We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
KM S
Farnborough, United Kingdom

Visit this Hotel. You won't regret it!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2020
My husband and I have just returned from a marvellous week at this very friendly hotel in a delightful, medieval village in Somerset. There's lots to do and see in this area between the sea and Exmoor. The food was delicious and locally sourced.
All the necessary Covid19 precautions were sympathetically in place but every one of the staff was super-friendly and did their best to make us welcome and feel safe.
Thank you particularly to Anthony and Angela - we had a wonderful time.
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a good view of the old Yarn market and castle.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £139
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£165
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £165
  • Skyscanner.com
    £164
  • Agoda.com
    £165
0.0 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.2 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Trip.com
£230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.0 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Premier Inn bedroom
PremierInn.com
£54
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.3 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Restaurant
Booking.com
£135
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £135
  • Priceline
    £135
1.9 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Vio.com
    £120
  • eDreams
    £120
1.9 miles from Yarn Market Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunster
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
140
113
31
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
113
31
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking group walking holiday group holiday music week high street comfortable hotel hotel is situated exploring exmoor english breakfast dunster castle weekend break a lovely stay steam train excellent food national trust nothing is too much trouble anthony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

Felt really welcomed at this hotel by all the staff and the owner. We stayed in a family suite with breakfast and evening meals included- having a separate room for the kids was super. Enjoyed drinks in the bar. Food was excellent - great quality fresh food. Dunster is a great base for exploring Exmoor. We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gailf982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2020

Very comfortable bed and room...food was lovely and plenty to chose from at breakfast....everything was was done in a kind and friendly manner and the owner and all staff were great...very polite and helpful. Wanted to leave a tip in the staff box but couldn't find one so left it at reception. Will certainly stay again.

Room tip: my room looked out over the main road but was very quiet.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sherbertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2020

All safety measures were taken after lockdown and an efficient system made us feel very confortable and safe. Meals were very good and plentiful. Management and staff are all friendly and helpful. Great stay. Thank you

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2019

A weekend stay. Hotel a Warren of stairs leading you this way and that. Tired out date decor and facilities. Comfy bed but shower very weak. TV tiny and on the left hand wall of the bed so you have to crane your neck to watch it. Good location yes but that's it. Breakfast nothing special. Wish we'd stayed at the Castle a few doors down which is luxury and a little cheaper with excellent food and boutique style.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank M3194HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2019

If you are bringing your doggie pal it will be well catered for by the hotel. As I relied on public transport I could not carry a dog bed, bowls or bedding. All of this was provided plus a free sample pack of food.
The hotel staff, food, room, all excellent. Although on my own I was never lonely as it felt I was part of one great caring family.
Public transport nearby excellent for Minehead. I shall definitely be returning.

Room tip: The Family Room is next to a handy exit to the street
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yarnmarket, Front Office Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed this stay with us as a returning guest. We do consider ourselves to be not just "dog friendly" but "dogs very welcome" and are happy to provide any necessary requirements. We do accept pets in most of our rooms, but also keeping a few as pet free for those guests that may have allergies.

As you noted there is a very good local bus service with buses every 30 minutes on weekdays on the route between Taunton and Minehead, passing by Dunster.

We hope to welcome you back again for a future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews