We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Millstream Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millstream Cottage
Ranked #1 of 10 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Millstream Cottage and would like to say that all the previous reviews were correct. It was spotless and the breakfasts were wonderful. Sue and Charles are super hosts and so helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was small but lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynejo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Millstream Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We met up with our friends for three nights at Millstream Cottage last week The service we received from Sue & Charles was excellent with nothing being too much trouble We were able to enjoy a pre & post dinner drink in the lounge as we could walk to the local restaurants The rooms were decorated very tastefully, we had the King Sized room, & certainly our bed was very comfortable We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would stay at Millstream Cottage again when we return to Somerset & would recommend it to friends Sue loves her garden & we enjoyed our chats about plants Judith & Phil, Cheshire

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just returned from a short break at Millstream Cottage.What a superb find! Wonderful hosts so welcoming and they couldn't do enough for us. We went with friends and occupied all three rooms. Every room was delightful and the lounge was warm and welcoming.
The breakfasts were first class. Every detail was thought of, even down to bottles of water in our rooms which were renewed every day.We cannot fault a thing! We will certainly return and stay for a longer time. An added bonus, we could walk to a choice of Restaurants for our evening meal.
Jean and Jim, Wiltshire

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Fabulous Bed and Breakfast. Warm welcome from host including chocolate cake! Lovely comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Host even booked us into local pub for evening meal. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmbletonRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Just had a few days here and it couldn't have been better. Firstly the room was comfortable,stylish and spotlessly clean. Great hosts, very friendly. We decided to stay an extra night so experienced 2 different rooms. Whilst the king size was obviously the best both were of a really high standard. Breakfast was delicious and they were baked which was a nice touch.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: King size the best but all excellent
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had spotted Millstream Cottage on a day trip to Dunster last Autumn and could tell it was somewhere special and our recent two night stay more than confirmed this. The cottage and gardens are extremely pretty and welcoming, full of charm and character and spotlessly clean. The location is fabulous enabling one to walk out to restaurants on an evening, to visit the castle and grounds and for exploring Exmoor. Sue and Charles are delightful hosts who made us feel so very welcome from the outset. It felt more like staying with friends than at a B&B. The home baked Apple Cake on arrival was absolutely to die for. We stayed in Room 4 (red room) which is beautifully decorated, as is the whole property. Sue and Charles have a very keen eye for detail and provide the very best, from the fluffy white towels, plentiful supply of toiletries, very generously stocked tea tray with speciality local teas and coffees and home baked biscuits. The breakfast room is perfectly presented, with white table linen and high end crockery and cutlery. Breakfasts are superb, absolutely perfect in every way with a fantastic variety. Produce is all locally sourced and freshly prepared. Sue's homemade preserves are delicious and she even makes her own sausages. There is no end to Sue's talents. Both Sue and Charles are extremely knowledgeable and willing to help with information on walks, suggested days out and local restaurants/cafes. Nothing is too much trouble. We cannot speak highly enough of Millstream Cottage and are sure to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room number 4 at the front of the house overlooking the gardens, but would be happy to...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURTONWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Millstream Cottage was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at. The room we had was beautifully decorated and furnished; the breakfasts were delicious and the host and hostess most friendly and helplful. We would recommend this B&B to our friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 10 in Dunster
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#3 of 10 in Dunster
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Cottage

Address: 2 Mill Lane, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: £75 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millstream Cottage is full of charm and character. Newly renovated, it provides luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation with all the period features you would expect to find in a typical country cottage, such as old beams, pine doors, and large fireplaces complete with roaring log fires in the winter months. The atmosphere at Millstream Cottage is homely and welcoming, with all the rooms decorated in a clean, unfussy country style, with a touch of luxury. Sue's homemade biscuits are a treat in every room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millstream Cottage Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing