We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb b & b”
Review of Millstream Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millstream Cottage
Ranked #1 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb b & b”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the charming Millstream cottage. Terrific welcome from our hosts Charles & Sue. The walk through the beautiful cottage garden is a real tonic to brighten up your day. The accommodation is beautiful inside and done to a high standard. Breakfasts are delicious, big bowls of chopped fresh fruit, must not forget the home made marmalade and jam.
The cottage is set in a delightful village with excellent restaurants within walking distance. We strolled down to the beach of Dunster and visited the castle. We felt this was a good base to explore places such as Linton, Lynmouth and Selworthy. Plenty to do.

This is one of the best b & bs we have stayed in

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanEHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
223
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at Millstream for a wedding nearby. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. Sue and Charles were incredibly welcoming and easy-going. There were freshly baked cookies in our room and every need was catered for including a complimentary toothbrush when one was forgotten! Even a rather particular egg request was granted with a smile. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. We couldn't recommend Millstream more highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEmmed13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our stay at Millstream cottage started beautifully with a welcome and lovely sitting room, home made cake and a moment to recharge. Sue was full of information, our room lovely and breakfast cooked by Charles magnificent. The cottage is perfectly situated to explore the gorgeous village and surrounds and walking was an absolute joy, to the beach and also in the woods and caste area. We highly recommend Millstream Cottage!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NakuruToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

If you want a first class B&B, stay at Millstream Cottage,
If you want to be welcomed with tea and home made cake, stay at Millstream Cottage.
If you want a spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated room, stay at Millstream Cottage.
If you want local walks with tinkling streams and thatched cottages, local Pubs for evening meal,
an excellent breakfast with home made sausages and a lovely lounge to relax in,
Millstream Cottage is the place to stay.

Sue and Charles you are the best.
Thank you for making our third stay so enjoyable with your friendly hospitality, enthusiastic knowledge of the area,
attention to detail and interesting conversation.
It's like meeting up with friends.

Room Tip: The red and blue rooms on the front have a view. The king sized room has a bath. All rooms are spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinegrant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Only stayed one night but from the moment we arrived we felt very welcome by the friendly owners, the cottage is beautiful, as was the room as well as being clean and comfortable. The breakfast was brilliant with plenty to choose from, oh and the homemade cake and biscuits were amazing! Will definitely be returning to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shifty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Millstream Cottage and would like to say that all the previous reviews were correct. It was spotless and the breakfasts were wonderful. Sue and Charles are super hosts and so helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was small but lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynejo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We met up with our friends for three nights at Millstream Cottage last week The service we received from Sue & Charles was excellent with nothing being too much trouble We were able to enjoy a pre & post dinner drink in the lounge as we could walk to the local restaurants The rooms were decorated very tastefully, we had the King Sized room, & certainly our bed was very comfortable We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would stay at Millstream Cottage again when we return to Somerset & would recommend it to friends Sue loves her garden & we enjoyed our chats about plants Judith & Phil, Cheshire

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
192 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunster
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#3 of 11 in Dunster
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#6 of 11 in Dunster
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Cottage

Property: Millstream Cottage
Address: 2 Mill Lane, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millstream Cottage is full of charm and character. Newly renovated, it provides luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation with all the period features you would expect to find in a typical country cottage, such as old beams, pine doors, and large fireplaces complete with roaring log fires in the winter months. The atmosphere at Millstream Cottage is homely and welcoming, with all the rooms decorated in a clean, unfussy country style, with a touch of luxury. Sue's homemade biscuits are a treat in every room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millstream Cottage Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing