We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

stayed there a few weeks ago for a weekend, warm friendly staff nothing was too much effort for
them, rooms were cosy and very clean great sleep after a long night out. Breakfast was great too
would definitely like to stay there again
MRS S LONDON

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    74
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
74
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wargrave, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just spent a 3-day break at the Yarn Market Hotel. The place was full to the brim with the consequential opportunity to put quality standards under pressure. There was no need to worry.....the hotel management and staff were perfect...the rooms comfortable....and the food excellent. The hotel gets my highest praise and I am already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just spent the Bank Holiday weekend here and had 3 very nice nights.
The staff could not be more helpful and the area is amazing.
Although it has many winding stairs the rooms are comfortable and have tea and coffee making facility, TV etc.
Thank you all for a lovely stay - see you again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooes747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I spent 5 nights at the Yarn Market Hotel as part of a walking group and thought it was excellent. The menu was simple but the food was very good and the rooms were comfortable. Above all the friendly helpful staff ensured that the whole experience was wonderful; nothing was too much trouble and the support for our walks was beyond anything we had hoped for. I would highly recommend the hotel as a base for anyone who wants to explore the beauty of Exmoor or further a-field.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 912Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have to say that our recent visit to the Yarn Market Hotel was one of the most enjoyable breaks that I have experienced. We stayed at the Hotel for 5 nights as a base for our guided walking holiday. All the arrangements for the walks were undertaken by the hotel, and the organisation was absolutely perfect.
The hotel itself is situated in the picturesque village of Dunster, and is very well placed to explore some really stunning countryside. The hotel owner and his staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, taking a great deal of time and trouble to make us feel really welcome. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable - some with nice views overlooking the Yarn Market. The food was delicious, with a good range of menu choices which varied every evening.
I will certainly be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, Middx
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed with friends at the hotel in April. We did a guided walking tour of the South West coastal path which was beautiful. The food and service were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and it was a lovely friendly place. We are busy organising another trip.
Also the hotel is well placed for a very long stretch of the coastal path, we were looked after during our walks with coffee and bisciots to keep us going as well as a really nice packed lunch.
We could not have asked for more from a holiday.
Margaret A

Room Tip: Room 12 was delightful, large with a nice view of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were booked in to the Yarn Market Hotel last week for one of their self guided walking holiday packages along the South West Coast Park. The week was organised to perfection and i had such a fantastic experience which i cannot wait to repeat. The staff at the Hotel were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble, the food was superb, room was clean and comfortable and the location was just perfect. The Hotel organises the week to include transport to and from the daily linear walk, a very knowlegeable friendly guide for each day, a packed lunch and they also meet us along the way with hot coffee. It was truly a week to remember for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
270 reviews
13.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Property: Yarn Market Hotel
Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing