We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minehead /Lynmouth Run”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Minehead /Lynmouth Run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We booked a twin bed room it must have been our lucky day we were given a suite at no extra charge, plenty of space to unpack and put clothes away, rooms were very clean together with bathroom. Breakfast was good with plenty of extra toast and coffee

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    73
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
73
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights during the first week of September 2012 along with my 82 year old mother and beddlington terrier/poodle cross dog.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms and food very good.
My only complaint is uncomfortable pillows which is something I should have mentioned and can easily be addressed and a maybe a little expensive for overall experience.
I will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

From the outside the hotel is promising. Our room was perfectly acceptable with all the usual amenities one would expect. (Somewhere to put your stuff in the bathroom would been a good idea.) Small TV and poor wi-fi connection. The owner is charming and welcoming. He obviously takes great pride in his business and his enthusiasm is infectious. Now, to the reason for the poor rating for this hotel. The restaurant! Despite a well-stocked cellar and some interesting menu items, the food was awful. The so-called 'fresh' trout hadn't seen daylight in a while; the steak was overcooked and of poor quality. Our 'fine dining' experience was a disaster - and I wished we'd gone across the road to the buzzing pub (bet we could have got a decent meal there - and without the pretentious silver service.) So - good marks for a good room; but give the restaurant a miss. It's a shame -- but at the prices charged for the hotel and for dinner, I expected a lot better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlorenceNewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Owner at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Your review is of concern as no mention is made of how we handled matters.
We fully investigated your comments made to our waitress during your meal about your steak.
We appreciate that the offer to cook a replacement steak does not fully compensate and the delay would have been inconvenient.
Our Manager informed your husband that there would be no charge for your entire meals. The response given was that this was a "more than reasonable compromise and he would have expected to pay at least 50%."
The invoice handed to you the following morning for the one night stay confirms this and merely charges for Bed and Breakfast Accommodation and your wine.
Your review makes no mention of the fact that all charges for both of your meals were waived as a gesture of goodwill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoogeveen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August.

When we arrived, we were lucky to have a parking spot in front of the hotel. There's quite limited amount of parking space, as the hotel is in the middle of the town center. There is a larger parking area nearby though, and you can get a pay and display ticket from hotel reception at no charge.

The guy at check in was great. Very friendly and helpful. There was good service too, as he got our suitcases before we could protest and helped get them to our rooms upstairs.
When we arrived, my white jeans badly needed a wash on account of me taking photos sitting in a freshly mowed and dewy field, and they took care of it for me, no extra charge.

The rooms were amazing. Large, light and airy, with huge bay windows (with window seats!) which gave us a view of the Yarn market and the high street. This brings me to mention the lovely location. Walking distance from everything in Dunster, and when you stand in front of the hotel, you can see the castle up ahead.
Back to the rooms. The bed was lovely. It was big and very comfortable.
The TV was great too, many channels with good reception.

the bathroom was okay. It had the necessities but was rather cramped.

The hotel has free Wi-fi, although you can only really get it in a special small room. But that's okay, at least they have it.

They also offer 2 for 1 discount tickets to the castle.

Of course, there were some less good things as well.

We could not have dinner at the restaurant, but the receptionist assured us there were plenty of nice little eateries in town. There weren't though. Some weren't open on Wednesdays, and most didn't open until 7pm. We are used to eating earlier. So we ended up driving to Minehead and had fish & chips on the beach, which was very nice.

Many times, there would be no one at the reception desk. If that were the case, you had to pick up a phone to get someone to the reception area. I think there's room for improvement there.

Breakfast was slightly awkward. We didn't know where to go the first morning, and had to call for a receptionist to tell us. Turns out we had to go to the building next door, which looks like a completely different hotel with a different name, but apparently is part of the Yarn Market Hotel.
The staff at breakfast was quite unfriendly and uninterested, and asked silly questions, like how many scrambled eggs we wanted...

Overall though, it's a lovely hotel. If we would even go back to that part of England again, we would definitely consider the Yarn Market Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very clean hotel, but no good for disabled people. Al ot of stairs.

No bar or other daytime facilities. For example if you want a cup of tea etc, you have to go to your room

Rooms very comfortable and clean.

Good position in centre of village

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at front of premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Owner at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness.

We fully agree that our hotel and indeed the whole of Dunster is not ideal for disabled people and where we know that this could be an issue we try and warn people at the time of booking, sometimes even suggesting alternative hotels in nearby Minehead with specialist disabled facilities.

Although our staff would always be pleased to serve refreshments in our lounge or elsewhere on the ground floor, we do accept that this is not made clear on our "Room Service Menu" and we will amend the wording when next reprinted.

If you wish to visit us again, may I suggest that you ask for Room 12 which although slightly more expensive than our standard rooms has a large bay window seat overlooking the Yarn Market and much of the High Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed at the Yarn Market Hotel for a week in early October 2012 so that I could walk the Coleridge Way. Antony and his staff were marvelous. I was picked up on arrival at the bus stop and provided with a lovely room (double bed, free wifi, all amenities including a bath with plenty of hot water) that was a good size and spotlessly clean. After a substantial breakfast each day, I was given a packed lunch and plenty of maps/directions for the day's walk, driven to the starting point and then picked up when I was ready to call it a day. The day finished with a drink and dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The Yarn Market Hotel is a combination of three old houses and it works beautifully - there is a lot of charm in making your way through the houses to the different parts of the hotel. As a solo traveller, I was made to feel very welcome and was extremely well looked after by all the staff. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to explore the area around Dunster. The Yarn Market is also ideally located for exploring the medieval village of Dunster itself and its castle.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here in September 2012, the place is ideally situated on Dunster's main street. Accommodation was faultless, lovely cripsy white linen on the huge comfortable bed, great bathroom facilities, tv, alarm clock etc. Staff are tremendously helpful and friendly. It's a great place to stay as a base for exploring Exmoor. There was a variety of breakfast options - all nicely presented. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food and service was first class. Very relaxing atmosphere and comfortable. We'll definately go back now we have discovered this Exmoor gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DartmoorFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Property: Yarn Market Hotel
Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing