We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply, perfection!”
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #5 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite simply, perfection!”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stay in lots of hotels and B&Bs but Spears Cross has to be the best we have ever stayed in. The location is perfect, our room was generous and comfortable. We had the Selworthy room as we wanted a seperate sitting room and it was wonderful. It is a modern room whereas all the others are traditional but we still experienced the traditional surroundings when we had breakfast or sat in the main living room. The breakfasts are marvellous and in the 5 days we were there we did not need lunch. Cliff and Tricia made us feel as though we were friends who had come to stay and they could not do enough for us.
We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Stayed 2 nights last weekend, the owners were magnificent hosts, don't find many places where "mine host" invites you to free wine tastings. The breakfasts were absolutely the best you could get - anything you wanted you got. We'll be back for sure as we're only about 90 mins away and this is a truly fabulous getaway staycation location.
Tips - good restaurants nearby Reeves is top class, Hathaways very reasonable just across the street and there's a superb restaurant in Lynmouth - about 35 mins away - called Le Bistro.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny60gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Booked the last room here based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. We wanted somewhere comfortable with a bit of pampering before first baby arriving - so super comfy kingsize beds were perfect, as was tea and cake on arrival and extremely locally sourced breakfast the following day. Rooms at the front were quite noisy from the road though if you wanted the window open. As other reviewers have said, Cliff and Tricia go to a lot of trouble sourcing locally, being helpful but not intrusive, providing beautifully cleaned and equipped rooms - the tea and coffee box was fantastic! They provide a very full guide to Dunster and their own ethics in the room guide - including some rather blunt and quirky reviews of local businesses / restaurants - an honest opinion but I was intrigued to find out what was so bad about the 'not nice people'!! Overall, a lovely and original place to stay!

On a separate note - they will offer to reserve tables at nearby restaurants - take them up on this and as we found places were very busy. The Stag's Head Inn opposite the B & B was extremely friendly and good food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peaweasel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I stayed here the night before my wedding last year and it was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean, comfortable and cosy and the breakfast was delicious.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at Spears Cross. I wanted to explore Dunster and visit Minehead but also relax after a busy time at work. Spears Cross allowed me to do all of that. Cliff and Tricia were very friendly and helpful, suggesting places to eat and showing me a route to walk to Minehead which avoided the main roads.

The hotel itself was very comfortable. I didn't have the single occupancy room I had been expecting but was instead given a two level suite with sitting room downstairs, bedroom and bathroom above. Facilities in the room were excellent, including a fridge, CD and DVD players. Fresh milk was provided for teas and coffee which is so much nicer than the little pots, or powdered milk, usually provided in hotels. I also had a choice of instant coffee or 'real' coffee with a caffettiere to make it in. Cliff offered a selection of wines at reasonable prices. I had a bottle while I was there and bought some to take home.

The breakfasts were wonderful, using mainly locally sourced produce and possibly the best bacon I've ever tasted. There is also a good selection of museli's, preserves and fruit juice.

The hotel make a real effort to be as green as possible. The bathroom has the usual notice about only changing the towels if you leave them in the bath, what was unusual is that the staff took note of the notice!

Overall this was a perfect place to relax and spend a couple of days eating good food, enjoying beautiful scenery and browsing in craft shops.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Cliff and Tricia are experts at the job of seamlessly making your break with them truly relaxing and unforgetable. Dunster is a beautiful setting and the local area is a mecca for walkers. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2010

A stay at Spears Cross B&B is a unique experience. Tricia and Cliff's attention to detail provides for a really enjoyable break in a beautiful part of England and nothing is too much trouble for them. They provide much valued local knowledge on what to do and see and where to eat. Highly recommended. Well done.
Pat & Stuart

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartjcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#3 of 11 in Dunster
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunster
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Property: Spears Cross
Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing