We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy and friendly”
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #5 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Notts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comfy and friendly”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Spears Cross is situated very close to the centre of Dunster in the shadow of the castle. The building was built in 1460 and thankfully the bed and bathroom is of modern high standards. Excellent breakfast. Cliff and Tricia are excellent hosts.
Parking is tight at the back of Spears Cross and may involve a bit of shunting if the place is fully booked which is the only if very much minor down side. Even though it's on the main raod through the village, I couldn't really hear much road noise or of the church bells chiming
Would I stop there again? DEFINITELY and looking forward to going back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trammanNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I have never felt the urge to write a review on a hotel before, but after my stay at Spears Cross I felt that I had to. The hotel is situated in the beautiful village of Dunster and the building itself is gorgeous -over 500 years old. The attention to detail is fantastic - they really have thought of anything and the beds are the most comfortable you will ever sleep on - quite literally! The hosts are wonderful - attentive and clearly have a passion for what they do and want Spears Cross to be the very best it can be. I would certainly recommend it and hoep I can return soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Spears Cross is such a lovely relaxed break - this was our 2nd stay and we will defo be back again. Beautiful village and walks, lovely little shops to mull around in, fantastic hosts, great food. The sleep quality should really be more than the allocated number of stars as the beds are amazing - maybe 7 hours sleep @ spears cross = 9 hours sleep in the real world. We head down from London and its worth the drive! And if you like indian food try Alcombe Tandori while you are there!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed at Spears Cross Inn for several nights in September 2010. We hated to leave and wish we were back there; it was so wonderful. Cliff and Tricia are attentive, kind, delightful, caring hosts, ready to be helpful as needed. The Inn itself is sparkling clean, extremely comfortable and nicely decorated in keeping with its character and history. The breakfasts are delicious with local food items. The central location of the Inn is perfect. Another plus is that parking is available at the Inn.The whole experience was definitely 5 star for my husband and myself.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinnia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Located in the heart of the beautiful village of Dunster. Great welcome of tea and cake. The rooms are immaculate and very tastefully decorated with superb beds!! Slept like a log. All mod cons are provided including Bose stereos and Panasonic flat screen T.V 's. Breakfast was incredible, all locally sourced with porridge that has to be the best in the world. Will definately be going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyMarky62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We loved this place. The owners bent over backwards to ensure it was'home from home'. The rooms were spotlessly clean and full of period charm.Breakfasts were superb, with locally sourced ingredients. The only problem for my husband was a little bit of traffic noise (but he is a very light sleeper ....I never heard a thing!). I was particularly impressed with the fresh milk which was delivered to your room each day and was a vast improvement on the usual UHT (ugh!) versions which are the norm in most places.No evening meal is served here though, which is a shame as I'm sure it would be delicious.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catkin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

A welcome when you arrive and then a genuine welcome as you return each day. Great attention to detail and nothing is too much trouble for Cliff and Tricia. The cuisine and the rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#3 of 11 in Dunster
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunster
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Property: Spears Cross
Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing