We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only B&B Tordown to stay in & on The base of The Tor Wonderful :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tordown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 52 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“The Only B&B Tordown to stay in & on The base of The Tor Wonderful :)”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I choose to stay in a B&B situated on the base of The Tor for the amazing Glastonbury healing energy while I sleep, & away from the busy roads. This B&B Tordown is THE Best. Lovely high vibrational rooms, exceptionally clean, everything you could want provided. Great breakfasts, helpful, great service, Very comfortable beds, lovely nice sheets, Great natural green chemical free toiletries. Beautiful crystals in the rooms & around the house. I stayed in the Angelic Opal Room I Loved it did not want to leave, wished I lived there, miss it already! Go you will love it. If its the healing energies your after for your stay, peace & quiet, rest & rejuvenation this is THE only place to stay. Love to Cheryl & Michael for providing such a lovely place. Well Done yours is definitely the best. I will be back to stay again. Love & Infinite Blessings to All X Harsukh Kaur London XXX ;)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weareall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
28
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, in the Citrine and Clear Quartz rooms. Nothing was to much trouble for our lovely hosts, Cheryl and Michael. The rooms are very well appointed and impeccably clean, the beds sumptuously comfortable with fabulous linens, and the decor very calming. The gemstone diodes or geodes were abundant and made the atmosphere just beautiful. The toiletries were lovely (so lovely I bought some of the shower gel) and the tea trays offered an excellent variety. The breakfasts were delicious and the home made bread was warm and wholesome. The gardens are lovely, full of flowers, fruits and wildlife, and provide a wonderful spot to chill out and admire the scenery. A definite must-stay place for anytime we return to Glastonbury.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

we have just come back from another great stay at Tordown.The peace and quiet are fantastic.As soon as you go up the drive the atmosphere hits you.Michael and Cheryl are fantastic hosts.I do not understand how they can spend so much time with their guests and still function-after all Michael practices as a Chartered Accountant. They never give the slightest hint that they may have other things to do.
The house is as comfortable as ever.The beds are so comfortable.We have travelled quite a lot but have never found anywhere which has such huge towels.They are so thick and soft.
The aura of calm surrounding Tordown is amazing.It is so quiet.We sat in the garden watching the birds in absolute silence.there is the occasional rumble of traffic and the odd helicopter but if peace and quiet are what you need Tordown is the place for you.

The food as always is wonderful with fabulous home grown tomatoes.

we sat in the train coming home and wondered why the noise was horrific.It took a for us to realise it was because we had become accustomed to quiet.

Thank you Cheryl and Michael for your hospitality and friendship.Very soon you will be grand parents and entering a new phase of your life.Do enjoy all the delights your baby granddaughter will bring. XXXXXXX

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlbabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in the Angelic Opal Twin Room. It's not a room, it's a suite! I cannot ever remember having so much room. I cannot ever remember feeling so relaxed. Michael and Cheryl are superb hosts; they cannot do enough for you. The weather was awful for the two days we stayed, but we were honestly sorry to be leaving and wished we had stayed longer. Without doubt the best place I have ever stayed in this country.

Room Tip: Go for the Angelic Opal. So quiet, spacious and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldyskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredensborg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We like to stay a Tordown and have been there several times. This time with some of our family. Everything is lovely here, rooms, breakfast, area and Cheryl and Michael. We went up the Tor very early some mornings and it was a fantastic experience. There is so much to see in the beautiful area. We love Glastonbury, Chalice Well and the Tor

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteenFredensborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here recently on a spur of the moment, as we were in Glastonbury and needed accomodation. Cheryl (the owner) was kind enough to take us for only one night on very short notice, and provided us with a comfortable room. There was a heat wave going on, so she brought us a large fan too after we'd gotten settled in our room. She also recommended a very good restaurant in the town. The room was very clean and tidy, as was the ensuite bathroom. Very nice lounge area to read in, or look out at the birds in the front garden. There were also some nice chairs outside to relax in. Breakfast was very good, which even my husband (not a vegetarian) enjoyed. Another plus is a big car park. Thank you for a very nice stay!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dunn586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have been going regularly to stay at Tordown, and everytime I go there is such a genuine welcome from Cheryl and Micheal.I recently stayed for a week at the beginning if May and stayed in the Rose Quartz room.I found it very clean, the bed was comfortable. The room overlooks the trees at the bottom of the Tor.plenty of healthy hebal teas as well as english tea, coffee, choc drink and biscuits, very generous, (not like found in some hotels)I slept extremely well in the Rose Quartz room.

I have also on occasions stayed in tha Crystal quartz room, again a very comfortable room with a wonderful view over the levels,The Amythest and Malachite rooms each have their own individuality cozy, clean and again with a panoramic view over Glastonbury levels.
Breakfast is vegetarian,with a huge choice along with freshly baked organic bread(lots of things in Tordown are organic, including the toiletries which are available for guests in the bathrooms.

Thankyou again Cheryl and Micheal-I shall be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, lovely views from the front, lower Tor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
441 reviews
4.3 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 52 in Glastonbury
268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 52 in Glastonbury
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Anne's B&B
St Anne's B&B
#21 of 52 in Glastonbury
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tordown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tordown Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tordown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Ashwell Lane, Glastonbury BA6 8BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tordown Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the southern slopes of Glastonbury Tor, we welcome you to our home to relax, unwind and take time to explore Glastonbury and the surrounding areas. Rest in our luxury ensuite rooms with comfortable beds. Simply while away the time watching the stunning views over the Somerset levels from our lounge or outside in the garden on sunny evenings. And before you leave, enjoy our sumptuous organic, fair-trade, local breakfast with fresh homemade bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tordown Bed And Breakfast Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing