We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #12 of 55 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Excellent food!, excellent accommodation! What lovey people! Debbie, Lou and Julia a great family run business. We stayed at Magdalene house, whilst visiting friends in the area, they made us feel most welcome. Debbie cooked a delicious feast, with plenty of choice, The room was very clean and tastefully decorated, we stayed in Bella which was located on the top floor at the back which proved to be nice and quiet. We will definitely be back!!!!! Thank you Debbie, Lou and Julia, we look forward to staying with you in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in Bella on the top floor a lovely quiet double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaKD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
92
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

After getting over the "Leave your shoes there" welcome, an amazing sight of overfurnished chintzy dust collecting decor. Got the distinct feeling we were there for the owner's benefit. not the other way round. Would have preferred to be asked what time I would like breakfast, not be told it was 8.30 or 9 (good as it was). Booked 3 rooms for the weekend for the older members of family for wedding celebration. The bride was certainly not welcomed when arriving to use her mother's room to prepare and the best man was ordered to wait outside when arriving to provide transport. Parking distant, stairs challenging.

Room Tip: Best view at the front overlooking Abbey grounds but bring earplugs for weekend pub leaving time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SomersetFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicalPlace, Owner at Magdalene House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
In response to the review posted eight months after this parties stay we would like to make an appropriate management response.

In our booking/explanatory email we state we are a shoeless environment on the upper floors of the building so obviously outdoor shoes are left downstairs. The comment on the décor is surprising and insulting, however this guest would probably preferred the décor of an anonymous budget hotel which offers bed and breakfast at an extra charge rather than stay in a home which has many historical connections to Glastonbury and is furnished accordingly.

The breakfast slots of 8.30 or 9.00a.m. suits the vast majority of our guests and this has never been an issue. We provide earlier and later breakfasts if the guest requests it - they just have to ask.

We were not informed that the bride and 5 bridesmaids were expecting to prepare for the wedding at Magdalene House. They were not our guests and the courtesy of this information would have be appreciated. However, they came and used our facilities to the full i.e. showers,
hair, make up and using us as a changing room. We only discovered this when we went to
service the room.

Rather than be unwelcoming we had the groom (who did not stay with us either), use our facilities over the weekend and was in and out bringing barrels of beer, wedding items etc. etc.

Additionally Health and Safety issues require us to know how many people are in the house and there was so many comings and goings it was farcical. Again this was taken for granted without prior notice.

The best man was invited inside to wait but said he preferred to sit outside in his car so we dispute this statement. Car parking is provided in a secure car park at the back of our building two minutes walk from the front door. Again in our advisory email we inform our guests that the building is a three storey property which used to be a convent and then a school so the stairs should not be a surprise. We also have a Stannah stair lift which less mobile guests use to get to their rooms, if required.

We would encourage anyone to go to our website and read the reviews posted by previous guests and also view our 360 video tour of Magdalene House. Obviously eight months on the reviewer has chosen to provide a negative review, we can live with this as we know what we offer is a first class service which is borne out by our listing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed in Abbey room and found whole experience lovely.When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and Debbie took alot of time showing us around.The room is very very comfortable and the view of the Abbey in the morning is wonderful.Breakfast is definitely worth getting up for and Debbie will make sure that you get exactly the breakfast you want.Shower is great and water lovely and hot!Parking is no problem and is in a private space at the back.Glastonbury is a fascinating place with loads of cafes and restaurants to try.We found some nice pubs for the evenings and some amazing bookshops.We would recommend any who wants a relaxing stay and a stress free experience to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chore96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed with deb and Lou on the 1st feb for the weekend. The room and bathroom was lovely, breakfast was a heaven mix of home-made granola pots with fruit and yoghurt , followed by a full English breakfast, gorgeous!!! The service is friendly and discreet, I loved it. Will definitely go back again.
Eve. Liverpool x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evestherapies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

2 Star , 2/10
4 Flights of very steep stairs to our top floor room, not much fun with a big case.
Room very Kitsch with lots of Bric a Brac. Bed at leat was nice.
Hot water ran out when my wife ran a bath at night and in the morning had not replenished.
On site parking down an alley and only able to be accessed by the owner at your request.
We got a take away bagged breakfast. It was frozen and had not defrosted an hour after we got it.

Room Tip: Fit people only need apply , lots of steep stairs. Difficult to park a car at. Very hard to check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicalPlace, Owner at Magdalene House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
The reviewer stayed with us 10 months ago in APRIL 2012. We have read the other 27 reviews he posted about his trip staying in accommodaton in the UK, France and Spain. Each and everyone is negative.We found it strange that after 10 months he has decided to post these reviews
In reply to the points raised:- as the guests arrived very late my son escorted them into our secure car park which is down a road directly adjacent to our property and is not an alley and is a minutes walk from the car park back to our buildingl. We offered help with the luggage which was refused.- we do state on our website the building is three storey - being an old convent, so has stairs. All our breakfast packs are freshly made and placed in the kitchen refrigerator, not freezer, together with water, fruit and orange juice for the guests who are leaving early. This party were leaving at 6.30a.m. My son got up at 6a.m. the morning of their departure to make sure they were ok and offered them assistance when leaving, which was again refused.
As the reviewer was in the house scarcely more than seven hours in total I'm surprised he had time to make such a negative judgement as they came in very late and went straight to bed.
Our hospitality, food, - we have a breakfast award, service and decor are highly praised by 99% of our guests. We can live with the 1% who do not enjoy staying with us. Please read our previous glowing reviews - 99% cannot be wrong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed here for two nights just before christmas and it was the weekend of the winter solstice. I was spending the first night there alone before my boyfriend joined me the following day. I received a very warm welcome and I was given a welcome cup of coffee and a little apple pie whilst I filled out the forms and Deb gave me lots of useful information on the area.

I stayed in the Abbey room which was breathtakingly beautiful. The shower was really good in the bathroom though it was a shame there wasn't a bath in that room. However everything else was absolutely perfect.

It was a little bit noisy at night with traffic from the road however there were earplugs available and on the second night after a good few drinks, I didn't hear it at all! Breakfast was made to order and there was plenty of it. Having to share the breakfast table did feel a bit awkward when I was there on my own but I felt more comfortable the next morning when my boyfriend was there and we chatted to another couple of guests.

This building is very beautiful and I could of quite easily moved in! The location is perfectly central and I would reccommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

we started our stay on New Years Eve. This was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was to die for - the fresh fruit granola was excellent , i would recommend it to anyone!!! My friend and I had a fantastic time - the welcome was great , we felt right at home.The break was totally relaxing and we would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a home base in Glastonbury. Thanks Deb for making us welcome in your lovely home!! Anne and Andy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
3.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 55 in Glastonbury
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 55 in Glastonbury
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#4 of 55 in Glastonbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalene House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalene House Guest Accommodation

Property: Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Address: Magdalene House Magdalene Street, Glastonbury BA6 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalene House Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our spacious family run Grade II listed period home which once formed part of the St. Louis Convent and has many historical connections with the town of Glastonbury. Its unique location opposite Glastonbury Abbey overlooking the Abbey grounds is only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the High Street which has many Unique Shops and Cafe Bars. Glastonbury Tor and Chalice Well are an easy walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing