We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, elegance, good service & really nice people”
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #5 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Charm, elegance, good service & really nice people”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Cliff & Tricia could not have been better hosts, welcoming us into their beautiful & really interesting beautifully renovated historic home. Nothing was too much trouble, even down to booking us a last minute meal at a local restaurant when we arrived late. They were incredibly understanding, and gracious. Breakfast was an absolute treat, & we recommend trying their home baked break, & home made jams. This was a birthday treat, and I would not hesitate to go again, and recommend Spears Cross to friends and family. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had a really lovely time staying in this charming property. We were looked after so well by Cliff and felt very settled. Would highly recommend to anyone. The room was fantastic, breakfast perfect and the overall feel of the place was lovely. One of the best hotels/B&B's I have ever stayed in. I will definitely return one day!

Room Tip: Selworthy room was excellent and very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerrie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A beautiful building in a lovely setting, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Spears Cross. We stayed in the Exford room, which was very cosy and situated in the oldest part of the building and so had lots of character. The en-suite shower room was immaculately clean, and the shower itself was nice and powerful and stayed at a constant temperature (something of a rarity in a lot of places we've stayed!).
One of the selling points of this b'n'b has to be the breakfast, made from locally sourced ingredients. It certainly set us up for the day - we rarely bothered with lunch! Breakfast options included porridge (made from oats from the local water mill), smoked haddock, and of course the classic full english. There is also a homemade fruit toast with locally made butter and preserves which is absolutely delicious and not to be missed!
The hosts, Cliff and Tricia, are so welcoming and helpful. We would come back from a long walk to be greeted by them and offered a much appreciated cup of tea! We rarely used the tea making facilities in our room as tea and coffee is available on request which can be enjoyed in the cosy guest living room.
We would recommend Spears Cross to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_and_Thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome by our hosts who went the extra mile (fresh coffee and cake after a long journey) to ensure we had a relaxing break. Breakfast was a treat; local produce lovingly prepared to order and served in the charming breakfast room. Cliff booked our table reservation at the local Stags Head pub (just across the road) which was also a delight (as was Hathaways Restaurant next door!). We stayed in the Allerford room which although facing the road was very quiet and comfy, luxury towels and bed linen with lovely special touches such as a couple of chocolates waiting for our return in the afternoon. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0123Chris0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this truly excellent property.
Cliff & Tricia couldn't have been more welcoming on our arrival, with prompt tea & cakes on offer, followed a little later by a glass of wine and a last minute table reservation at the pub across the road.
Our room was lovely, with its huge comfy bed, bathrobes, fluffy towels, quality toiletries, a wide selection of teas, coffee & bottled water. You really couldn't want for anything.
Breakfast..... well where do I start? An extensive menu, excellent ingredients freshly cooked and available until 10.00am in a comfortable dining room. It fed us until dinner time,
Cliff was more than helpful with guidance on where to go and what to see.
Clearly a very popular place to stay and some of the other guests were regulars, which is the best recommendation of all.

Room Tip: The Selworthy suite is the most spacious room and is in a rear annexe, so is also the quietest. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spearscross B&B is the idillic pace to stay, set in amongst the beautiful surroundings of medieval village, Dunster. Cliff & Tricia are the most friendly and welcoming couple we have ever come across, and couldn't have gone to more effort in making our stay perfect. We decided to descend upon them taking over the whole place for our wedding recently, and they went above and beyond the usual call of duty to accommodate us and our closest guests. The food was sublime, the wine and drinks amongst the best we've had, and the rooms could not have been more comfortable. None of us wanted to leave! They contributed enormously to what was the perfect wedding. We will be back as often as possible, and cannot recommend them highly enough. Thank you both so much. Ben & Dannii x

Room Tip: Having seen all the rooms and friends experiencing them first hand, we can say all of them are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nothing on a website can do justice to the beautifully restored, immaculately maintained 15th century building that houses Spears Cross. It is truly amazing; and even moreso, Cliff and Tricia, whose attention to every luxurious detail was (as we say at Delta Airlines) "legendary" .
From the moment we arrived hot and tired and were offered a refreshing glass of beer, until our last cooked to order breakfast served on white linen with an additional side of Cliff's witty banter and specific driving instructions back to Heathrow to avoid the Glastonbury traffic...we were taken care of, as if by cherished friends. Thank you for a truly memorable stay. I will certainly recommend Exmoor, Dunster, and especially Spears Cross to my airline friends and others who are looking for an unparalleled travel experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
269 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#3 of 11 in Dunster
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Property: Spears Cross
Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing