We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B&B!”
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #4 of 10 Dunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spearscross B&B is the idillic pace to stay, set in amongst the beautiful surroundings of medieval village, Dunster. Cliff & Tricia are the most friendly and welcoming couple we have ever come across, and couldn't have gone to more effort in making our stay perfect. We decided to descend upon them taking over the whole place for our wedding recently, and they went above and beyond the usual call of duty to accommodate us and our closest guests. The food was sublime, the wine and drinks amongst the best we've had, and the rooms could not have been more comfortable. None of us wanted to leave! They contributed enormously to what was the perfect wedding. We will be back as often as possible, and cannot recommend them highly enough. Thank you both so much. Ben & Dannii x

Room Tip: Having seen all the rooms and friends experiencing them first hand, we can say all of them are just...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Spears Cross
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nothing on a website can do justice to the beautifully restored, immaculately maintained 15th century building that houses Spears Cross. It is truly amazing; and even moreso, Cliff and Tricia, whose attention to every luxurious detail was (as we say at Delta Airlines) "legendary" .
From the moment we arrived hot and tired and were offered a refreshing glass of beer, until our last cooked to order breakfast served on white linen with an additional side of Cliff's witty banter and specific driving instructions back to Heathrow to avoid the Glastonbury traffic...we were taken care of, as if by cherished friends. Thank you for a truly memorable stay. I will certainly recommend Exmoor, Dunster, and especially Spears Cross to my airline friends and others who are looking for an unparalleled travel experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is The Perfect B&B Guest House. My wife and I agree with all of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. There is no more to be said. Spears Cross is simply a special destination, Tricia and Cliff spared no effort to make our brief stay perfect. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamLimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights recently at Spears Cross. When we arrived we were treated to tea, beer and cake in the garden whilst our bags were taken to our room. We stayed in the Allerford Room which was a fabulous combination of 15th century wall panels and floor boards and spotlessly modern en-suite. We loved the little touches in the room, the fruit and biscuits and decanter of Masala wine along with the tea and coffee and the chocolates before bed. Attention to detail was everywhere down to the sparkling chrome bathroom surfaces (I've now been shamed into buying some kitchen/bathroom cleaners that will make my taps sparkle too)! Cliff was really helpful with travel advice and booking resturants for us. Having space to park our car was a real bonus as parking is very limited in Dunster. Dunster itself is an absolute delight - we'd never heard of it until 2 days before booking the room, a real gem. Wonderful to see no sign of Primark, M&S, Next, W.H.Smiths etc.Thoroughly recommended and a shame we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Highly recommend Spears Cross. Received a warm welcome from Tricia and Cliff; very hospitable, nothing was too much trouble for them. Tricia cooked a wonderful breakfast of fresh produce provided by local suppliers. This is a homely comfortable B&B with lots of quality extras - toiletries, thick cosy white towels, fresh crisp bedlinen, tea/coffee and cake after a day out, etc. Spears Cross is a lovely home that they share with their guests and set in Dunster which is the ideal location for walking, relaxing and sight seeing. We look forward to returning and thank our friends for introducing us to Tricia, Cliff and Spears Cross.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a wonderful place! We stayed at Spears Cross for just 3 nights but wish it had been longer. We have never had such superb, pleasant hosts as Cliff and Tricia. They really did make us feel very welcome and special, Nothing was too much trouble for them, from booking a table at local restaurants to running us to the cash machine in Minehead! We stayed in the Porlock Room - absolutely beautiful, clean and comfortable. A fantastic bed with lovely top quality linens; very good storage, bathrobes and White Linen toiletries. As for breakfast, what can we say? Delicious food throughout and all locally produced. And I would just say to Cliff, many thanks for my jar of Dunster honey - it is superb. We can't really say anymore about Spears Cross other than - can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choosypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Dunster staying at Spear's Cross. We were made most welcome there and the house was beautiful. I loved the mixture of the old beams with the modern facilities. The rooms were very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. I particularly enjoyed the small touches such as the chocolates and fresh milk to go with the tea and coffee and the breakfasts were delicious.
We were impressed that it was so close to the Castle and that Dunster is such a pretty and friendly place.
The sun also contributed to the success of the weekend by shining all the time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmm10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 10 in Dunster
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#5 of 10 in Dunster
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#3 of 10 in Dunster
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing