We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Trip.com
£230
Fully refundable before Sun, 9 Jun
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
£230
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Gail F

Great welcoming base for families to explore Exmoor & coast

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Aug 2020via mobile
Felt really welcomed at this hotel by all the staff and the owner. We stayed in a family suite with breakfast and evening meals included- having a separate room for the kids was super. Enjoyed drinks in the bar. Food was excellent - great quality fresh food. Dunster is a great base for exploring Exmoor. We will be back!
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Hotels.com
    £140
  • Priceline
    £140
0.1 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£165
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £165
  • Skyscanner.com
    £164
  • Agoda.com
    £165
0.0 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Trip.com
£230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    £230
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Premier Inn bedroom
PremierInn.com
£54
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.3 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Restaurant
Booking.com
£135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £135
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • Priceline
    £135
1.9 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Vio.com
    £120
  • eDreams
    £120
1.9 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The outside
Booking.com
£59
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £59
  • Skyscanner.com
    £59
  • Agoda.com
    £59
2.1 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£85
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £94
  • Priceline
    £114
2.2 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£100
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £100
  • Agoda.com
    £100
2.3 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £105
  • Agoda.com
    £105
  • Vio.com
    £105
2.4 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunster
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
140
113
31
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
113
31
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking group walking holiday group holiday music week high street comfortable hotel hotel is situated exploring exmoor english breakfast dunster castle weekend break a lovely stay steam train excellent food national trust nothing is too much trouble anthony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2020

Very comfortable bed and room...food was lovely and plenty to chose from at breakfast....everything was was done in a kind and friendly manner and the owner and all staff were great...very polite and helpful. Wanted to leave a tip in the staff box but couldn't find one so left it at reception. Will certainly stay again.

Room tip: my room looked out over the main road but was very quiet.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sherbertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2020

All safety measures were taken after lockdown and an efficient system made us feel very confortable and safe. Meals were very good and plentiful. Management and staff are all friendly and helpful. Great stay. Thank you

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2019

A weekend stay. Hotel a Warren of stairs leading you this way and that. Tired out date decor and facilities. Comfy bed but shower very weak. TV tiny and on the left hand wall of the bed so you have to crane your neck to watch it. Good location yes but that's it. Breakfast nothing special. Wish we'd stayed at the Castle a few doors down which is luxury and a little cheaper with excellent food and boutique style.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank M3194HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2019

If you are bringing your doggie pal it will be well catered for by the hotel. As I relied on public transport I could not carry a dog bed, bowls or bedding. All of this was provided plus a free sample pack of food.
The hotel staff, food, room, all excellent. Although on my own I was never lonely as it felt I was part of one great caring family.
Public transport nearby excellent for Minehead. I shall definitely be returning.

Room tip: The Family Room is next to a handy exit to the street
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yarnmarket, Front Office Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed this stay with us as a returning guest. We do consider ourselves to be not just "dog friendly" but "dogs very welcome" and are happy to provide any necessary requirements. We do accept pets in most of our rooms, but also keeping a few as pet free for those guests that may have allergies.

As you noted there is a very good local bus service with buses every 30 minutes on weekdays on the route between Taunton and Minehead, passing by Dunster.

We hope to welcome you back again for a future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2019

The weekend's activities begin with dinner followed by a singing session on Friday evening.
Saturday breakfast starts the day with the second of the singing sessions. A light lunch is followed by free afternoon. A trip to Watchet or a short guided walk were on offer, or simply free time to relax.
A second singing session is followed by a dinner, during the dessert a guitarist entertained everyone.
Sunday starts with breakfast and then the final singing session. A Sunday lunch is served after which a small concert is performed of some of the pieces we had learnt over the two days.
The hotel staff are all very welcoming and give excellent service. The room are comfortable and have enough space to relax in. Some of the rooms overlook the high street with its Yarn Market and views of the castle up on the hill.
The food throughout the weekend is superb. There is a choice of starters, mains and desserts for the two dinner sessions, which are selected in advance making the quick service possible. The food is very tasty, with locally sourced meats adding to the quality. Breakfast is a buffet type, with a good selection of hot and cold items that are kept topped up regularly. The soups are all home made and are excellent.
I am more adventurous when I stop at the Yarn Market, this time choosing the Black Pudding and bacon starter.
The singing sessions are well led by Ian Chesworth, who has the knack of getting the best of the singers whilst making it quite relaxing.
This weekend is not for beginner singers, an ability to sight read music is required to get the best out of the weekend.
Anthony and Angela once again have organised a great weekend which was enjoyed by all the participants.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews