We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served Purpose”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Have to agree with 'Overpriced' review on this one. We too were desperate - both had stressful week at work, glorious sunshine was predicted for weekend and everywhere was booked. But we got a room at the Yarn Market in their annexe 'which isn't covered by the Tourist Board stars". We arrived late on the Friday night at approx 9.00 pm. No chance of eating anywhere we were told, so the pleasant gentleman showed us to our room in the annexe, vaguely pointing at the Yarn Market 'restaurant' as we trundled past to show us where we should eat breakfast. The annexe is a lovely building, double fronted with a garden at the front. We walked in and it smelled very damp, but we do love old buildings and creaky staircases, so no matter. Into the room which was just okay but there was a definite disinterested attitued 'take it or leave it'. The place was exceptionally clean but old. Still had a velour headboard! Quite large but with cheapest of cheap white furniture and a small bed (4' 6", possibly 5' max). Bizarre hairdryer contraption on wall - at least I think that's what it was. The bathroom was tiny but ok for the usual 'pod' shower added later to old buildings. Hardly any blackened sealant (my pet hate). We were just told breakfast times but not where lounge or location of any other facilities were.

Breakfast was good but more like a B&B. It was self service but again everywhere spotless albeit tired and scuffed. Nice dry cured bacon, awful sausage, beans. Tomatoes and mushrooms on next day. Could pre-order hash browns and bread pudding etc.

This place's saving grace is the extremely pleasant and font of all knowledge waitress/manageress? With the Australian accent. Really helpful and couldn't do enough for us, got us maps and drew routes etc. Dunster is a lovely village and would recommend a stay here to anyone. We walked around the streets, the castle grounds and down to the stream. There are loads of walks to be done, some quite easy, all marked out on the maps. There was a steam rally on so we drove down to Dunster railway station which was lovely and preserved, old suitcases stacked up, memorabilia and 'stuff'; all really quaint. Got steam train just one stop to Minehead where we had a stroll round then came back again and sat on Dunster beach - huge and unspoilt with just a sandwich and drinks van.

In the evening we had a meal at the Luttrell Arms. This is a beautiful old building and very popular - the staff are very friendly but there's not enough of them. The food wasn't exceptional but there was plenty of it and good value. We visited the next day after our day on the beach again, to the 'Secret Garden' which had been recommended by our australian lady. This is through the Luttrell Arms, UP some stairs at the back and its a very pretty garden area with tables and chairs and a glorious view. This place is also 'pet friendly', which is fine if they would clear up their pooch's mess - I nearly put my bag down on a pile of it. Not pleasant.

All in all we had a wonderful weekend despite the annexe experience. We usually pay around £200-£250 so its not the money; we paid £90 per night and this wasn't worth it but it was worth it to be able to stay in Dunster 'last minute'! Charming place.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon&Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Yarn Market Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

I damaged my car. Anthony, the proprietor, called a passing garage man for a quick inspection and then piloted me to the garage and brought me back in the hotel's car. Repeated in reverse by Nigel when the car was ready. Accommodation and food was good and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Everything was just what our family needed. Things were clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Excellent, large and comfortable en-suite room.
Warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff.
Good quality wholesome plain food with excellent breakfast.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Look for their deals
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rtraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Good food, comfortable bedrooms and friendly, attentive staff set in a lovely village with a castle and surrounded by beautiful countryside.Couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

If you read the first two reports here you`d be then asking was the third report by SONDHEIM for the same hotel.Well unfortunately ,it was .I`m inclined to agree with this report .
We checked in here as it was any port in a storm .Dunster is not the place to come without a pre booking .We paid £110 for bed and breakfast .The room we got was a four poster .The bathroom was nothing to write home about .No shower facilities just a plain bath with a rubber attatchment if you need to wash your hair .Room was smallish but not too bad .The cleanliness seemed ok .
The hotel itself is in bad need of re decoration .Paint is chipped all over the place and as previous report says carpets are dirty too .
Another point too is if you ever feel the need to go in a maize just come here .There is bits of paper pinned to doors guiding you to the various parts .Even then you`ll get lost .When eventualy finding the dining room you`ll find it`s a buffet breakfast .Not a lot on offer here .Usual bacon .sausage ,egg and beans is it . No black pudding ,hash browns etc as you`d expect for £110 .The sausage itself was one of worst I`ve ever tasted .Very bland .All in all a very uninspiring breakfast .
To sum up overpriced and I wouldn`t return here .Price of £70 would be about right .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I was with a group of 10 walkers staying at this hotel and all were very happy here - the standard in the bedrooms is higher than we expected for the room cost, with lovely bathrooms, spacious rooms, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers, tvs: modern and spotless. I have paid a lot more for a lot less. Added to that all the staff were efficient and very friendly. The receptionist and managers in particular went out of their way to ask at every opportunity if we were OK or anything we wanted, providing offers of lounges/meeting rooms for our group and even an ad-hoc tour of the village when our guide did not turn up. They offer 2 for 1 vouchers to visit the Castle and free parking in the village carpark. The location right in the centre of town is fabulous and the town itself absolutely stunning - you could be back in Tudor times.
Breakfast was great, the one downside we had was dinner, which was fine but not special. The room it is served in was fine for breakfast but a bit soulless at dinner.
The hotel does lots of speciality weekends such as dogs welcome, singing, cycling and a Friday murder mystery and our group will readily return for any of these or the great walking nearby.

Room Tip: Look out over the street at the front
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
130 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
252 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range: £77 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing