We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals trying somewhere new”
Review of Foresters Arms

Foresters Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foresters Arms
Ranked #5 of 9 Dunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Couple of locals on a rare week off together out for lunch.First impressions were not good. We'd tried our usual haunts but due to excellent weather they were packed.Ended up in Dunster so stopped in. Husband checked if they were serving food as board outside says open all day but doesn't say of food available. It was about 1.50pm and landlord said food served til 2.15pm. Later on menu saw it said 2,30pm. Welcome didn't exist and there were only 3 other customers in. We were asked straight away what we wanted with no offer of a menu. I gave my order, landlord turned his back to write it down and called to husband..."and you"!!! We sat down and I said to husband "first impressions we won't be back." Then the food arrived. Husband had cheeseburger and chips, unusual for him. He said it was ok, nothing special. I had steak and kidney pie. It was huge and really tasty. Came with new potatoes peas and carrots - nothing frozen. I hope the pie was homemade because it tasted as if it was. Food definately gave great value for money. Despite initial reservations we will be back for food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

We found the Foresters Arms while enjoying a lovely walk with our dog, Dillon. We were welcomed by the owners and the locals. It proved to be 100% dog friendly with Dillon being regaled with a variety of titbits. Good pint and an excellent lunch. We have been back and will be there again in a short time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Typical English pub, staff very friendly and accommodating. Bought out treats for our dog. Food was very good value for money, service excellent. Can recommend the chocolate puddings.Lasagna and burger also can be recommended according to teenage children

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend the room was great and the service was brilliant made us feel well at home. The food was top notch and the breakfast was lovely we ate there on both nights a nice vary menu and for Dunster it was very cheap and homemade not something chucked in the microwave. The drinks were cheap as well and the locals were lovely and friendly honestly one of the best B&B I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This was the first night of our 6day Devon/Cornwall/Scilly Isles trip and we were lured into Dunster, Somerset by its hilltop castle and mediaeval village sign. After 4 hotels/B and B's being full, we were getting a little desperate and having driven to the far side of the village, we chanced upon the Foresters Arms. A sweet, welcoming inn, wood stove and sofas, full of locals and good reasonably priced food cooked by the friendly landlady Pat. Also a lovely breakfast. The juke box was a bit thumpy and the African parrot a bit chirpy but it was Friday night and the young people were having a nice time and it did shut down around 11pm . The village was really charming, with its yarn market the focal point.

Room Tip: Cboose one that is not above the bar and jukebox on a weekend night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifestorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stumbled across the Foresters Arms after a trip to the nearby working mill. We did not stay at the Foresters Arms overnight but found that the pub has excellent prices and service; the barkeep was incredibly friendly and a great afternoon was had by all. The food was well priced and of a great quality for the price. The perfect pub!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stylometric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The website was very professional and because it was literally over the road from our cottage we decided to frequent for a few beers and a pub meal, reasonably priced food and drink and a lovely bar person/waitress/table waiter etc was run off her feet, and sadly things go wrong, badly wrong. The Mosquitos were bad enough but three off us eating scampi or steak had ours about 30 minutes before the other three, when questioned the young server was so apologetic because she had made a mistake! Well I am not surprised or indeed would not blame her. Our opinion is that it was good for a beer but the food was bland, deep fried from cheap frozen stuff (scampi) the steak whilst edible came with rock hard peas and warmed up chips, the pasta bake was okay. The Foresters is very pet friendly and to honest they were busy, but the quality was poor and the poor girl was running around like mad

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
153 reviews
0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
209 reviews
0 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#4 of 9 in Dunster
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
784 reviews
0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 9 in Dunster
240 reviews
0 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresters Arms

Address: Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Foresters Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing