We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Night stay at Exmoor House”
Review of Exmoor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmoor House
Ranked #3 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“4 Night stay at Exmoor House”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for a 4 night break in August and found Exmoor House to be an excellent place to stay. From arrival - to be met with afternoon tea - to our leaving we were made to feel special. The room (No 3) was very clean and contained all the little extras that one needs, shower cap, shampoo, conditioner etc; the room was well stocked with tea, coffee, drinking chocolate and even a bottle of water. on the landing was a fridge with complementary milk and soft drinks of all kinds (with cold water in the fridge). The bed was very comfortable and large. Breakfast - either small or large was well presented and ample (cooked to order - not 'kept warm!' as some do ) The breakfast menu gave a good choice for all tastes. All the usual extras were laid out so you could help yourself.to whatever. Exmoor House is kept very clean and is a credit to the owners Steve and Sheila. We will stay there again if we are that way.
Anne & Dennis Ellis

Room Tip: The back room is quiet at the back and a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DE9539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Glad that you appreciated the 'little extra's' and that you were happy with your stay. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
146
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked this at the last minute for my birthday. We wanted to go somewhere not too far away, but somewhere a little bit different for us. We love the Exmoor/Quantocks area, so staying in Dunster was perfect. We had a lovely friendly welcome, with tea and cakes in the lounge. We stayed in room 3, which was a lovely double room with an extra bed for our teenage son. The room was very quiet, and very clean and comfortable. There was a fridge on the landing with fresh milk and various bottles of squash - the first time we have stayed somewhere that caters for our non tea/coffee drinking son!! This was very much appreciated. The only very minor negative thing I can say is the extra bed was extremely creaky - or maybe our son was particularly wriggly that night - but we were grateful we could all be put up in one room and there were too many plusses for that to be much of an issue.

Breakfast was extraordinary! - so much choice and very tasty too.

Although we were only away for one night, we felt as if we had been on a proper holiday and would live to come back.

Incidentally; would recommend Cobblestones in the High Street. We had an excellent evening meal there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhyssmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking time to review us. I was a little surprised to hear about the creaky put up bed as it is relatively new, but having checked it over it would appear one of the support springs had worked loose. This has been rectified and it creaks no more! Thank you for bringing this to our atention so that the matter could be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This B & B is fantastic, on arrival Steve and Sheila have tea and cakes ready and waiting for you. The rooms are spotless and and decor lovely, we even had a bath (very rare in B &B's). I have never seen such a spread at breakfast seven types of jam and marmalade, as well as fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals the cooked Exmoor breakfast was delicious.
Exmoor House is a must if you are visiting Somerset, don't bother looking elsewhere, its just perfect.

Room Tip: We had room 6 a twin at rear of house, so very quite, we also had a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_lutwyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
You are very kind in your praise and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have just returned from a lovely short stay at Exmoor House, Dunster. Accommodation was of a high standard being spotlessly clean and with a lovely comfortable bed and pillows. There were lots of little extras, for example a fridge on the landing with fresh milk for tea and coffee and a wide selection of squashes,

Breakfast was very nice with choices of full or half breakfasts, a selection of cereals, fruit salad and choice of yogurts, and grapefruit and prunes. There was an impressive selection of jams, honey and marmalade. A different one for every day of the week! What I particularly liked was the absence of butter and jam sachets, which seem to be prevalent everywhere you go. Butter served in small dishes along with small dishes to dispense your choice of jam into.

Exmoor House is in close proximity to the castle and to the village centre, and there is a wealth of footpaths and bridleways all within a short distance. Dunster is an interesting, historic village and is worth exploring away from the quaint high street.

A lovely place to stay, in this interesting part of Somerset.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathsboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Appreciate your comments about the little extra's. We like to think it is these that 'make the difference' and we are pleased you agree. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As a last minute weekend getaway we booked Exmoor House. Although we arrived a little later than planned Steve and Sheila warmly greeted us with tea/coffee and cake (so welcome after an arduous journey down). Everything was of the highest standard and the ceiling fan in the bedroom was a god-send during the recent heat wave!! Every little detail had been thought of from fresh milk and fruit squashes being available in the bedrooms to the toiletries in the bathroom. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. I could write more but I would only be repeating what everyone else has said before. This is the very best of B&Bs and more so.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and I have just spent 2 nights at The Exmoor House and it was excellent in every respect. Steve and Sheila were brilliant host and hostess. The room had everything we required with all drink making facilities and was exceptionally clean and comfortable. breakfast was superb and covered most tastes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcshipway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport on Severn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Steve and Shiela gave us a fantastic stay. The room was excellent, the food gorgeous and as we had to get up very early, they made sure we had a proper breakfast before we went. I cannot praise the Exmoor house enough. If you want to stay in Exmoor, then you must stay here.

Room Tip: As they are all good you will not need a tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunster
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#4 of 11 in Dunster
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor House

Property: Exmoor House
Address: 12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in our Grade 11 listed Georgian house dating from 1725. Although classified as Guest Accommodation Exmoor House has the look and feel of a country hotel. Relax in one of our six en-suite bedrooms. You have the choice of doubles, twins or kingsize beds or spend the night in our luxury 4-poster bedroom. WiFi available. Local free range/organic produce used in our Full Exmoor Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Exmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor House Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing