We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of Higher Orchard

Higher Orchard
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Orchard
Ranked #8 of 10 Dunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Recently spent 4 nights at Higher Orchard, Dunster and cannot rate it highly enough. Janet and Graham were so friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were spotlessly clean, welcoming, the beds were very comfortable and the shower was good and powerful. The breakfast - especially the home-grown fruit and home-made jams and marmalade - was delicious. If you are in the area - you should definitely stay here! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postiestory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Higher Orchard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

We very much enjoyed our weekend with Janet and Graham at Higher Orchard - the beds were very comfortable, the rooms were clean, and the garden was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious - country eggs, homemade porridge, delicious muesli and yoghurt (and exceptional homemade marmalade and blackberry jam). We were fortunate to be able to borrow a guidebook from Graham who was able to suggest some good walks in the area. Would certainly recommend to others (except those who are pet-phobic - Janet and Graham are the proud owners of two downstairs dogs and two very friendly cats).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_H_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I returned yesterday from a short break at Higher Orchard, Dunster owned and run by two very welcoming, caring and lovely people-Janet & Graham Lamacraft. Higher Orchard is as it suggests, high up! There are some steps to negotiate on one gated entrance or a slope on another gated entrance and parking outside for guests. It is like stepping back in time to a home of great design out of a Dickens book with wonderfully old and beautiful features, nooks and crannies both in the house and outside in their super garden. Its old world charm is just what I like with amazing woodwork, doors, fireplaces, pictures, furniture, tapestries and lovely needle point cushion covers in bright colours and patterns. The house boasts beautiful stain glass windows and outside round every corner there are delights of summer houses and archways with climbing plants which must look stunning in full bloom later in the year. At this time of year there were lovely spring plants, trees and lots of wild woodland flowers and bluebells which Jan picks and dots around their home and in the rooms. Guests are invited to use a spare fridge/freezer if they wish to, something useful if buying and eating your own food, as I preferred to on this occasion, although there are many eating places to visit. They set a simple breakfast which suited me perfectly. Plain yogurt and compotes of home grown rhubard and blackberry and apple with local mueseli from the Flour Mill at the back end of Dunster Castle by the stream.

From my room I could see the sea, the Church and part of the Castle not to mention surrounding fields and some areas of Jan & Graham's garden. For company you can "chat" to Mr Minkles and Pearl their cats or Maisy and Ruby their lovely docile dogs. Pearl loves a fuss made of her and purrs with delight as she follows you upstairs. There is a choice of English breakfast after your yogurt or cereals or any part of the breakfast menu you like if a smaller one is desired. They have their own chickens which provide very fresh eggs. Jan also makes her own jams and gorgeous marmalade (my favourite!) and they offer a choice of brown or white bread and copious amounts of lovely coffee if you don't want tea. Graham is a great help if you need assistance with luggage carrying and is a very pleasant and chatty "gentleman waiter" for his wife who freshly cooks what you order and at the time you wish to eat; which you write on a lilttle book on a table in the hall the night before; a great idea. There is copious amounts of hot water in the rooms and nice white towels. I had a small television in my room with a good picture and a hairdryer is also provided, so I needn't had taken mine had I asked before I visited. Can you believe they also had a hot water bottle in the bathroom if needed!!! Definitely home from home!

The house has an interesting history, I'm told originally built by a Miss Martin (a Banker's daughter) to her own specifications. Graham has researched into their home and will tell you should you wish to know. I 'm sure he said it was built in 1864. There was a lovely lilac coloured wisteria out when I visited which was all up one side wall of the house.

For me, the place was perfect for a complete "turn off" break which I needed and I will most certainly recommend it to family and friends and will definitely be returning one day. Book it and enjoy a very peaceful and restful break in the most delightful village of Dunster where time has stood still for years, and I should know I've been visiting Dunster since a very small child and have taken my own children when young too. I NEVER tire of it how ever many times I visit. The tiny villages and surrounding countryside is simply beautiful, even in rain. I can't think why I've not come across Higher Orchard before, but go and see for yourselves, you will be made most welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chaletBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmar und Vanes... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 10 in Dunster
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#3 of 10 in Dunster
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#5 of 10 in Dunster
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Orchard

Address: 30 St. Georges Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes walk down a winding lane takes you to the centre of medieval Dunster, and its shops pubs and restaurants. The Victorian house (1864) is quietly situated with open views over the village and surrounding countryside. As we as the best of local produce, breakfast offers eggs from our hens, fruit and jams from our orchard and home-made marmalade. Exmoor National Park footpaths start from here, and the West Somerset Railway and coast are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Orchard Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing