We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle Tapestries”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunster Castle

Dunster Castle
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Castle Tapestries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dunster Castle is worth a visit though if you aren't reasonably fit you may need a lift from the car park as being a castle it's quite a climb to reach. Once there though it's very well preserved and interesting. Make a point of seeing the room with the leather tapestries there's only one more set like it and I believe those are in Denmark. The colours are amazing and only recently have they been easy to see as new lighting has been installed which doesn't damage them.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rossi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    436
    62
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Simply not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staying quite locally in Taunton, family of four adults and 2 children decided to chance it not being too crowded on the Whitsun bank holiday Monday. Despite both the castle and village being very busy, as expected, there is just so much to see that it really doesn't matter just how busy it is. The village is quite sweet- lots of lovely small shops, particularly 'The Chocolate House' which is a must on a visit. Many very pretty cottages with truly lovely gardens.We were all so impressed by the beautiful grounds and gardens of the Castle and several hours here was insufficient to get round to seeing it all, but this is the beauty of being National Trust members...........we shall return! Top class attraction, a stone's -throw from Minehead.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fab way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a fantastic place for a family day out. We took our two kids and two dogs and, the castle aside, everywhere was accessible. The Castle is set in the most beautiful grounds and although we spent several hours walking round, we didn't go everywhere. The Castle Grounds border the old Village of Dunster which is also worth a look around. Have visited lots of National Trust properties but this is one of the best.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darren1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A taste of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stopped off at Dunster castle on our way to Minehead and spent a couple of hours walking through the building and grounds. The National trust have done an excellent job of telling the story and showing how people lived through the years. You can have a go at napkin folding, cutlery placements and even pot a few balls on the snooker table. A truly interactive tour.The grounds are well kept and although it was raining we still wandered around and enjoyed the fauna and stream

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to Dunster castle using our free passes from our Natwest bank account while we were holidaying nearby.

Luckily we had beautiful weather which meant we were able to fully enjoy the gorgeous gardens and riverside walks.

Inside the castle was very interesting and great to walk around but for me the gardens were the best bit. Stunning views, beautiful flowers, quaint little bridges and points of interest.

Dunster village was lovely too.

Will be back next year!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Salopiangirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunster Castle also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Exmoor National Park, England
 

Been to Dunster Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing