We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & great location”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food & great location”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Visited with a group of fellow walkers. Had a great time and the area was very beautiful (although hilly for walkers !).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPSmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    74
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
74
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We needed two rooms for our stay and both were lovely and clean and fresh. My wife did not find the bed comfortable and I found it rather short but apart form that a lovley place to stay. A super choice of breakfasts as well. All in all very nice but littl ethings ike helpibng carry the bags up the many stairs would have been a nice gesture too. Would definitely go there again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Bedding not very clean and I am sure the mattress covers and bed covers were never washed, very grubby, not somewhere I could recommend. Manageress was unhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
We have been trying to investigate this complaint but have looked as far back as the beginning of March and cannot find anyone matching your details on a weekend break. We will continue our investigations as we take our hygiene and cleanliness very seriously and aim to maintain the highest possible standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I spent a weekend here while visiting local attractions including Dunster Castle and the West Somerset Railway. It's a picturesque old inn in a great location overlooking the historic Yarn Market. The rooms have lots of character but have been nicely modernised. There is free wi-fi, although this is a bit patchy and you may need to go to the lounge to use it. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and will suggest good walks and where to go in the evening. A real touch of Olde England - and the food is great! This isn't one of those standardised modern hotels where every room is the same - the floor plan is a bit complicated with lots of stairs and corridors, but that actually makes it quite fun - and there are helpful signs giving directions to the rooms!

Room Tip: Rooms 22 - 24 all overlook the Yarn Market and have superb views down the High Street towards the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Numismatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel during the West Somerset Railway Spring Gala. The location is perfect for travelling to Dunster station. For our stay, we booked a four poster bed room (room 9), which was located on the top floor at the rear of the property. The room was well maintained in a 'Country Style' decor rather than anything more modern. We have an issue with carpet in bathrooms, but in fairness the carpet was clean and dry and we accept it is a personal choice. The bathroom was large and had a full size bath with shower, the bedroom was of a standard size for a property of this age. We both slept well, so found no issues with the bed.

I'm not sure how people of limited mobility would cope in the hotel, as there are a lot of stairs and corridors to manoeuvre through. The walk through areas could do with a freshen up.

We ate breakfast only at the hotel, and were greeted warmly on both mornings. You can help yourself to the standard English fry up / continental breakfast options, or request kippers, boiled eggs etc.

Check in and check out, we were greeted in a friendly manner and shown to our room upon arrival. We very much appreciated the fact that parking tokens are available if you cannot find a spot in the centre of the village.

We love this area of the country and find Dunster to be a perfect base, the hotel suited our needs and everyone made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobs_Mum_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here with my husband early last summer. We stayed 3 nights for the triathlon/ironman event. Due to this popular event, accomodation is hard to find at that weekend and this hotel was the only place available nearby.
I would not have booked this myself as I had an inkling what it would be like, and I wasn't far wrong. The welcome on arrival was ok, but on the whole it felt like they were just interested in taking their payment. The room wasn't bad, but very small and very little space around the bed to move around.
Our room would have been more suited for a single room. The fittings and carpet are tired and cheap/shabby looking. The ensuite was more like a cupboard in size and feel. All I can say is that it was ghastly and carpeted.It looked unfinished and cobbled together as cheaply as possible. There was barely room to turn around or get in and out of the shower. I hated having to use the shower, toilet or sink, it was not a pleasant experience.
The ancient divan bed was so uncomfortable. When you sit on the bed, your bottom touches the divan base. There was only one thin old pillow each and It felt like sleeping on a large ironing board for 3 nights and all this for £100 a night was a rip off. I was exhausted when we arrived home, as we were unable to get a decent nights sleep.
The breakfast wasn't bad apart from the sausages. There was plenty of choice and you can have cooked or continental. The staff were very pleasant and friendly in the breakfast room.
We never tried the restaurant, as it didn't look very inviting when we checked in, so I can't say what it was like.
To be fair, the hotel did issue us with parking permits to park in the car park round the corner if there wasn't a space free outside in the street. That meant we had free parking for the whole stay which was a good thing.
On checkout we were never asked whether we'd enjoyed our stay. It was brisk and totally indifferent. I would never stay here again anyway. This hotel has got it's fans, but I'm not one of them.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redruth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here during the Dunster by Candlenight event 2/3 December 2011. I stayed in the annex and found it enjoyable.The room was a bit small but these are wollen merchant's houses not purpose built.

The breakfast was good except for the sausages and the evening meal was excellant with a wide choice of options.You will get much more out of this if you opt for full board rather than just bed and breakfast.

The staff were very friendly and efficient and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the High Street - it is very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
330 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
269 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Property: Yarn Market Hotel
Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing