We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve and Julia's long weekend [4 day] break at the lovely Spears Cross Dunster”
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #5 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Steve and Julia's long weekend [4 day] break at the lovely Spears Cross Dunster”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We cannot speak highly enough of the hospitality shown to us by Cliff and Trish. The rooms are really well decorated and furnished with en-suite bathrooms. We stayed in the annex suite to the rear of the property which was fabulous. The decanter of massala wine left with chocolates, after your bed has been turned down, is a really thoughtful touch.

Dunster itself is a lovely place to visit, and Exmoor is a great place to explore on foot or by bike. Cliff is happy to recomend a number of local eateries, all of which are also excellent. All specialise in using local produce when possible.

The breakfasts at the Spears are becoming something of a legend, and justifyably so. The standard of produce is fantastic, and all cooked to perfection. The traditional English breakfast is more than enough to set you up for the day. All locally sourced food. I also really enjoyed the smoked haddock with poached eggs, whilst my wife had the smoked trout. Again, both fabulous.

With a good selection of wines and whiskeys if you desire in the evening, or fresh coffee and tea on tap accompanied by fresh baked cakes, your warm welcome is assured.

We will be back.

Room Tip: The annex is worth the extra money. Its like having an appartment/flat to yourself, with its own sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Right next to Dunster Castle, epic breakfasts with the best quality local ingredients (the black pudding was to die for), top notch rooms and a decanter of marsala to go to bed with. We could not have wished for a better place to stay exploring Exmoor, Linton, etc, and could not have been better looked after.

Room Tip: Hope you like church bells ! The Selworthy Suite faces the church - if you leave the windows open yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sodworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Have recently returned from a short break at Spears Cross Hotel in the village of Dunster.
Cliff & Trish are excellent hosts,we were greeted with a pot of tea and delicious homemade cake which went down well after a long journey. The hotel throughout was spotless our bedrooms very comfortable a nice touch was having our beds " turned down" each night on our return. The breakfast was superb. Cliff was very helpful when we were deciding what to see & do locally. If you are reading this & thinking of Dunster as a place to go or as a stopover look no further than Spears Cross, we will definitely return sometime in the future

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at Spears Cross Hotel. Excellent from start to finish, from the warm welcome complete with afternoon tea and cake, to the fabulous breakfast each morning. Dunster village is very quaint/if not sleepy at times, but there are several pub/hotels/restaurants offering good food. The West Somerset Railway is near by and Dunster Castle is almost next door to the Hotel with the Quantock Hills also within spitting distance. Many places are also dog friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The most difficult part of writing this review of our stay at Spears Cross was finding anything original to say after reading some of the other reviews for this establishment - it really has all been said before.
So I will simply suggest that if you wish to try something slightly different, something which goes beyond the run-of-the-mill, and wish to treat yourself 'just because you deserve it', try Spears Cross - you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Cliff and Trish, we really appreciated your hospitality.

Room Tip: The older part of the hotel faces the street. Expect creaky floorboards but great atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Spears Cross last October at the end of a European holiday. We took a bit of a punt on Dunster and Spears Cross based on TA reviews.

Couldn't have been happier with our stay. Cliff and Trish were terrific hosts and the accommodation was comfortable and well located as well as historic.

Undoubtedly though, Cliffs helpfulness and hospitality were memorable. To be offerred a pint soon after our long drive was a winner and the recommendations for restaurants etc were good. The Spears Cross' award winning breakfasts were well deserved and just that little bit different. Cliff also spoiled us with a little after dinner tipple on our return which was beautiful. My wife had a taste of his cider!!

Also loved to talk wine with Cliff who obviously knows his stuff.

A great little spot in a beautiful part of England.

Room Tip: Our room was a larger room at the back not as historic as the front rooms but good. If you are keene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, County Down
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Spears Cross has the unique feeling of being a home from home. Set in the most idyllic surroundings at the foot of the castle this B&B has authenticity, heart and a soul delicately complemented with all the modern luxury you could wish for.

On first stepping into the B&B if the buildings character doesn't fill you with a warm glow of comfort inside then the owners certainly will. There is only one other person as attentive as this husband & wife duo.... your mum!

Not being your typical guests we book in at Spears Cross each year while competing in the Ironman UK 70.3 triathlon at the nearby Wimbleball lake. With an early night before race day, Spears cross is quiet and warm. On race morning Cliff & Tricia were there with porridge and coffee at the ready to ensure full belly’s for the grueling race ahead and when its all over there’s a comfy lounge to relax and the offer of local ales, fine wines or luxury teas. Cliff & Tricia really do go the extra mile.

As for location…. Leave your mobile at home, walk the picturesque cobble streets and delight in little boutique shops local made produce and some fab restaurants.

We can never wait to get get back and the fact that our stay in 2013 has already been booked says it all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMcD_703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#3 of 11 in Dunster
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunster
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Property: Spears Cross
Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing