We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
89
92
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
92
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet stylewalking grouphalf boardhigh streetwalking holidayfreshly fried eggscomfortable hotelfantastic holidayspit stopspecial interesttraditional charmcar parkhotel is situatedthe main streetlovely locationdouble bedwelcoming staff
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A group of nine men staying for three nights:
1 staff very good
2 breakfast fine although some freshly fried eggs would have been a bonus
3 rooms fine
4 I would have thought that they might do better to market themselves as an upmarket B&B as there is no bar and/or cask beer and the restaurant might be very good but not the right option for our group.
5 room cost £65 for single occupancy for four days was on the expensive side
6 location excellent

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithslawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your comments which have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very well looked after on a walking weekend with a group of friends. Food and service excellent. Because of the hotel's position in the centre of Dunster, car parking can be a little difficult but hotel can supply free parking permits if required. Will be back next year or sooner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William46London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel, returning to it for a weekend break after 10 years. We chose the hotel because it's dog friendly, because of its excellent location and because of our good experience in the past.
The rooms were clean and reasonably well furnished but lacked significantly in any sense of loveliness. The furniture was a little tired and not very well positioned (despite a good sized-room, it all looked a little cluttered). The real problem was that we paid £240 for two nights' of accommodation, which included the dog (often costs extra in other places) and a rather mediocre breakfast (again, more reminiscent of the 1980s). I am happy to spend a night in hotels like this, but I would expect to pay £60-75 per night, not £120.
If you want to stay somewhere special, I would recommend looking elsewhere until the pricing reflect what is being delivered more realistically.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nils L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Owner at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your comments which are most helpful. Our standard double rooms for a 2 night stay in September were indeed £60 per person per night at weekends, but our midweek rate was slightly cheaper.
You are correct that there is no charge for a dog.
We do have an ongoing programme of refurbishment in our rooms, and your particular room is scheduled to be updated, but we only permit dogs in certain rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel makes a refreshing change from impersonal hotel chains and their rabbit-hutch rooms and carefully-proportioned facilities. The building itself started in a single house with five rooms. The owner, over 20 years, has expanded into the neighbouring premises to form an intriguing and pleasant warren. Very clean, with friendly efficient staff and excellent food. The menu is limited and local fresh ingredients are used. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of four days. we shall certainly return and recommend to friends.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marilyn_thannoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Have just returned from another visit to the Yarn Market Hotel in the centre of Dunster village. I have stayed several times in the past in a number of different rooms and always had a good night's sleep.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and have all the essentials.
Breakfasts are sometimes very busy if the hotel is full, but the buffet is regularly replenished and the staff are always helpful. I adore the coffee.
Will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews