We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't know B&B can be as good as this!!”
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #4 of 10 Dunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2010

A stay at Spears Cross B&B is a unique experience. Tricia and Cliff's attention to detail provides for a really enjoyable break in a beautiful part of England and nothing is too much trouble for them. They provide much valued local knowledge on what to do and see and where to eat. Highly recommended. Well done.
Pat & Stuart

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartjcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Spears Cross
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2010

We had a very pleasant stay here; not much to fault the owners who seem to work very hard to ensure everyone gets a high level of service. We stayed for 3 nights in the selworthy room which is set outside the main house and therefore perhaps more private than the other rooms (and very quiet). It has 2 separate floors with a pleasant seating area. We had bought some local cheese at some point and bought a bottle of red wine from the hotel; price was not discussed until I checked out but it turned out to be extremely reasonable, which says something about the pleasant service. They also supplied us with maps for walking etc.

Dunster itself is a nice quiet village (but supposedly gets crowded in high season), 3.5 hrs from London if you are lucky, and a good base to explore the area from. It has a couple of ok to very good restaurants (we would recommend Hathaways).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

My wife and I have spent a number of stays in the local area, some friends near by own a B&B on a farm which we have stayed at in the past. We have also stayed at the Luttrel Arms which was in comparison quite expensive and a bit disappointing.

Cliff and Tricia offer outstanding accommodation with exceptional locally sourced food and warm friendly atmosphere making you feel lucky to have stayed in such a lovely place.

We stayed new years eve and the 1st of Jan in the Porlock room which is the size of suite in many of the hotels I have visited. We were welcomed with a decanter of cherry and two glasses in our room which was well equipped with everything you could need including freshly ground coffee, flat screen TV and DVD, a Bose sound system and a decent sized bath with robes.

In the evening we returned to find some local chocolate fudge on or bedside tables and our bed turned down. Both mornings we were spoilt for choice at breakfast time with locally sourced products such as thick tasty bacon, locally baked fresh bread, fresh rich eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes all simply delicious.

I could not recommend this B&B enough to anyone looking to stay in the area. We had a peak in the other rooms during our stay and would happily stay in any of them and the price is ridiculously low for the quality and service you get with your stay.

AAA+

Simon & Chloe, Kingston upon Thames.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetsettingSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We have just returned from a stay at the Spears Cross as part of a wedding party and had the room booked on our behalf. It was therefore a really pleasant surprise to find this amazing place tucked away in sleepy Dunster. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and so comfortable. A mixture of excellent hotel standards and old world charm. Having had a fantastic nights sleep the most amazing breakfast awaited us. I will definitely go back for a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Stayed in the room out the back of the actual building - A sitting room, LCD TV, music system, then up a small flight of stairs to a huge double bed and a bathroom that was so clean it looked like it was installed yesterday. Went out for the evening, came back and light had been turned on, my bed was turned down and chocolates on the bedside cabinet . Fantastic - A great cooked breakfast all with Organic and Local ( where possible ) produce. You can actually read on the breakfast menu where your breakfast came from ( farms, shops etc ) - Ok - So How much for this Gem in the beautiful village of dunster ? £52... per night !!! I could not believe it. my luck.. DO NOT stay anywhere else. This is a great place with superb attention to detail and owners that make you feel at home the moment you arrive.I travel alot and like to be quite critical of Hotels and B&Bs, but can't fault this one.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertsAndyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Dunster is a gorgeous village and Spears Cross is a delight! We stayed in The Porlock Room, which was absolutely beautiful, like stepping back in time! I loved the wood panelled wall and the door especially... The bathroom was modern but beautiful too, and probably the cleanest bathroom I've ever seen!! Everything was provided in the room, from fluffy white robes to fresh coffee, biscuits, bottled water and fresh fruit. We even had a flask of fresh milk left outside our door each morning...a lovely touch! Breakfast was outstanding, as was the attention of the hosts, Cliff and Tricia.
Quite possibly the best B&B I've ever stayed in...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We booked this place on the back of the previous reviews and were not disappointed - the attention to detail at Spears is just first class. A loverly old building with bags of character and two of the hardest working proprietors i have seen ! We had the suite at the back of the hotel which was very confortable and spacious - everything oozes quality and special mention to the breakfasts - all locally sourced and all the better for it . Dunster is a beautiful old village sat in the shadow of a castle. The place has a couple of really good restaurants( we went to Reeves ) and two excellent pubs - the stag and the luttrell. All in all very relaxing

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalbertonMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 10 in Dunster
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#5 of 10 in Dunster
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#3 of 10 in Dunster
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing