We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Yarn Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yarn Market Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Great!! In spite of several negative comments on this sit)e,
I must state;

1. Excellent room (4 -poster) and superb view.
2. Wonderful attentive staff.
3. Great food -(but far too much!! (am now on a prolonged diet). Try the venison!!
4. Excellent service and a great atmosphere The staff cannot be faulted.
5. Warm, comfortable, plenty of hot water
6. Enjoyable, informative, varied activities available

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    78
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
78
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

For £90 per room per night I would expect parking (we did find some at the back of the hotel but weren't told about it, even though I asked, as it appeared to be used by the staff with guests left to find spaces in the High Street). The breakfast buffet was OK but the evening meal was awful. We paid £15 for three sausages (the same type as were available at breakfast) and a pile of mustard mash. It was accompanied by boiled and roast potatoes (frozen) and various root veg. It was cheap canteen food which would have disappointed at £5 a head let alone £15 for a main course. £16 for a bottle of Mateus was really taking the micky.

This hotel has a great location and the rooms are clean and pleasant but it is really missing a trick with it's poor food and 1970's social club bar (we took one look and went for a drink in the Luttrell over the road).

I would suggest the manager takes the chef for dinner at Reeves or the Dunster Castle so they can see what can be made for similiar prices. It might help them undetstand why their restaurant isn't exactly packed out.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auroras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We booked rather near the time, on-line.

Although the booking form said that the room we were booking (34) was not en-suite we didn't read it carefully enough, as who would have thought that, in 2009, a hotel room wouldn't have an en-suite! And the promotional leaflet says 'all rooms en-suite'.

The double bed was more like a wide single bed. The telly was small and elderly and had no remote.

The leaflet shows a photograph of a nice-looking 'breakfast room'. This was not the room in which breakfast was actually provided. As for the breakfast, this was 'serve yourself' from a selection of previously-cooked food kept 'warm' on a hot plate, much the sort of thing you would expect from a 1970s service station; not a hotel in 2009.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestSussexGoldenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I stayed for one night in order to explore the lovely village of Dunster. The room was small but excellent, very light, nicely decorated and a great view overlooking the Yarn Market and it had everything I needed. Parking is not easy in dunster but the hotel did provide a free car park voucher. The bar is a real dissapointment and seriosuly needs to be sorted out, spirits are served from miniatures ! Dinner was good but the restaurant lacked any ambience and the music that was playing in the bar would drive anyone mad unless they really do like 50's music played on Ukeles. Breakfast is a help yourself affair and was fankly a let down as although it was a cooked breakfast it was all cold. Price was about average and I would stay again simply for it's location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Pleasant small hotel in the middle of Dunster. Very helpful staff . Room had no view but was given option of a small room with view or a larger one without! Hotel supplied continental breakfast when I needed to leave before the 8am start. Good value when compared with other hotels in the village.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUNKLEY283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UHants UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Stayed here on their winter break special -two nights half board for £120pppn. Room 2, which others have mentioned is lovely, a good sized, well equiped room with a double aspect overlooking the Yarn Market and up the High St. to the Castle. Lots of narrow stairs and doors to negociate, so those with heavy luggage or disabilities would struggle, but once there, well worth it! The Hotel does not have a Bar (ignore the door that says 'Bar' - it isn't!) and therefore it would be nice to have a small fridge in the room especilly in summer. Parking wasn't too bad as the Season hasn't started, in fact most shops and attractions are still closed, but I should imagine in summer it must be terrible, although the (paying) car park is a 5 minute walk away. We found breakfast to be both ample and good - if you leave here hungry it is your fault! However, the evening meals in the resturant were not so good. I would not recommend the half-board, eat else where, and there a quite a few alternatives. The starters and 'puds' are good but on each night the mains were poor and we were not alone in complaining about the quality. The staff are excellent, friendly and efficient. Would I stay in Duster again? most likely yes, at the Yarn - no. The Dunster Castle Hotel only has six rooms but beautifully done, has a bar with friendly locals and parking. Didn't eat there, but the food looked very good. I would like to give the Castle a go next time, but apart from the evening meal the Yarn was very good and most likely better suited for families and dogs!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger50A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter Devon England UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

A quintessential hotel in the middle of Duster Village. Comfy beds. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurant and breakfast are good. The rooms are clean and tidy. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizzer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
236 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarn Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Property: Yarn Market Hotel
Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Yarn Market Hotel Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing