We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a hot chocolate, you WON'T regret it!”

The Chocolate House
Ranked #12 of 15 things to do in Dunster
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chocolate House in Dunster is the home of Nutcombe Chocolates of Minehead. Come and visit us to buy handmade chocolates and a range of interesting gifts. Our cosy cafe is the idea place to indulge yourself with hot chocolates, teas, coffees and cold drinks and ice creams, not to mention home made cakes!
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have a hot chocolate, you WON'T regret it!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

After walking around Dunster on a cold day we popped in to The Chocolate House for a browse. We had a lovely hot chocolate each to drink, probably the best you will ever find, which is made with REAL chocolate (sorry Mr Cadbury but you can't ever hope to compete) which was rich and warming. There was a wide selection of chocolates available to buy at very reasonable prices given the quality of the ingredients used and the standard of the chocs! I would heartily recommend some of the hand-made choc's as a gift, or you could just treat yourself of course! Kids would love the chocolate fountain, which had marshmallow kebabs ready for dipping...messy but fun for the youngsters.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, delicious chocolate”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spotted the chocolate fountain,the rest is history. Marshmallows and strawberries dipped in chocolate made the day. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. A must when you visit Dunster.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We travelled up to Dunster on Saturday to collect 200 Easter Eggs that had been made for us by Richard and Lorna. These are prizes for a local Easter Egg Hunt. While we were there we had two lovely mugs of hot chocolate, this was absolutely delicious and just what we needed after the drive and freezing cold weather outside! We also had some very tasty home made Ginger cake, and some Whortleberry and Coconut cake. It was refreshing to have something different from the usual cafe offerings, and being cafe owners ourselves, we had a lovely chat putting the world to rights. Really lovely, thank you! I am hoping we run out of Easter Eggs so that we need to come up again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy and homely”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just bought some honey and orange chocolate. O.M.G. absolutely amazing. A lovely little shop with a café at the back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“More than a treat!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

There is always a friendly welcome here at any time of year. Wonderfully warm in winter and cool in summer but this is no place to calorie count. You are surrounded by chocolate produce & more.
The Chocolate House is more than a cafe, here you can indulge in a large mug of hot chocolate with real chocolate, huge slices of delicious cakes, one is made with Whortleberry jam, this fruit grows on Exmoor and is a feature of the area. There is also a chocolate fountain where you can dip kebabs of fresh fruit or marshmallows.
If you prefer there is top quality Miles local coffee & tea both to have made for you straight away or to buy in a packet to take home.
The chocolate & chocolates are made locally by the owners in all sorts of flavours and designs, often seasonal shapes & displayed on the shelves to tempt you. Wonderful gifts. The quality is excellent, very moorish. Also found that special chocolate from Willies Chocolate Factory, 100% single bean cacao for the dedicated, as well as delicious locally made jams & quality crafts. Real ice cream too with a variety of flavours and all reasonably priced too.
It is in the village, you may be lucky enough to park here but more likely it would be the main car park on the way in from the main road. There are 2 disabled parking spaces in the centre of the village not far from this shop.
I love coming here but I have to ration myself. Forget being like a kiddie in a sweet shop - this is a big treat for adults too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chocolate House also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing