We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Shabby”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Overpriced and Shabby”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This hotel needs a good spring clean. It has clear potential but the cumulative effect of dirty carpets, dated decor and cosmetic blemishes creates an overall shabby impression. The buffet breakfast was an uninspiring experience both in terms of food quality and ambience. The place may be resting on the laurels of its superb location in historic Dunster, but £100 a night for a rather stuffy and small double room was too much. We felt like we were in an episode of the hotel inspector, before Ruth Watson has worked her magic.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sondheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    78
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
78
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We have just enjoyed a 3 night break on a half board basis. The room was very well presented with ample space for us and our 2 Lurchers. We had previousl;y enjoyed a very good Christmas break in 2009, and were keen to see if it was still as good. If anything it was better. The staff were friendly and helpful without exception, and the menu was varied, with generous portions, and delicious.
We will happily recommend it to all our friends.
The management do their best to help with parking in such a popular destination, and have worked wonders in transforming the rooms within the restrictions of a listed property.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kemolw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I had the fortunate pleasure of staying at the Yarn Market Hotel this past weekend. After a long journey, I was immensely grateful when they offered to pick me up from the bus in Dunster. I was given a large room that was extremely clean and offered nice views of the town centre. I ate in the restaurant 3 times and each time the waitresses were extremely quick to take our orders and despite the large group attending the hotel they managed to get everything out on time and to a high standard. The chef even specially made food (outside the menu) for me to accomodate my food allergies.

The best part of my stay had to be the warm, friendly hospitality that was extended to me by the staff at the Yarn. Dunster itself is beautifully situated with the castle looking down upon the town and nearby Exmoor. There were lots of lovely little shops to browse and things to do. I can imagine parking can be a little difficult but the hotel offered free vouchers for the closest car park. I had a lovely and relaxing weekend and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Stayed overnight for a birthday treat - a small party - was supposed to have been bigger but weather prevailed - nearly stopped us but glad we didn't let it. The surroundings are really pretty - the staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were comfortable, food delicious - and service with a smile. Couldn't do enough to help, really enjoyed our stay - there were 13 instead of 30 and not problems with the management. Would recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We have just had the most enjoyable of Christmas and New Year breaks in Somerset staying in Dunster at the Yarn Market Hotel . In fact this is our second Christmas visit to this hotel and we will certainly be visiting again in the future.
The food was plentiful, delicious and a very good varied selection.
The staff are first class they were polite, professional and helpful and the management spared no effort in making sure that our holiday was an absolute pleasure.
Our rooms whilst staying there were clean, comfortable and well decorated with good room services every day.
It’s true to say that hotels in Dunster have a few issues with vehicle parking as you might expect when staying in this delightful medieval village, but these are trivial and well compensated for by the enchanting surroundings. The yarn market hotel even provided us with a parking permit for Dunster’s main car park a short a distance away so for us this was no problem.

M and C Wales.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcol42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We were walk in guests.
No parking so we spent 20 mins looking for a space which we found about 15 mins away not a great start.
The room was so outdated and small it was funny, the bathroom was so small you couldn't turn around in it.
The paint was peeling off the walls and we didn't get much sleep as the curtains didn't fit and let all the light in and someone was standing under our window drinking and shouting most of the night.
The breakfast was a disaster we arrived at 0915hrs to find most of the food and juices not available and when I asked for a tea and a coffee the waitress gave me dagger looks and huffed off to get it. Don't ask for more sausages!
Don't stay here you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicbobandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We expected parking to be an issue so there was no suprise that we had to park away from the hotel. We were in the annexe and 2 of us had double rooms. The rooms are small. If there were 2 of you in one of these rooms, you would be very cramped, but it was clean and there was plenty of tea and coffee making supplies. First impressions were that the bathroom was in a cupboard - it was really but it was actually OK as we were staying as singles in each room. Again 2 of you would be very cramped. TV was on the windowsill so you couldn't pull the curtains if you wanted to watch it. 2 of us were happy with our rooms but again as singles. One of us had a family room and felt it was very shabby and dated and wouldn't want to stay there again. We only ate breakfast in the hotel mainly because when we arrived early evening, the way to the rooms in the annexe is through the dining room and the 3 of us had to walk past a couple trying to eat. There was no atmosphere in there and it all looked a bit austere. (Had a lovely meal in Cobblestones restaurant across the road). However, we did enjoy our breakfast in the hotel. There was plenty of it and it was cooked really well with pleasant service. The 3 stars is a bit misleading because I don't think that applies to the annexe only to the main hotel allthough I think this was pointed out to us when I booked it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
715 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
236 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Property: Yarn Market Hotel
Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing