We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service”

Hawthorns Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I went there for dinner with my friend who had been there several times before.
We came in at 6.30 and ordered our food immediately as we had something scheduled for 7.30.
We waited for one hour before getting what we ordered that was just fish and chips and sausage and mashed potatoes.
The food was excellent, but the waiting time was too much. No one cared for us while in the room all the other tables were being served.
As a result we missed the previous engagement scheduled for 7.30 cause we were out of the pub at 8 (there were also problems with the credit card machine).
I think I will give it a second chance though, as soon as I come back in Glastonbury cause the food was delicious and freshly cooked. Hope it was just a one time experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieCrisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    67
    20
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent sunday roast”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Called in here last weekend for lunch-we did not book and had a great welcome.
Choice for Sunday lunch was the daily specials which appeared to be mainly curry or roast.
We all chose the roast and were not disappointed the beef and pork was excellent and so was the veg. It was a very cold day and we were off down to the starling roost for the next few hours so this set us up well.
Would definitely come here again when we visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious food and family friendly”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Ten of us (including a four-year-old and a toddler) turned up for lunch on a Sunday, without booking, and were quickly accommodated. The staff bent over backwards to make us comfortable and welcome. We were delighted with the variety of dishes available and we all tried different things. The curries, in particular, were fantastic. We enjoyed the cosy, relaxing atmosphere, the warm welcome and the delicious food. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bumblechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value home cooked food.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Paid a visit for the carvery lunch today.Not overly busy.
Food was good, well cooked and pork was my choice and a good portion size with crackling served with it.
The ONLY thing that lets it down was the food was not that hot despite the hot plates to put your food on and the fact the carvery is on a hot plate with heat lamps.
Veg selection was good &
tasty too.
Place was clean & warm and service was good too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Ate here with a group of friends and had pre-ordered from their special Christmas menu. The meal was excellent quality - everyone said their food was cooked to perfection. Personally, I had the prawn on crostini for starter, followed by the best braised lamb shank I have ever eaten in a restaurant, the meat just fell away from the bone and melted in your mouth. They didn't skimp on the roast potatoes or veg which was also perfect. My dessert was the chocolate orange cheesecake, very rich,chocolatey and tasted divine. As a group I think we ate most of what was on the menu, and one of us had the curry buffet. And we all agreed - top marks.
The service was really good, efficient but not rushed with time between courses to digest your meal. There was a group of singers in the bar which added to the ambiance, and being acoustic were very unobtrusive. Everyone is very friendly, the atmosphere is welcoming and there is also the most delightful pub cat, who found time to come over and be fussed in between sessions of toasting itself in front of the open fire.
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a good meal in Glastonbury. At £22.50 for 3 substantial courses it was also brilliant value for money,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawthorns Hotel, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Hawthorns Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing