We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yarn Hotel”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very clean hotel, but no good for disabled people. Al ot of stairs.

No bar or other daytime facilities. For example if you want a cup of tea etc, you have to go to your room

Rooms very comfortable and clean.

Good position in centre of village

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at front of premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Owner at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness.

We fully agree that our hotel and indeed the whole of Dunster is not ideal for disabled people and where we know that this could be an issue we try and warn people at the time of booking, sometimes even suggesting alternative hotels in nearby Minehead with specialist disabled facilities.

Although our staff would always be pleased to serve refreshments in our lounge or elsewhere on the ground floor, we do accept that this is not made clear on our "Room Service Menu" and we will amend the wording when next reprinted.

If you wish to visit us again, may I suggest that you ask for Room 12 which although slightly more expensive than our standard rooms has a large bay window seat overlooking the Yarn Market and much of the High Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed at the Yarn Market Hotel for a week in early October 2012 so that I could walk the Coleridge Way. Antony and his staff were marvelous. I was picked up on arrival at the bus stop and provided with a lovely room (double bed, free wifi, all amenities including a bath with plenty of hot water) that was a good size and spotlessly clean. After a substantial breakfast each day, I was given a packed lunch and plenty of maps/directions for the day's walk, driven to the starting point and then picked up when I was ready to call it a day. The day finished with a drink and dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The Yarn Market Hotel is a combination of three old houses and it works beautifully - there is a lot of charm in making your way through the houses to the different parts of the hotel. As a solo traveller, I was made to feel very welcome and was extremely well looked after by all the staff. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to explore the area around Dunster. The Yarn Market is also ideally located for exploring the medieval village of Dunster itself and its castle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here in September 2012, the place is ideally situated on Dunster's main street. Accommodation was faultless, lovely cripsy white linen on the huge comfortable bed, great bathroom facilities, tv, alarm clock etc. Staff are tremendously helpful and friendly. It's a great place to stay as a base for exploring Exmoor. There was a variety of breakfast options - all nicely presented. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food and service was first class. Very relaxing atmosphere and comfortable. We'll definately go back now we have discovered this Exmoor gem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartmoorFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We booked in here late afternoon, and were able to view the room before deciding to stay, it was large and spotlessly clean, overlooking Dunster high street, although we ate evening meal elsewhere, the breakfast was cooked perfectly and good choice, the staff friendly, would definetely stay here again, ideally situated to enjoy Dunster and shops tea rooms etc, and within walking distance of the Castle ,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The location is great, the staff fantastic and the food delicious. An interesting place that would benefit from a good bit of redecorating and carpet cleaning. Staying here could be a lot more pleasant if it didn't look so tired!
The room we were in had no hot water in the handbasin, and at £130 a night that is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Room 16 had no hot water in the handbasin, but a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Business_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I have stayed at the Yarn Market for a week every August for about the last ten years as a member of the Music Week. It is not a conventional hotel, as it is a number of old houses joined together by a maze of corridors and staircases, some narrow and quite steep. I have often had (by choice) a room on the second floor, facing the courtyard, as it is quiet and comfortable, with a double bed for my single use. I like a bath, so the lack of a fixed shower is not a problem. The main strength of the hotel is its staff, who could not be more friendly and helpful. The owner is a real character, always smiling, and nothing is too much trouble. As this is a course, we stay on a full board basis. Breakfast is a buffet, and perfectly adequate (if there was a problem with the sausages, it seems to have been solved!). The evening meal was very good, with some unusual dishes, though I could have done with a wider choice of potatoes. Parking can be a problem, but I have always managed to park just a few minutes away. I couldn't give it five stars, but four are very well merited.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flugelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were staying at the Yarn Market Hotel for 2 nights over the weekend for a wedding. The positives first - Dunster is a beautiful old village, the hotel is perfectly placed for exploring and parking is free. We had a room on the 2nd floor which the receptionist had to show us to directly as the hotel is a bit of a maze. They do have handy signs on the doors that point you in the right direction. It's worth noting that the hotel doesn't have lifts so carrying heavy luggage up its narrow staircases can be quite challenging. Our double room was decorated a bit like grandmas house with floral bedspreads and curtains (but suited to our old fashioned country surroundings) and was of average size with a small en-suite bathroom with shower, small sink and toilet. I thought that the bathroom was a bit on the small side but this is not the same for all rooms as I found when visiting a friend's room (they had a large bath tub, as well as shower and a large mirror). The room was generally clean and tidy and they provided us with tea/coffee making facilities, tv and alarm clock. The main thing that isn't provided in the room is a phone, which would be really useful as the mobile phone signal in the area is quite poor. There isn't an iron in the room either, but a shared one is provided in the hallway. Breakfast is provided in the room rate which is buffet style with full english, cereal, fruit, tea/coffee & juices.

My top tip is to remember to lock your room door as you leave. Rooms are accessed by actual keys (not keycards as in more modern hotels) so the door does not lock automatically when you leave, you need to use the key to lock it. We found this out after coming back from dinner to find our door unlocked, luckily nothing was missing.

Overall I might have rated this hotel more highly if it had not been for the price. We had a special rate as part of a large wedding group but even with this discount I still think the hotel is overpriced. If I were staying in the village again I would probably give one of the other hotels a try.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJAYLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Owner at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

I am sorry but mobile phone coverage on some networks is very weak over much of Exmoor.

We recommend Orange as the best network and we keep a stock of orange mobiles for free loan to our guests..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
146 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
650 reviews
13.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
150 reviews
17.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range: £58 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing