We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #12 of 55 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Beautiful, impeccable, friendly, welcoming, comfortable. Lovely breakfast that was well made, tasty, and accommodating of special requests. The room was lovely, comfortable, more spacious than expected, with a great bathroom! Perfect location just off High Street, across from the Abbey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
92
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Cary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Cannot recommend Magdalene House highly enough. Wonderfully accommodating and friendly hosts, stunning decor, gorgeous luxury extras and a fabulous breakfast. Our room was more like a suite with a sofa area! Kingsize bed, two huge windows flooding the room with light, high ceilings and a lovely energy. Lots of lovely other guests staying and a very pleasant atmosphere over breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Recently spent two nights in Glastonbury, both at Magdelene House. I can't begin to rave enough. The house itself is gorgeous. I had the Abbey View room. Loved it. Such attenion to details not only in decore but in provisions for guests. Breakfast (included with stay) was a really treat. Lovely full blow English Breakfast (lots of other food items to choose from too), fresh cooked right in the spaceous diningroom/kitchen while you sit and are pampered and enjoy chatting and sharing with the handful of other guests. Debbie is an lovely, lovely thoughtful and caring woman. If you are visiting Glastonbury, this is definately the place to stay and worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Doucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

if you are a course delegate in the next door church hall, this is a very convenient location. Parking outside for half an hour is very useful whilst you unload. There are four flights of stairs, but Debbie will help, or you can use the stair lift. You may not wear your shoes upstairs but there is a pew by the front door for shoe removal and storage. The rooms are pleasant, if a little over-filled with ornaments and knick-knacks. The hospitality tray offered fresh milk in a flask, real coffee and chilled water. In the bathroom the hospitality included more than basic essentials and the towels were large and soft. The bed was comfortable with a mattress topper and feather pillows. The breakfast choice was huge and all freshly prepared and cooked and has won awards. The breakfast was taken in the kitchen at one large table and was served by Louis, as Debbie cooked. It is possible to eat one's own lunch and supper at the kitchen table. On the whole, this is the best Guest House that I have stayed at in Glastonbury and it is most definitely the cleanest! I would stay there again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Bella View is on the second floor. It has the advantage of two huge windows. The bathroom is spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pramsrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Excellent food!, excellent accommodation! What lovey people! Debbie, Lou and Julia a great family run business. We stayed at Magdalene house, whilst visiting friends in the area, they made us feel most welcome. Debbie cooked a delicious feast, with plenty of choice, The room was very clean and tastefully decorated, we stayed in Bella which was located on the top floor at the back which proved to be nice and quiet. We will definitely be back!!!!! Thank you Debbie, Lou and Julia, we look forward to staying with you in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in Bella on the top floor a lovely quiet double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaKD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

After getting over the "Leave your shoes there" welcome, an amazing sight of overfurnished chintzy dust collecting decor. Got the distinct feeling we were there for the owner's benefit. not the other way round. Would have preferred to be asked what time I would like breakfast, not be told it was 8.30 or 9 (good as it was). Booked 3 rooms for the weekend for the older members of family for wedding celebration. The bride was certainly not welcomed when arriving to use her mother's room to prepare and the best man was ordered to wait outside when arriving to provide transport. Parking distant, stairs challenging.

Room Tip: Best view at the front overlooking Abbey grounds but bring earplugs for weekend pub leaving time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SomersetFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicalPlace, Owner at Magdalene House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
In response to the review posted eight months after this parties stay we would like to make an appropriate management response.

In our booking/explanatory email we state we are a shoeless environment on the upper floors of the building so obviously outdoor shoes are left downstairs. The comment on the décor is surprising and insulting, however this guest would probably preferred the décor of an anonymous budget hotel which offers bed and breakfast at an extra charge rather than stay in a home which has many historical connections to Glastonbury and is furnished accordingly.

The breakfast slots of 8.30 or 9.00a.m. suits the vast majority of our guests and this has never been an issue. We provide earlier and later breakfasts if the guest requests it - they just have to ask.

We were not informed that the bride and 5 bridesmaids were expecting to prepare for the wedding at Magdalene House. They were not our guests and the courtesy of this information would have be appreciated. However, they came and used our facilities to the full i.e. showers,
hair, make up and using us as a changing room. We only discovered this when we went to
service the room.

Rather than be unwelcoming we had the groom (who did not stay with us either), use our facilities over the weekend and was in and out bringing barrels of beer, wedding items etc. etc.

Additionally Health and Safety issues require us to know how many people are in the house and there was so many comings and goings it was farcical. Again this was taken for granted without prior notice.

The best man was invited inside to wait but said he preferred to sit outside in his car so we dispute this statement. Car parking is provided in a secure car park at the back of our building two minutes walk from the front door. Again in our advisory email we inform our guests that the building is a three storey property which used to be a convent and then a school so the stairs should not be a surprise. We also have a Stannah stair lift which less mobile guests use to get to their rooms, if required.

We would encourage anyone to go to our website and read the reviews posted by previous guests and also view our 360 video tour of Magdalene House. Obviously eight months on the reviewer has chosen to provide a negative review, we can live with this as we know what we offer is a first class service which is borne out by our listing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed in Abbey room and found whole experience lovely.When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and Debbie took alot of time showing us around.The room is very very comfortable and the view of the Abbey in the morning is wonderful.Breakfast is definitely worth getting up for and Debbie will make sure that you get exactly the breakfast you want.Shower is great and water lovely and hot!Parking is no problem and is in a private space at the back.Glastonbury is a fascinating place with loads of cafes and restaurants to try.We found some nice pubs for the evenings and some amazing bookshops.We would recommend any who wants a relaxing stay and a stress free experience to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chore96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
3.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 55 in Glastonbury
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 55 in Glastonbury
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#4 of 55 in Glastonbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalene House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalene House Guest Accommodation

Property: Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Address: Magdalene House Magdalene Street, Glastonbury BA6 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalene House Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our spacious family run Grade II listed period home which once formed part of the St. Louis Convent and has many historical connections with the town of Glastonbury. Its unique location opposite Glastonbury Abbey overlooking the Abbey grounds is only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the High Street which has many Unique Shops and Cafe Bars. Glastonbury Tor and Chalice Well are an easy walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing