We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend in October” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exmoor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmoor House
Ranked #2 of 13 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in October”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Like other reviews, we had a wonderful welcome with tea, coffee and homemade cakes [ the flapjack is superb ]. Our room was spotless, breakfast great, proper poached eggs and exmoor sauages very, very tasty. Wish we had none about the cold platter with optional chips we would taken that offer up as well. All together a marvellous guest house, we hope Steve [the chef] and Sheila carry on the good work we will be back!!! Oh and the bed was so comfortable didn't want to get up!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
You are very kind. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
133
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked this accommodation after reading other reviews and were not let down at all.
I know its all been said so I will be brief
Sheila and Steve could not do enough for us. We were met on arrival with coffee and cakes very welcome after our journey
The breakfast was fantastic with so much choice and great quality
Also they booked a restaurant for us which was kind of them and always asked if you had a good day, night out or good sleep so were very attentive at all times
Thank you for our very pleasant stay with you

Room Tip: all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We always try to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible, and we are very grateful that you took the time to review us. Your comments are very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We intended to stay one night, and ended up staying for two. The main reason amongst others was the warm welcome given by the owners. Dunster is a beautiful mediaeval town, and this accommodation fits the surroundings so well. The building is charming and very comfortable with all that is needed to make the stay a delight. Breakfast was delicious. A good start to a week touring Somerset and Devon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We were pleased that you stayed the extra night and flattered that it was because of us. Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

It started with a tea and cake welcome, and didn't disappoint from there.

The room was lovely with really comfortable beds/duvet, cracking breakfast which set up us MTBers for the day. You had a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and the hot options of full/half Exmoor with tasty bacon, egg and sausage etc or healthier(!) stuffed french toast.

Our stay was not booked directly but was part of a Skedaddle holiday and this hotel met the levels you expect from Skedaddle. This included access to shower at the end of the day's biking on the last day - much appreciated!

Bike storage was at the back of the hotel and despite being inconvenient, it did not trouble Steve to bring them through to use each morning.

They could not do more for you at the Exmoor House.

Room Tip: 3(twin) faces the back of the hotel and is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Always a pleasure to welcome cyclists, and we are pleased you appreciated our efforts. Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed overnight this week at very short notice. We had the most fabulous four poster room which was fitted out very stylishly. Steve and Sheila are very friendly and great hosts, met us with afternoon tea and could not do enough for us. Exmoor House also does the most amazing breakfast, all freshly made. The location is ideal for all of Dunsters pubs and restaurants and great walks. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
It was very nice to meet you and we appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here this weekend and it is just wonderful. Very relaxing place and very friendly owners. Breakfast is 5 star!! Especially the fresh croissants!! Room was comfortable and clean. Can't fault this B&B. Would recommend again and again. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast! Stayed there overnight recently: Wonderful value for money. Lovely hotel, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast!

Room Tip: Very handy for the famous castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Appreciate your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor House

Property: Exmoor House
Address: 12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in our Grade 11 listed Georgian house dating from 1725. Although classified as Guest Accommodation Exmoor House has the look and feel of a country hotel. Relax in one of our six en-suite bedrooms. You have the choice of doubles, twins or kingsize beds or spend the night in our luxury 4-poster bedroom. WiFi available. Local free range/organic produce used in our Full Exmoor Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Exmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor House Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing