We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sarah B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magdalene House Guest Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #10 of 56 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sarah B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Excellent B & B will recommend to everyone. Rooms where beautiful, hospitality first class, cup a tea in the kitchen on arrival!, lots of nice touches to make your stay prefect, husband said it was the best breakfast he had ever had!! We will be returning next year, Sarah & Tim.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
92
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

On our first visit to Glastonbury, Magdalene House was ideally located just across from the Abbey. The building has a warm and cosy feel and the service provided by Debbie and Lou is equally welcoming. Our top floor room was spacious and well appointed with a large bathroom and although we didn't need them, it was very impressive to see that stairlifts were available if required. Breakfasts were taken in the large kitchen and were delicious with a wide choice of options, including veggie and gluten free. Throughout the house you can see a fascinating and eclectic variety of ornaments, pictures and wall hangings. There are even DVDs to borrow if you want to relax after a day in the office or a brisk walk up the Tor. We would definitely recommend Magdalene House to anyone - but make sure you book early because the word is spreading and the No Vacancies sign seems to be up most days!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neckarsulm, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Beautyful rooms, a perfect breakfast and Debbie and Lou are very nice hosts. Highly recommended.
Glastonbury are a very nice town. You can see Glastonbury Abbey, Glastonbury Tor and many other highlights in this area.

Greetings from Germany Hannelore and Peter

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We arrived in Glastonbury quite early last Wednesday morning to be welcomed by a wonderful full English vegetarian breakfast cooked by Debbie, a real treat, as we had been driving for 5½ hours, having left home at 3.30am! Meanwhile Louis carried our cases from our car to our room on the top floor.

Debbie is bright and bubbly with a great sense of humour, Louis is the 'strong, silent type' but friendly and an expert at managing to squeeze even more goodies onto a breakfast table over- flowing with culinary delights! Another reviewer complained about having to share a breakfast table with others, but we find that we’ve met some lovely people and had some interesting conversations over breakfast. It’s all part of the Magdalene House experience, a fabulous cooked breakfast served in a spacious, homely kitchen at a huge, long table with other guests, Magdalene House is very much a ‘home from home’!

Our room had a wonderful view of Glastonbury Abbey, but all rooms have their own charm. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the en suite bathroom has a powerful shower and large, fluffy towels; we slept well every night with fresh, crisp linen on our comfortable beds.

Magdalene House is in a great location opposite Glastonbury Abbey, within walking distance of the Goddess Temple and a plethora of delightful shops and restaurants. Do visit the Café Galatea, the best restaurant in town in our opinion! A bus service runs frequently from outside Glastonbury Abbey to the Tor and the Chalice Well.

Debbie and Louie are a lovely couple and great hosts, I travelled with my young (14yrs old) grand-daughter and when she felt ill with stomach pains, Debbie provided pain-killers and kept a light breakfast by for her until she felt better. On the day we left, we were permitted to leave our car in the private car park at the rear of Magdalene House until early afternoon, so we were able to spend a little more time in town without the inconvenience of re-parking.

Whenever we travel to Glastonbury we look forward to staying at Magdalene house, it's all part of the ‘Glastonbury experience’! It’s said that Glastonbury is the ‘heart centre’ of the world, to us Magdalene House enshrines this concept in the warmth of the welcome extended to guests by Debbie and Louis!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean, comfortable and welcoming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psychiczara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Travelled to Glastonbury on work, was booked in here by my hosts, and could not have asked for better. Room was spotless, spacious and full of character, facilities were superb, breakfast a work of art and welcome could not have been warmer.

Many thanks, perfect rest and recharge for a day at work.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is the best B&B experience we've had in England. We've stayed in some very uncomfortable B&Bs which put us off from B&B. But after my friend suggested me using Tripadvisor for references, I have to say that it made a huge difference to my B&B experience.

Julia is the most friendly host I've made. She has a lovely smile and her casual demeanor put you immediately at ease. In her conversations with us, she mentioned my husband by his first name instead of "he" or "they" as if she has known us for a long time. Although we couldn't have cooked breakfast because of our early departure, it didn't matter because she has put out all the cold breakfast we could need the night before. She also generously let us use the fridge to store the berries and yoghurt that we have with us.

We stayed in the Bella View room. It looks just like it is on its website and is even bigger and has more character. The room is filled with light and has a great view. As it is at the back of the house. It is also quiet. We love it and will stay there again when we go back to Glastonbury.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickypinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here with my fiance for a romantic weekend away and we was not disappointed. The Magdalene House was an excellent choice of accommodation. The rooms were spotless with lots of room and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent, cooked and presented to high standard and opportunity for more if required. The interaction with other guests at breakfast was great as they gave us some great advice on places to visit in the area. The hosts were very warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Me and my partner will defiantly be returning to stay at The Magdalene House again.

Room Tip: Great Interaction at breakfast to help plan your days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
3.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 56 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 56 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#5 of 56 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalene House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalene House Guest Accommodation

Property: Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Address: Magdalene House Magdalene Street, Glastonbury BA6 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalene House Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our spacious family run Grade II listed period home which once formed part of the St. Louis Convent and has many historical connections with the town of Glastonbury. Its unique location opposite Glastonbury Abbey overlooking the Abbey grounds is only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the High Street which has many Unique Shops and Cafe Bars. Glastonbury Tor and Chalice Well are an easy walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing