We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Caddington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year 2012”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

we started our stay on New Years Eve. This was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was to die for - the fresh fruit granola was excellent , i would recommend it to anyone!!! My friend and I had a fantastic time - the welcome was great , we felt right at home.The break was totally relaxing and we would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a home base in Glastonbury. Thanks Deb for making us welcome in your lovely home!! Anne and Andy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
93
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was probably the best B&B experience I've had so far. Magdalene House almost feels like a home away from home, due to its lovely rooms and atmosphere, and its friendly owners Deb and Lou. It's ideally situated across the street from Glastonbury Abbey, and the High Street with its quirky shops and restaurants is literally just around the corner. Chalice Wells and Glastonbury Tor are within easy walking distance.

The house boasts a very eclectic mix of furniture and knick-knacks - you won't know where to look first. Very different from the usual generic look & feel of a lot of hotels and B&Bs. We stayed in the Church View room, which is a lot more spacious than it appears in the website photos. Very well appointed room with comfortable beds and a pleasing colour scheme. The en-suite bathroom is again spacious and finished to a high standard. Coffee and tea making facilities with complementary biscuits and chocolates, and a nice selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate.

Breakfast was made to order and absolutely superb. The first morning my friend and I were the only ones at breakfast, but the second day we were joined by two couples at the big table in the kitchen. Maybe some people would prefer to sit at a table by themselves, but we really enjoyed the friendly banter with the other guests and our hosts.

Also worth mentioning is how very helpful the owners are, with Debbie even arranging a private tour guide to take us to Stonehenge (which was a very enjoyable experience), and a taxi back to Bristol Temple Meads with another friendly driver, at a good price.

Can only highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wednesday22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Spent a weekend in November 2012 here with a friend and think it is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. We stayed in the Church Room and were delighted with the look of the room which was very inviting with cosy beds and a really good-sized en-suite with a lovely bath/shower. The owners have been really thoughtful with the planning of the room and I appreciated the tv that had a slot for you to put in your own dvds and the tea & coffee tray had everything you could want. I've been in many a hotel at twice the price and not got anything like this. It's hospitality with a capital H! Breakfast in the morning was amazing with plenty of choice and all fresh. Our dietary needs were catered for with no extra charge and nothing was too much trouble. It's a lovely house and we felt warmly welcomed. Location in Glastonbury is very good as it is just a short walk to the shops. We found plenty to do over the weekend as everywhere is open Saturday and Sunday and people very friendly. Definitely a place to visit again. Pam & Jane

Room Tip: The Church Room is at the back of the house overlooking the garden and very quiet at night. It has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelamayrudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Two friends and I rode through Glastonbury on our way to Woolacombe this past thursday. Debbie and Lou at the Magdalene House went way beyond the call of duty to take care of us!
Our ride from Marlborough that day had many detours and even more rain which made for quite a long day. Debbie and Lou, however, brought a good ending to the day. They laundered our soaked gear, stored our bikes, and even offered to dry our shoes!
The guest house was immaculate and the breakfast even better.
If you're heading through Glastonbury, give them a visit- you'll have a great experience.
Thanks Debbie and Lou!

Room Tip: Order the yogurt compote with breakfast-delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpparenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This bed and breakfast is right across from the Abbey and we felt a wonderful energy there as if we had just come home. We were treated like family and even better. Debbie and Louis are the nicest people who made us feel at home with their great breakfast from a multitude of choices and good advice about travel and touring. This is a lovely bed and breakfast, tastefully decorated and cozy as well. We slept well in comfortable beds in a lovely room, large bathroom, and candy and tea or coffee right in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Excellent B & B will recommend to everyone. Rooms where beautiful, hospitality first class, cup a tea in the kitchen on arrival!, lots of nice touches to make your stay prefect, husband said it was the best breakfast he had ever had!! We will be returning next year, Sarah & Tim.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

On our first visit to Glastonbury, Magdalene House was ideally located just across from the Abbey. The building has a warm and cosy feel and the service provided by Debbie and Lou is equally welcoming. Our top floor room was spacious and well appointed with a large bathroom and although we didn't need them, it was very impressive to see that stairlifts were available if required. Breakfasts were taken in the large kitchen and were delicious with a wide choice of options, including veggie and gluten free. Throughout the house you can see a fascinating and eclectic variety of ornaments, pictures and wall hangings. There are even DVDs to borrow if you want to relax after a day in the office or a brisk walk up the Tor. We would definitely recommend Magdalene House to anyone - but make sure you book early because the word is spreading and the No Vacancies sign seems to be up most days!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
0.1 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 53 in Glastonbury
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#5 of 53 in Glastonbury
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalene House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalene House Guest Accommodation

Property: Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Address: Magdalene House Magdalene Street, Glastonbury BA6 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalene House Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our spacious family run Grade II listed period home which once formed part of the St. Louis Convent and has many historical connections with the town of Glastonbury. Its unique location opposite Glastonbury Abbey overlooking the Abbey grounds is only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the High Street which has many Unique Shops and Cafe Bars. Glastonbury Tor and Chalice Well are an easy walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing