour to ensure you receive good value from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very interesting, old and atmospheric pub. Was busy but we were served quickly and found seats. Otter Amber was good and the fish and chips were excellent. Would definitely visit again if in the area. We used bar and ate bar food but there was a posh restaurant too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews