We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly historic Hotel”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly historic Hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We brought a group of twelve people for a 6 night stay in the hotel. Everybody praise the bedrooms, the food, the history of the building and the beautiful garden. The staff are very friendly and helpful. As the hotel have PUB, restaurant and garden, with different menus, you do not need to leave the hotel except to visit the castle and the little stores of Dunster. We faced unusual hot days there and the rooms whose windows are in the direction of the afternoon sun were hot at night.

Room Tip: If is hot and sunny, avoid the rooms towards the main street, choose those with the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstrugale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we do appreciate it.
I am glad to hear that you and your guests had an enjoyable stay with us here in Dunster, and that you did manage to get out of the hotel and enjoy the rest of the village!
I hope that we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    165
    43
    31
    14
See reviews for
128
409
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed here several times on route to the South West. We have stayed in a couple of different 4 poster rooms and de-luxe rooms which are all perfect. Dunster is perfect for a couple or three nights stay as there is quite a bit to see and do in the village including the Castle and some interesting local shops. Breakfast in the hotel is good but we prefer to use other local restaurants for dinner.

Room Tip: One of the 4 poster rooms is said to be haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are very fortunate to be located in this beautiful village. in case you aren't aware we are currently running a special offer, 3 nights for the price of 2 which will also run throughout January - could this tempt you to come back soon!
Last month we re launched our restaurant as Psalter's, we have a new team of chefs, a great new menu, hopefully you will feel inspired to dine with us on your next visit.
we look forward to welcoming you again at The Luttrell Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent most enjoyable weekend at Luttrell Arms.
Very atmospheric public rooms. Bedroom( room2) was excellent with huge comfortable bed.
Secret gardens were a splendid place to enjoy a quiet al fresco refreshment.

Above all this, the staff were exceptionally pleasant and above all helpful.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoolioSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review!
I'm glad you liked your room, I also love room 2 - it is quite different from some of our other bedrooms and is the only room with a 6'' memory foam bed which i understand it exceptionally comfortable. The weather has been great and lots of people have been enjoying the garden but I have to say that the hotel comes into its own in the winter when we have the fires lit and you can sit and enjoy a quiet drink, have i tempted you?! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is definitely historical, as is the main village street with its' quaint & friendly shops. We have stayed here several times and always find the standard to be very good. The restaurant has been extended by the latest owners, and is a real pleasure to sit and dine. We always find the food to be of a high standard and consistently so, both in the restaurant and also the bar meals in the lounge and bar areas. Lovely log fires in the winter months, and most enjoyable gardens to the rear in the summertime. Our pet dog is most welcome there, as our all the other doggy guests. Everyone is most courteous and helpfull, especially the reception staff. Rooms are large, well services, bathrooms also large with plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and plenty of bathroom essentials to hand. This is a little gem, and so handy for strolling towards Dunster Castle and the surrounding gardens. Dunster Station and the steamtrains to Minehead are only a few minutes away.

Room Tip: 4 posters are available, if celebrating treat yourself to an upgrade. Then you really will have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you! It is lovely to read your kind comments. We love Dunster and are very proud to be part of this beautiful and unique village. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We returned to this hotel at the end of June, have praised it highly last year. We asked for room 10, as this had a French door leading onto a small private garden. The weather was hot. I took the bags up to the room, which was stuffy, as the only ventilation is the French door, and a window above, ie no through draft. What I also failed to realise, as there had been some pruning, was that there was now a view through the French door, and the small private garden, into the main garden, where people having tea could see both into 'our' garden, and our room. More of a problem, however, was to be found in the bathroom, when I went to open the windows to create a draft, There had been renovations, and the builders had left the window sills outside covered in a layer of brick dust! With the draft, this was being transferred into the bathroom, and sink! There was also a view of the kitchen roof, and extractor fans!

We went downstairs where the manager and staff were most apologetic, and eventually suggested, I think room 34 (?). This was a voyage of discovery up and down stairs but was a delightful room. Small eaves bedroom area, with good size bed, leading into a small sitting room, with a door to a sunny private patio, From the patio you could access the main gardens. There was then a large bathroom, looking out onto the garden. Nice bathroom, well appointed, decent towels, only problem weak shower. Softer pillows were provided promptly.

Breakfast was good, as before, except that there were different staff every day, and some shortages of cereal and fruit. However on pointing this out matters were rectified. All the staff were pleasant and helpful.There is an issue with parking, especially in summer, so the free permit for the car park, 250 yards away is very helpful. Free Wi Fi! The hotel is also very good value, I think.

Room Tip: See above, I would now avoid room 10. All the rooms vary due to the nature and age of the hotel. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
I am glad that we managed to sort out your problems with your bedroom; it has been a hot and dusty summer which has left some of the bedrooms feeling a little warm. Another knock on effect of the great weather as been that the garden has been rather busier than last summer which meant that the terrace for room 10 has been a little less private, we are considering introducing a little more trellising but we don't want to spoil the view. We do appreciate your feedback and hope that we can make the necessary changes to ensure you are fully satisfied when you return.
I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Recently stayed here with our 2 spaniels, had an amazing time and were made so welcome by everyone. Food and rooms were perfect! The setting is gorgeous with the most wonderful views and plenty of places to explore. Parked our car up and didn't use it during the entire stay.

Room Tip: If you have dogs request a room with a patio with easy access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. We could NOT fault anything whatsoever. The staff were lovely and welcoming, the rooms were spotlessly clean. Lovely period property. The place to stay if you are going to visit Dunster. We won't forget this for a long time, a real treat it was.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go all out and book the four poster bed suite! That is what we shall do next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
196 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
236 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Property: The Luttrell Arms
Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing