We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of Exmoor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmoor House
Ranked #2 of 9 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked this at the last minute for my birthday. We wanted to go somewhere not too far away, but somewhere a little bit different for us. We love the Exmoor/Quantocks area, so staying in Dunster was perfect. We had a lovely friendly welcome, with tea and cakes in the lounge. We stayed in room 3, which was a lovely double room with an extra bed for our teenage son. The room was very quiet, and very clean and comfortable. There was a fridge on the landing with fresh milk and various bottles of squash - the first time we have stayed somewhere that caters for our non tea/coffee drinking son!! This was very much appreciated. The only very minor negative thing I can say is the extra bed was extremely creaky - or maybe our son was particularly wriggly that night - but we were grateful we could all be put up in one room and there were too many plusses for that to be much of an issue.

Breakfast was extraordinary! - so much choice and very tasty too.

Although we were only away for one night, we felt as if we had been on a proper holiday and would live to come back.

Incidentally; would recommend Cobblestones in the High Street. We had an excellent evening meal there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhyssmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking time to review us. I was a little surprised to hear about the creaky put up bed as it is relatively new, but having checked it over it would appear one of the support springs had worked loose. This has been rectified and it creaks no more! Thank you for bringing this to our atention so that the matter could be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

This B & B is fantastic, on arrival Steve and Sheila have tea and cakes ready and waiting for you. The rooms are spotless and and decor lovely, we even had a bath (very rare in B &B's). I have never seen such a spread at breakfast seven types of jam and marmalade, as well as fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals the cooked Exmoor breakfast was delicious.
Exmoor House is a must if you are visiting Somerset, don't bother looking elsewhere, its just perfect.

Room Tip: We had room 6 a twin at rear of house, so very quite, we also had a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean_lutwyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

You are very kind in your praise and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have just returned from a lovely short stay at Exmoor House, Dunster. Accommodation was of a high standard being spotlessly clean and with a lovely comfortable bed and pillows. There were lots of little extras, for example a fridge on the landing with fresh milk for tea and coffee and a wide selection of squashes,

Breakfast was very nice with choices of full or half breakfasts, a selection of cereals, fruit salad and choice of yogurts, and grapefruit and prunes. There was an impressive selection of jams, honey and marmalade. A different one for every day of the week! What I particularly liked was the absence of butter and jam sachets, which seem to be prevalent everywhere you go. Butter served in small dishes along with small dishes to dispense your choice of jam into.

Exmoor House is in close proximity to the castle and to the village centre, and there is a wealth of footpaths and bridleways all within a short distance. Dunster is an interesting, historic village and is worth exploring away from the quaint high street.

A lovely place to stay, in this interesting part of Somerset.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathsboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Appreciate your comments about the little extra's. We like to think it is these that 'make the difference' and we are pleased you agree. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As a last minute weekend getaway we booked Exmoor House. Although we arrived a little later than planned Steve and Sheila warmly greeted us with tea/coffee and cake (so welcome after an arduous journey down). Everything was of the highest standard and the ceiling fan in the bedroom was a god-send during the recent heat wave!! Every little detail had been thought of from fresh milk and fruit squashes being available in the bedrooms to the toiletries in the bathroom. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. I could write more but I would only be repeating what everyone else has said before. This is the very best of B&Bs and more so.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Your comments are very much appreciated thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and I have just spent 2 nights at The Exmoor House and it was excellent in every respect. Steve and Sheila were brilliant host and hostess. The room had everything we required with all drink making facilities and was exceptionally clean and comfortable. breakfast was superb and covered most tastes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcshipway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Steve and Shiela gave us a fantastic stay. The room was excellent, the food gorgeous and as we had to get up very early, they made sure we had a proper breakfast before we went. I cannot praise the Exmoor house enough. If you want to stay in Exmoor, then you must stay here.

Room Tip: As they are all good you will not need a tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to review us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at Exmoor HOuse for two nights in a party of 8 people across 3 generations.
The quality, decor and cleanliness was outstanding and the hosts (Steve and Sarah) were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful with Tea and Cake when we arrived (in fact there was always cake in the guest lounge!) to holding on to our bags after we had checked out.

We were in Room 3 (Superior Twin/Kingsize room) which was a good size, faced the back of the property and had a very comfy and large bed!

A special mention for Steve who got up and served breakfast to us at 4.30 as one of our group was taking park in the Wimbleball IronMan 70.3 UK competition.

You can park on both side of the street (opposite side all day) and immediately outside from 6pm to 9am. The castle carpark can also be used.

It was the first time we had visited the area and its a lovely location. The B&B and Steve and Sarah, really helped to make it a great weekend.

Room Tip: Room 3 is large and faces the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. The early breakfast was a bit of a shock to the system but we aim to meet guest needs as best as we can. Unlike yourself I was at least able to get a mid morning nap to recover!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
0.0 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#4 of 9 in Dunster
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor House

Address: 12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: £74 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in our Grade 11 listed Georgian house dating from 1725. Although classified as Guest Accommodation Exmoor House has the look and feel of a country hotel. Relax in one of our six en-suite bedrooms. You have the choice of doubles, twins or kingsize beds or spend the night in our luxury 4-poster bedroom. WiFi available. Local free range/organic produce used in our Full Exmoor Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Exmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor House Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing