We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cathy T
Alton, United Kingdom

Excellent

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jul 2020
All safety measures were taken after lockdown and an efficient system made us feel very confortable and safe. Meals were very good and plentiful. Management and staff are all friendly and helpful. Great stay. Thank you
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £140
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Priceline
    £140
0.1 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£165
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £165
  • Skyscanner.com
    £164
  • Agoda.com
    £165
0.0 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Exterior
Trip.com
£230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    £230
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Premier Inn bedroom
PremierInn.com
£54
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.3 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Restaurant
Booking.com
£135
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £135
  • Priceline
    £135
1.9 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Vio.com
    £120
  • eDreams
    £120
1.9 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The outside
Booking.com
£59
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £59
  • Agoda.com
    £59
  • Skyscanner.com
    £59
2.1 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£85
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £94
  • Priceline
    £114
2.2 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunster
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
140
113
31
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
113
31
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking group walking holiday group holiday music week high street comfortable hotel hotel is situated exploring exmoor english breakfast dunster castle weekend break a lovely stay steam train excellent food national trust nothing is too much trouble anthony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2019

A weekend stay. Hotel a Warren of stairs leading you this way and that. Tired out date decor and facilities. Comfy bed but shower very weak. TV tiny and on the left hand wall of the bed so you have to crane your neck to watch it. Good location yes but that's it. Breakfast nothing special. Wish we'd stayed at the Castle a few doors down which is luxury and a little cheaper with excellent food and boutique style.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank M3194HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2019

If you are bringing your doggie pal it will be well catered for by the hotel. As I relied on public transport I could not carry a dog bed, bowls or bedding. All of this was provided plus a free sample pack of food.
The hotel staff, food, room, all excellent. Although on my own I was never lonely as it felt I was part of one great caring family.
Public transport nearby excellent for Minehead. I shall definitely be returning.

Room tip: The Family Room is next to a handy exit to the street
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yarnmarket, Front Office Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed this stay with us as a returning guest. We do consider ourselves to be not just "dog friendly" but "dogs very welcome" and are happy to provide any necessary requirements. We do accept pets in most of our rooms, but also keeping a few as pet free for those guests that may have allergies.

As you noted there is a very good local bus service with buses every 30 minutes on weekdays on the route between Taunton and Minehead, passing by Dunster.

We hope to welcome you back again for a future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2019

The weekend's activities begin with dinner followed by a singing session on Friday evening.
Saturday breakfast starts the day with the second of the singing sessions. A light lunch is followed by free afternoon. A trip to Watchet or a short guided walk were on offer, or simply free time to relax.
A second singing session is followed by a dinner, during the dessert a guitarist entertained everyone.
Sunday starts with breakfast and then the final singing session. A Sunday lunch is served after which a small concert is performed of some of the pieces we had learnt over the two days.
The hotel staff are all very welcoming and give excellent service. The room are comfortable and have enough space to relax in. Some of the rooms overlook the high street with its Yarn Market and views of the castle up on the hill.
The food throughout the weekend is superb. There is a choice of starters, mains and desserts for the two dinner sessions, which are selected in advance making the quick service possible. The food is very tasty, with locally sourced meats adding to the quality. Breakfast is a buffet type, with a good selection of hot and cold items that are kept topped up regularly. The soups are all home made and are excellent.
I am more adventurous when I stop at the Yarn Market, this time choosing the Black Pudding and bacon starter.
The singing sessions are well led by Ian Chesworth, who has the knack of getting the best of the singers whilst making it quite relaxing.
This weekend is not for beginner singers, an ability to sight read music is required to get the best out of the weekend.
Anthony and Angela once again have organised a great weekend which was enjoyed by all the participants.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019

We stayed for a few days with a party of 28 and had a great stay at the Yarn Market Hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, whether to point out places of interest, help with luggage or clarify billing queries - everything was done with attention to detail . .
The food was very good: plenty of menu options, and somehow the chef managed to ensure that 28 meals were ready to serve at the same time. I chose fish on a few occasions and it was cooked to perfection as were casseroles and roasts - most impressive.
Breakfasts included a good varied choice of cooked items + bread/toast, cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit

One of our party was taken ill and the duty manager dealt with the situation in a most professional and capable way.

Our room was comfortable with tea & coffee making facilities.

This is a great venue if you are looking for a comfortable hotel that has excellent food and great staff; it isn't a spa type hotel. We are already planning to return in Spring.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yarnmarket, Front Office Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really enjoyed having the group staying with us and we are pleased everything was to the groups satisfaction, you are all welcome back any time!

We do have a great location here in Dunster and I am sure everyone found plenty to see and do in the time spent with us.

We were sorry that one of the guests was taken ill but glad that everything turned out to be well with him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

From the warm greeting on arrival to the friendly staff and the care and attention provided throughout our stay there was nothing to fault whatsoever. We stayed as part of a party of 24 and ate as a group in the evenings, the quality of food was excellent and it was served quickly so it was still piping hot when we started to eat. The quality of the food was so consistent that whether you received the meal first or last made no difference. The chef needs to be complimented on both his food and his logistical skills. In terms of care and attention they cannot be faulted. When one of our party was taken I’ll, staff quickly stepped in to provide that individual with care and privacy until the ambulance arrived without making a fuss or drama. A seriously impressive performance from a seriously professional yet friendly and welcoming team - we loved staying there and hopefully the group can return again at some point.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews