We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner as a group of 8 for dinner. Really good value. We had the dunster by candlelight meal which was a good deal. Service was OK well priced and accompanied by a harpist. Slightly cramped as it was a bit full but overall a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    74
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
74
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was a very much needed 2 day break ! with my cousin . The Hotel staff were welcoming and friendly , there were notices around to say refurbishment in progress , but never affected are stay , are room ( no 22) I can say was very comfatable and clean on suite was spotless . My cousins reason for this trip was to experience the warmth of the people towards adult learning difficulties which we can say couldn't of been any better or any more helpful ! .
The dining room was spotless and service to match .
Looking forward to staying again .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. The staff will be glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A group of nine men staying for three nights:
1 staff very good
2 breakfast fine although some freshly fried eggs would have been a bonus
3 rooms fine
4 I would have thought that they might do better to market themselves as an upmarket B&B as there is no bar and/or cask beer and the restaurant might be very good but not the right option for our group.
5 room cost £65 for single occupancy for four days was on the expensive side
6 location excellent

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithslawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your comments which have been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very well looked after on a walking weekend with a group of friends. Food and service excellent. Because of the hotel's position in the centre of Dunster, car parking can be a little difficult but hotel can supply free parking permits if required. Will be back next year or sooner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William46London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel, returning to it for a weekend break after 10 years. We chose the hotel because it's dog friendly, because of its excellent location and because of our good experience in the past.
The rooms were clean and reasonably well furnished but lacked significantly in any sense of loveliness. The furniture was a little tired and not very well positioned (despite a good sized-room, it all looked a little cluttered). The real problem was that we paid £240 for two nights' of accommodation, which included the dog (often costs extra in other places) and a rather mediocre breakfast (again, more reminiscent of the 1980s). I am happy to spend a night in hotels like this, but I would expect to pay £60-75 per night, not £120.
If you want to stay somewhere special, I would recommend looking elsewhere until the pricing reflect what is being delivered more realistically.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nils L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarnmarket, Owner at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your comments which are most helpful. Our standard double rooms for a 2 night stay in September were indeed £60 per person per night at weekends, but our midweek rate was slightly cheaper.
You are correct that there is no charge for a dog.
We do have an ongoing programme of refurbishment in our rooms, and your particular room is scheduled to be updated, but we only permit dogs in certain rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel makes a refreshing change from impersonal hotel chains and their rabbit-hutch rooms and carefully-proportioned facilities. The building itself started in a single house with five rooms. The owner, over 20 years, has expanded into the neighbouring premises to form an intriguing and pleasant warren. Very clean, with friendly efficient staff and excellent food. The menu is limited and local fresh ingredients are used. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of four days. we shall certainly return and recommend to friends.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn_thannoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Have just returned from another visit to the Yarn Market Hotel in the centre of Dunster village. I have stayed several times in the past in a number of different rooms and always had a good night's sleep.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and have all the essentials.
Breakfasts are sometimes very busy if the hotel is full, but the buffet is regularly replenished and the staff are always helpful. I adore the coffee.
Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
330 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
269 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Property: Yarn Market Hotel
Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing