We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite possibly my favourite place in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunster Beach

Dunster Beach
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite possibly my favourite place in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We came here every year as children and now as adults we return with our own children. This is such a hidden treasure. It's a children's paradise (without any 'rides'). The beach is beautiful, unspoilt, clean and usually pretty empty. It's safe, friendly, near lots of great South West attractions to explore (if it rains and you need to).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank joneypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    22
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recharge the Batteries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Dunster Beach is unique and totally unspoilt. It's a great place for a relaxing holiday and fantastic to wake up hearing the waves lapping on the beach. We stayed in Chalet 75 which is on the beach side and had 2 patios rear and front - the rear one overlooking the sea and the front one being a real suntrap. The chalet is really modern inside and very well maintained. It sleeps 4 comfortably - the corner sofa pulls out into a massive double bed in the living room and a separate double bed in the bedroom. And a real bonus is that it's dog friendly. The beach is immaculate with a lovely nature trail walk, where we were lucky enough to spot a badger on an evening walk. It takes 20 minutes to walk into the medieval village of Dunster which has plenty of tea rooms and traditional pubs serving great food. You can walk across the golf course into Minehead which takes about 35-45 minutes (approx. 2 miles). This is a great base for exploring Exmoor and the Quantocks or simply to just stay put at the chalet and relax. The site shop/café has everything you could possibly need and there is also a laundrette if you feel the need to do washing whilst on holiday! Will definitely book again - such good value for money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful holidays at dunster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My Partner and i have spent the last 2 years holidays sat Dunster Beach we stayed in Jan and Andre Augers chalets the first time we stayed at Ducks Crossing wich is on the lake side it is a lovely chalet very wll equiped and very relaxing .Last year we were very lucky and Jan let us use her family chalet on the beachside it was wonderful so relaxing sitting on the patio watching the tide come and go .Ihope she will let us share it again this it truly is a magical place
Maxine Jarman and Brian

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SUZANNE332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chalet 224 "Pebbles" at Dunster Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Pebbles Chalet for a long weekend and could not have asked for better accommodation. The Chalet is quite spacious inside and offers two comfortable double beds which would be ideal for a friends weekend or a family of four. The inside and outside have a modern finish and are very well maintained. Parking can be found right next to the chalet. It is located in the beautiful Somerset countryside and ideal for a beach holiday or lots of walking around Exmoor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Windsor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A perfect, magical place for a family holiday.Timeless and relaxing. The Chalets are almost on the beach and the children spend all day on the sand and playing in the stream that runns out onto the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1946Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunster Beach also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Dunster Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing