We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of The Luttrell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Luttrell Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our family has been visiting the area, which is incidentally West Somerset, not North Somerset as previous reviewer states. North Somerset is from Weston super Mare up to Bristol, We should know we live there! We love Dunster and the surrounding area although the A road can be busy. The more commercialised areas, including Minehead, do have the large caravan parks, but once you leave these places there are some lovely, tranquil, unspoilt villages and hamlets with tea gardens etc and some are just working farming villages. Walk up North Hill in Minehead onto Exmoor and you will barely see another soul for miles. We haven`t experienced the "overflow" in Dunster for a long time, in fact the last few times we have visited it has been surprisingly quiet and lacking in tourists, especially the type he describes and we have never heard "moronic" people outside at night the times we have stayed, although there is a locals bar and early weekday mornings can be busy with locals driving to work through the village. The Luttrell Arms has been improved over the last few years by the new owners and is a delighful place to stay or stop for a coffee, lunch, cream tea or just a drink.

Room Tip: Overlooking main street can be noisy with cars early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We love this part of the world and the gorgeous countryside that surrounds us, there is always something to see and lovely walks all year round.
I am glad that you can see the improvements that have been made at The Luttrell Arms in the past few years; we are constantly striving to improve on every aspect of the hotel, the facilities and the service - so much so that we are dying to know what we can do to make your next stay perfect and worthy of the all important 5* rating!? Let us know on your return!
kind regards
Becca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I can't stand Minehead. I only ever come to North Somerest because my family have inexplicably chosen to make it their home. It should be so enchanting - beautiful rolling scenery, beaches, country pubs serving excellent cider etc. but sadly it is blighted by the invading caravan culture, Butlins, and an influx of people who seem to think that wearing jogging bottoms and ill-fitting T-shirts anytime anywhere is perfectly acceptable. I dread coming. Lord knows how the locals put up with it.

However there is a little oasis called the Luttrell Arms. It is situated in the chocolate box village of Dunster, just outside Minehead. Dunster would be utterly delightful if it was frequented by Swedish or French people or just people that possessed a full length mirror and the ability to buy clothes that fit them or at least covered some of their omnipresent flesh. But even though it is overrun by noisy, thick-necked Minehead tourist over-spill, it still has the most wonderful back drop of the castle. Nowhere is this view more beautiful than in the 'secret garden' behind the Luttrell Arms.

The Luttrell Arms has beautiful rooms, utterly charming and helpful people working there, and really very good food and drink. Once inside their big stone walls, it's as though you have been saved from the invading hoards. It reminds me of that feeling you get when you're in Marrakech and one minute you're in a dirty alley and the next you're entering through an unpromising little door into an enchanting old palace. The decor is old English chintz and starched white table cloths. The bars are big beams, tankards and nooks. Once in, I find it very difficult to find any good reason to leave - unless I am making a break for the county border.

I am convinced that the hotel is actually a charity set up to offer respite to those who have lost the will to live on the A358. I literally couldn't entertain coming here if the Luttrell Arms didn't exist.

Thank you. Thank you.

Room Tip: All charming, decent in size and well appointed. However, despite the beautiful views of the Yarn Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your excellent and entertaining review! I am glad that you enjoy coming to the Luttrell Arms and that our neighbouring town hasn't completely put you off the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A little bit of heaven! We stayed here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and The lovely Luttrell did us proud. We returned after a few years and knew from the moment we heard the latch of the door and felt the atmosphere that things at this hotel had been brought back up to scratch. We enjoyed a coffee in the wonderful bar and our room was ready well before check in. Sue kindly showed me to our room, which brought a tear to my eye, it was one of the 4 poster rooms this kind gesture absolutely made our celebrations, we felt like royalty for a few days. Nothing was ever true much trouble, even down to the kind chamber person who cleaned out our dog bowl over and above room service. We ate in the bar and the restaurant, both superb. The restaurant is delightful and relaxed but not over powering. A wonderful choice is provided at breakfast with fruit etc., being topped up regularly. All of the staff are very friendly a helpful and a very special thank you to Jake. Even Nigel,the owner, although busy found time for a chat. Cannot wait to return to this very special place.

Room Tip: All rooms very different feature rooms special also some with gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cornishdreamer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I am glad that we made your special occasion even more memorable, for all the right reasons!

We hope that we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a lovely old hotel in a fantastic situation. Parking outside is difficult, but the large public car park is 100 metres away, and you get a free parking ticket. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the Yarn Market, and was very quiet. Room and bathroom were excellent. The staff were pleasant and friendly - informal, yet efficient. There is a lovely garden at the back, with views up to the castle, and food is served in the garden.
We had a bar meal in the evening, good value for a hotel of this class, and good quality. Breakfast was freshly cooked and well-presented.

Room Tip: Boards in the hotel are very creaky. If this bothers you, go for room on top floor, but no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stephogrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always nice to hear when people have enjoyed the hotel and the service.
We are slowly working our way through the hotel and trying to fix the squeaks! It might take us a little while but we will get there!
I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We brought a group of twelve people for a 6 night stay in the hotel. Everybody praise the bedrooms, the food, the history of the building and the beautiful garden. The staff are very friendly and helpful. As the hotel have PUB, restaurant and garden, with different menus, you do not need to leave the hotel except to visit the castle and the little stores of Dunster. We faced unusual hot days there and the rooms whose windows are in the direction of the afternoon sun were hot at night.

Room Tip: If is hot and sunny, avoid the rooms towards the main street, choose those with the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mstrugale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we do appreciate it.
I am glad to hear that you and your guests had an enjoyable stay with us here in Dunster, and that you did manage to get out of the hotel and enjoy the rest of the village!
I hope that we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed here several times on route to the South West. We have stayed in a couple of different 4 poster rooms and de-luxe rooms which are all perfect. Dunster is perfect for a couple or three nights stay as there is quite a bit to see and do in the village including the Castle and some interesting local shops. Breakfast in the hotel is good but we prefer to use other local restaurants for dinner.

Room Tip: One of the 4 poster rooms is said to be haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are very fortunate to be located in this beautiful village. in case you aren't aware we are currently running a special offer, 3 nights for the price of 2 which will also run throughout January - could this tempt you to come back soon!
Last month we re launched our restaurant as Psalter's, we have a new team of chefs, a great new menu, hopefully you will feel inspired to dine with us on your next visit.
we look forward to welcoming you again at The Luttrell Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent most enjoyable weekend at Luttrell Arms.
Very atmospheric public rooms. Bedroom( room2) was excellent with huge comfortable bed.
Secret gardens were a splendid place to enjoy a quiet al fresco refreshment.

Above all this, the staff were exceptionally pleasant and above all helpful.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HoolioSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review!
I'm glad you liked your room, I also love room 2 - it is quite different from some of our other bedrooms and is the only room with a 6'' memory foam bed which i understand it exceptionally comfortable. The weather has been great and lots of people have been enjoying the garden but I have to say that the hotel comes into its own in the winter when we have the fires lit and you can sit and enjoy a quiet drink, have i tempted you?! Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
204 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
339 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
252 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luttrell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range: £95 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
The Luttrell Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing