We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #5 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

A welcome when you arrive and then a genuine welcome as you return each day. Great attention to detail and nothing is too much trouble for Cliff and Tricia. The cuisine and the rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Only problem was we only stayed one night! At the end of our walking holiday what a pleasure it was to stay here. Thoroughly recommend it and would love to go back at some point.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights during August. We booked at the last minute and got one of the larger rooms with a sitting area downstairs and a bedroom upstairs. The room and location were great but what really made the stay were the little extra touches and the hospitality of Cliff. He always made sure we had enough tea!! And the breakfast was just wonderful, probably one of the best I have ever had. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to explore Exmoor and I can't wait to go back myself!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeleeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stay in lots of hotels and B&Bs but Spears Cross has to be the best we have ever stayed in. The location is perfect, our room was generous and comfortable. We had the Selworthy room as we wanted a seperate sitting room and it was wonderful. It is a modern room whereas all the others are traditional but we still experienced the traditional surroundings when we had breakfast or sat in the main living room. The breakfasts are marvellous and in the 5 days we were there we did not need lunch. Cliff and Tricia made us feel as though we were friends who had come to stay and they could not do enough for us.
We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Stayed 2 nights last weekend, the owners were magnificent hosts, don't find many places where "mine host" invites you to free wine tastings. The breakfasts were absolutely the best you could get - anything you wanted you got. We'll be back for sure as we're only about 90 mins away and this is a truly fabulous getaway staycation location.
Tips - good restaurants nearby Reeves is top class, Hathaways very reasonable just across the street and there's a superb restaurant in Lynmouth - about 35 mins away - called Le Bistro.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny60gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Booked the last room here based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. We wanted somewhere comfortable with a bit of pampering before first baby arriving - so super comfy kingsize beds were perfect, as was tea and cake on arrival and extremely locally sourced breakfast the following day. Rooms at the front were quite noisy from the road though if you wanted the window open. As other reviewers have said, Cliff and Tricia go to a lot of trouble sourcing locally, being helpful but not intrusive, providing beautifully cleaned and equipped rooms - the tea and coffee box was fantastic! They provide a very full guide to Dunster and their own ethics in the room guide - including some rather blunt and quirky reviews of local businesses / restaurants - an honest opinion but I was intrigued to find out what was so bad about the 'not nice people'!! Overall, a lovely and original place to stay!

On a separate note - they will offer to reserve tables at nearby restaurants - take them up on this and as we found places were very busy. The Stag's Head Inn opposite the B & B was extremely friendly and good food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peaweasel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

I stayed here the night before my wedding last year and it was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean, comfortable and cosy and the breakfast was delicious.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 12 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Property: Spears Cross
Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing