We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
566
210
62
39
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
210
62
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the secret garden bar menu main restaurant royal castle feature room light lunch public rooms roast beef bar area superior room four poster bed super sunday nooks and crannies lovely old hotel new owners sunday lunch ham
Filter
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I can't stand Minehead. I only ever come to North Somerest because my family have inexplicably chosen to make it their home. It should be so enchanting - beautiful rolling scenery, beaches, country pubs serving excellent cider etc. but sadly it is blighted by the invading caravan culture, Butlins, and an influx of people who seem to think that wearing jogging bottoms and ill-fitting T-shirts anytime anywhere is perfectly acceptable. I dread coming. Lord knows how the locals put up with it.

However there is a little oasis called the Luttrell Arms. It is situated in the chocolate box village of Dunster, just outside Minehead. Dunster would be utterly delightful if it was frequented by Swedish or French people or just people that possessed a full length mirror and the ability to buy clothes that fit them or at least covered some of their omnipresent flesh. But even though it is overrun by noisy, thick-necked Minehead tourist over-spill, it still has the most wonderful back drop of the castle. Nowhere is this view more beautiful than in the 'secret garden' behind the Luttrell Arms.

The Luttrell Arms has beautiful rooms, utterly charming and helpful people working there, and really very good food and drink. Once inside their big stone walls, it's as though you have been saved from the invading hoards. It reminds me of that feeling you get when you're in Marrakech and one minute you're in a dirty alley and the next you're entering through an unpromising little door into an enchanting old palace. The decor is old English chintz and starched white table cloths. The bars are big beams, tankards and nooks. Once in, I find it very difficult to find any good reason to leave - unless I am making a break for the county border.

I am convinced that the hotel is actually a charity set up to offer respite to those who have lost the will to live on the A358. I literally couldn't entertain coming here if the Luttrell Arms didn't exist.

Thank you. Thank you.

Room tip: All charming, decent in size and well appointed. However, despite the beautiful views of the Yarn Market from the front of the hotel, beware that the noise from the moronic people on the street, particularly at night, can break the spell...
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your excellent and entertaining review! I am glad that you enjoy coming to the Luttrell Arms and that our neighbouring town hasn't completely put you off the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A little bit of heaven! We stayed here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and The lovely Luttrell did us proud. We returned after a few years and knew from the moment we heard the latch of the door and felt the atmosphere that things at this hotel had been brought back up to scratch. We enjoyed a coffee in the wonderful bar and our room was ready well before check in. Sue kindly showed me to our room, which brought a tear to my eye, it was one of the 4 poster rooms this kind gesture absolutely made our celebrations, we felt like royalty for a few days. Nothing was ever true much trouble, even down to the kind chamber person who cleaned out our dog bowl over and above room service. We ate in the bar and the restaurant, both superb. The restaurant is delightful and relaxed but not over powering. A wonderful choice is provided at breakfast with fruit etc., being topped up regularly. All of the staff are very friendly a helpful and a very special thank you to Jake. Even Nigel,the owner, although busy found time for a chat. Cannot wait to return to this very special place.

Room tip: All rooms very different feature rooms special also some with gardens
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cornishdreamer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I am glad that we made your special occasion even more memorable, for all the right reasons!

We hope that we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a lovely old hotel in a fantastic situation. Parking outside is difficult, but the large public car park is 100 metres away, and you get a free parking ticket. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the Yarn Market, and was very quiet. Room and bathroom were excellent. The staff were pleasant and friendly - informal, yet efficient. There is a lovely garden at the back, with views up to the castle, and food is served in the garden.
We had a bar meal in the evening, good value for a hotel of this class, and good quality. Breakfast was freshly cooked and well-presented.

Room tip: Boards in the hotel are very creaky. If this bothers you, go for room on top floor, but no lift!
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stephogrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always nice to hear when people have enjoyed the hotel and the service.
We are slowly working our way through the hotel and trying to fix the squeaks! It might take us a little while but we will get there!
I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We brought a group of twelve people for a 6 night stay in the hotel. Everybody praise the bedrooms, the food, the history of the building and the beautiful garden. The staff are very friendly and helpful. As the hotel have PUB, restaurant and garden, with different menus, you do not need to leave the hotel except to visit the castle and the little stores of Dunster. We faced unusual hot days there and the rooms whose windows are in the direction of the afternoon sun were hot at night.

Room tip: If is hot and sunny, avoid the rooms towards the main street, choose those with the garden view.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mstrugale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we do appreciate it.
I am glad to hear that you and your guests had an enjoyable stay with us here in Dunster, and that you did manage to get out of the hotel and enjoy the rest of the village!
I hope that we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed here several times on route to the South West. We have stayed in a couple of different 4 poster rooms and de-luxe rooms which are all perfect. Dunster is perfect for a couple or three nights stay as there is quite a bit to see and do in the village including the Castle and some interesting local shops. Breakfast in the hotel is good but we prefer to use other local restaurants for dinner.

Room tip: One of the 4 poster rooms is said to be haunted!
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are very fortunate to be located in this beautiful village. in case you aren't aware we are currently running a special offer, 3 nights for the price of 2 which will also run throughout January - could this tempt you to come back soon!
Last month we re launched our restaurant as Psalter's, we have a new team of chefs, a great new menu, hopefully you will feel inspired to dine with us on your next visit.
we look forward to welcoming you again at The Luttrell Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews