We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a beautiful region”
Review of Higher Orchard

Higher Orchard
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Orchard
Ranked #6 of 9 Dunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Higher Orchard. Very relaxing, quiet. The hosts were lovely people who were always very helpful and personable. The B&B is absolutely beautiful, as are the surrounding gardens. I'll keep this short, but I could go on and on. VERY highly recommended. Dunster village is very nice; this makes an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding area. If we ever go back, this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: We had the room with the toilet across the hall (shower and sink were in the room), but we soon got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pljmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in this B&B for two nights as were attending a wedding in Dunster. It has easy parking access and is just a couple of minutes walk into the lovely village of Dunster where there are some quaint shops, tea rooms and pubs. Graham and Janet were really great hosts and the house and garden is gorgeous and full of character. The room was perfectly clean with everything you need. Breakfast was the best bit - with fruit from their garden and a variety of hot breakfast options. We would definitely book here again if we were visiting the area and really recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrsJ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Built in 1860 this Victorian house oozes character, elevated from the road to give far reaching views all round the property, Graham and Janet are the hosts, they are warm and friendly and oracle of information on the whole area.The rooms are clean, tidy and warm, breakfast is an absolute treat
An odd feature to room 2 is that the en-suite has a shower and sink but the toilet is out onto the landing up 4 stairs and the 'private' toilet is on the left , odd but workable.

Room Tip: 3 B&B rooms available, our room 2 had the slight oddity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a truly memorable stay in this beautiful historic house set in magical gardens crammed with climbing roses, lavender pathways and fruit trees. Janet and graham were such wonderful hosts and loved sharing their Somerset stories with us. The rooms were warm and cosy and waking up to misty views of the castle and sea was a true delight. A breakfast of organic fruit compote from the garden and fresh trout really set us up for our day exploring the hills and villages of exmoor. We have already booked to come back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed just two nights at this lovely place and really enjoyed it! The breakfast was delicious, our hosts very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean, cosy and well heated. Unfortunately it was very cold for late April but we had a great weekend in Dunster!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

What a find........a lovely Edwardian style building rising over the town of Dunster. Stayed two nights and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location. The welcome from the owner was friendly and accompanied by tea and biscuits which was an unexpected gesture. The room was clean, spacious and reflected the character of the building. The breakfast was enticing from fruit compots that where home grown through to the full english breakfast most of which the produce was locally sourced. So peaceful and even the local church with its carrilion of bells did not disturbe the tranquility.

Room Tip: Sadly not wheelchair accessible due to the age and design of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annjam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for just a night in this lovely B&B in the beautiful village of Dunster. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming; our room was very clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable, with a pretty view over the gardens. The breakfast was delicious - bacon, eggs, locally produced honey and jams, and the owner of this B&B made the best scrambled eggs I have ever tasted (no exaggeration!). I would highly recommend staying here - it has everything you need/want in a B&B and is an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 9 in Dunster
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
0.2 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#4 of 9 in Dunster
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Orchard

Address: 30 St. Georges Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes walk down a winding lane takes you to the centre of medieval Dunster, and its shops pubs and restaurants. The Victorian house (1864) is quietly situated with open views over the village and surrounding countryside. As we as the best of local produce, breakfast offers eggs from our hens, fruit and jams from our orchard and home-made marmalade. Exmoor National Park footpaths start from here, and the West Somerset Railway and coast are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Orchard Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing