We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Sunday not such a good idea” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Sunday not such a good idea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We joined friends who have stayed at this hotel every year for the past 20 years so it came highly recommended. They had chosen a Super Sunday deal and invited us to join them. The hotel itself is lovely and we were very happy with our room. The reception staff were delightful. We had been e mailed the evening menu and asked to book a table so were looking forward to a delicious meal in the smart restaurant. However, when given the menus we discovered that the meal was to be a Sunday roast or salmon or a vegetarian option. The food was awful. My crab and mackerel pate had pieces of shell in it - I thought I had broken my tooth! The roast lamb was dry and tough. The roast potatoes were dreadful-quite obviously reheated left overs from lunchtime. The vegetables which arrived without serving spoons consisted of lots of rock hard broccoli and cauliflower and 2 tiny carrots per diner. We were unable to eat our main courses. When we asked our waitress to take the food away she was thrown into a quandry as our meals were part of our Sunday package. The desert I ordered, fig and frangipane tart, had one tiny piece of fig in it and my friend's white chocolate parfait was a brown chocolate mousse! Oh dear. Our waitress told us we would not be charged for the £17 bottle of wine we had ordered - frankly we would have preferred a decent meal. It was a surreal experience to be served the worst meal I've ever eaten in such luxurious surroundings. We won't be returning and have written it down to experience!

Room Tip: Front room noisy from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am sorry to read that you have had an unsatisfactory stay. We pride ourselves on our great service and food but evidently on this occasion we have let ourselves down. It is clear that service and food on that evening was not up to scratch and thanks to the feedback from everybody we have been able to act upon this. There has been a distinct reshuffle with the staff and we now have a new menu for Sundays as it is clear it did not previously meet the high standards we set ourselves.

Once again I apologise for the experience you have had and we endeavour to make sure this kind of calamity is not replicated.

Kind Regards,

Tim Waldron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    152
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
103
370
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just returned from a short break to celebrate our Silver Wedding. Overall the hotel is a lovely old country hotel, with beautiful gardens. We found the staff to be welcoming and friendly and overall a lovely ambience. We stayed in room 16 - a lovely room at the front of the hotel- on the bend of the road. It has been the warmest period of time this year so windows were wide open all of the time - we were however not prepared for the noise from the traffic (and the church bells through the night). As another person has suggested fans would be helpful.The bar food was excellent - good value and high quality ans all bar staff were lovely. Sadly we shared the sunday evening restaurant experience as told by another reviewer. We actually thought it was a 'Fawlty Towers' experience rehearsal - the arrival of food we had not ordered and an unopened bottle of red wine plonked (literally) on the table and the waiter promptly left for the kichen - in one way it was amusing - but we suspect there were new people working who were insufficiently perpared. The food that evening was very disappointing and did not represent good value. There was no choice apart from the sunday roast. Thereafter we ate in the bar. The breakfasts on two mornings were excellent - high quality fresh produce. The service on our second morning was exemplary. But the same cannot be said of that on our final morning with tables not cleared/ fully laid up and the breakfast not a patch on the previous day -one of us had ordered the same breakfast- but definite inconsistency in portion control and warmth of food. We had to ask for crockery on several two occasions - some was forthcoming, but the rest we had to find ourselves.

That said however we would return for it was a pleasant hotel in a beautiful location. It was a welcome break in our rather chaotic professional and family lives.

Room Tip: Rooms at front may be noisy in warm sunny weather when it is necessary to have windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I’m sorry to read that you have not had a wholly fantastic experience. It has been duly noted that the food and service on the Sunday was not to the standard we are so proud to uphold here. Since reading all the feedback from residents that evening it was clear we had to make significant changes and we have done so. There has been a serious reshuffle with the staff and we have now introduced a brand new Sunday menu which is far more appropriate for the restaurant.

We would love for you to return and to allow us to redeem ourselves.

Kind Regards,

Tim Waldron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Arrived as expected and as arranged a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates awaiting in room 12. Lovely old hotel, full of character. My husband has had 1 year of chemotherapy and has a break in treatment and as also his birthday and not able to travel far I booked from 20 - 22/06/14, I advised the hotel of the same when booking and that this was a much needed break! The room is lovely and looks out on to the main street, but not noisy. This room has a 4 poster bed which was very comfortable, however I would say if you are 6ft tall or more you will struggle as the bed is built for 'short people'.
We ordered lunch on arrival which was very good and ate out for dinner the first evening. Reception ask what time you wish to eat in the restaurant for evening meal, which you don't necessarily want to commit to on arrival. Breakfast very good, timely and nicely cooked. Next day again we were asked what time we wished to eat in the restaurant, and rather than commit to a time, advised that we would eat in the bar, however we later learned that you are not able to order the restaurant food, if sitting elsewhere, which was not made clear, however staff rang back and agreed to find a table in the restaurant for us. Lunch on the 2nd day was not so good, slow service, limp rocket accompaniment, no dressing or other salad with my husbands meal a bit 'thrown together' this time. Lovely garden, it would be a definite improvement for the hotel to provide sun loungers/steamer chairs to enable guests to stretch out and read their books, there is a very nice decked area, which has very comfortable chairs, however this is at the same level as the extractor fan exiting the roof, and you therefore are subject to cooking fumes/smells on occasions. It was also evident that cooking smells came into the bathroom through the extractor fan, not strong but evident. Evening meal in the restaurant was a bit chaotic, as we ordered prosecco as an aperitif and wine for later with the meal, however the wine arrived, then the starter and we had to ask twice for the prosecco, which arrived after the starter. I would recommend this hotel for it's character and charm, the staff are friendly and the manager professional and accommodating, assisting me with carrying, as I have recently had surgery on my hand. However the problem for us was that the room was stiflingly hot - (admittedly a particularly hot weekend) so much so that my husband was unable to sleep which was much needed. There was a fan provide, but this was not sufficient to cool the room. I asked 4 times throughout the day advising of my husbands ill health but was told on all occasions that there were no more fans available, which was very disappointing - buy more fans!!!

Room Tip: If you are menopausal or don't cope well with heat, check fan availability! If you are tall, che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarperDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I’m sorry to read that your stay has not been as perfect as we would have liked it to be. As I’m sure you understand with a building of this age, we aren’t able to install air conditioning so sometimes the rooms can get rather hot which we know is not ideal. However each room is individual so I should think we would be able to find you a more suitable room if you were to return – and we hope you do.

We are always striving to improve and I like to think that if you were to stay with us once again you would be more than impressed with the improvements we are constantly making.

Kind Regards,

Tim Waldron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Set in the lovely village of Dunster this very old hotel was a place we had not previously visited. Our room was on the second floor which was reached by 28 quite steep stairs. The room overlooked the main street with the bathroom window overlooking the castle. A quirky building with creaky floorboards and a floor on the slant. Food was reasonable, not huge portions but very nice. The staff that we spoke to were polite. The garden area is a gem, a lovely place to sit in the afternoon sunshine enjoying a refreshing drink in tranquil surroundings. A nice hotel.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a bathroom window very near to the kitchen extractor fans so a lot of cooking smells came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is always nice to hear how people (and their pets) have enjoyed their stay with us. Dunster is a lovely village and a great location for walkers, come back this winter to make the most of our winter sales and log fires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked our room on line, on arrival it did not match up to the photos. However, clean and tidy. Lovely dining room but the food was not as good as it might have been. Sunday evening meal was a total disaster. The menu was the same as the Bar Menu and the Lunch Menu which is not what you expect for an evening meal in the Restaurant! The food looked and tasted as if it had been hanging around since lunch time or had been warmed up. We sent ours back, including my soup, which is the first time we have ever done that. Diners we spoke to at three other tables were dissatisfied with their meals as well. The dining room was clearly under staffed and those that were there were not up to scratch. The service was poor. We were really disappointed because it is a really nice hotel and we went for our Wedding Anniversary, but if the menu choice and Sunday staffing is improved we are likely to return as Dunster is a beautiful Village and the Castle and grounds are delightful.

Room Tip: Avoid room 24. It is small (including the bed), backs onto garden level, so privacy is a problem, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am sorry to read that you had a less than enjoyable experience in the restaurant on the Sunday. We feel that the service and the food really fell short of all expectation and did not match the high standards we set ourselves. Since then we have reshuffled the staff and put in place a brand new Sunday menu in response to the feedback we have received from yourself and others. We pride ourselves on our excellent service and food so with these measures put in place we are sure that such a horrendous evening will not be replicated.

Once again I am sorry that you had a poor evening and I hope you will allow us to redeem ourselves.

Kind Regards,

Tim Waldron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 night mid June for my partners birthday. We attended the murder mystery dinner on the first night in their restaurant, which was fantastic. The food was wonderful, we could have eaten so much more of each dish as it was so scrummy! We had the salmon, lamb, I had the chocolate dessert and my partner had cheese.The second night we sat out in the courtyard and had a bar meal, again the food was great, we shared the medeteranian and seafood platters. The breakfast each morning was great. We had our dog with us and she was made so welcome, from a dog bed in the room and being looked after at reception whilst we were in the restaurant. All the staff there are great and are so personable. Dunster is a really sleepy place for us and isn't usually the kind of place we would go to, but the Luttrell Arms will definitely be seeing us again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank passionfruit129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights in June 2014. Dunster is a beautiful village and offers much to tourists.

Whilst we always book our accommodation online [after research from trip advisor contributors] it is always a concern, until actually entering the property, that you will you get what you had in mind!

I must admit that entering hotels of the age of The Luttrell Arms it always goes through my mind, for a possible, subsequent, trip advisor report, will it be 'faded grandeur' - 'tired' - 'in need of refurbishment'?

Absolutely no such worries here!

Under new ownership since January 2013 - much has been done to restore the hotel to its former grandeur. Indeed there were a number of places work was being done on the hotel during our stay. It's a delightful, quirky, listed building - the sort much loved by my dear wife - and we found it clean, well appointed and much to our liking. The Dining area is magnificent.

Staff were all helpful and cheery - especially the gentleman behind the bar and Mandy our breakfast waitress. Mandy has a delightful, natural, ability to communicate with guests [as well as being efficient] and we were quite sorry when she went away on holiday during our stay!

We had two meals in the hotel as well as using the bar. All food was excellent, well presented and enjoyable. We thought price wise it was competitive with other hotels of this standard and looked almost 'cut price' compared to some prices we experienced in the Cotswolds later in our holiday!

There is a massive 'hidden garden' behind the hotel with plenty of seating where you can enjoy the lovely views over the village whilst having a drink or a meal.

We had two 'problems' during our stay - neither of which where attributable to the hotel! One is the absolute lack of mobile signal in and around the hotel. Second is internet if that concerns you. The owner told us that Dunster is going to be one of the last places in the UK to get fibre broadband and hence they are still 'on copper'. The hotel owners done their best by putting WiFi boosters in each room but the availability is 'interesting'!!

So we had a great time - room 15 - as can be seen in the pictures attached - where we were the first to use a brand new mattress.

The famous Dunster Yarn Market building [picture attached] was literally just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireBearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Property: The Luttrell Arms
Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing