We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again for a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Girona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Back again for a great stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Once again we chose to stay at Magdalene House. This time we stayed longer than planned--my husband was taken ill shortly after we arrived and ended up in hospital for 4 days. Debbie was an enormous help--calling the nurses, getting a taxi, etc. I can't speak highly enough of her gracious assistance. We have now stayed in three different rooms, and they are all comfortable, with lots of amenities, high ceilings, comfy beds and sofas (in 2 rooms). I thought I preferred the rooms facing the back (quieter)--but the view from the Abbey 2 room facing the abbey kitchen ruins was wonderful--and the room wasn't noisy. Immaculate rooms, excellent and ample breakfast, caring and gracious hosts, central location. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different--individualistic, with different advantages. As Debbie about quiet, sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeregrinaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
93
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This place is great. Debbie and the staff are great hosts. They make you feel at home. It is centrally located in Glastonbury next to the Glastonbury Abbey. The breakfast is great. The Bella Room that I was in was extremely spacious and had a excellent view. The rooms have free WI-FI and a DVD player in the room as well. They have a good selection of DVDs as well. I would definitely recommend the Magdalene House to anyone staying in the Glastonbury area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEpic1Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Magdalene House is well worth the money; its host Debbie made us feel genuinely welcome. The whole house is perfectly clean and the breakfast is top notch - wonderful sausages! We will be going there again! What more can I say?!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Excellent hosts, excellent service, excellent breakfast. A highly recommended Bed and Breakfast establishment. The electronic inclinator chair on the stairs (for transporting luggage up 3 levels) was a pleasant and welcome surprise. Lou and Deb were very accommodating , friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelHurley941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Beautiful, impeccable, friendly, welcoming, comfortable. Lovely breakfast that was well made, tasty, and accommodating of special requests. The room was lovely, comfortable, more spacious than expected, with a great bathroom! Perfect location just off High Street, across from the Abbey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Cannot recommend Magdalene House highly enough. Wonderfully accommodating and friendly hosts, stunning decor, gorgeous luxury extras and a fabulous breakfast. Our room was more like a suite with a sofa area! Kingsize bed, two huge windows flooding the room with light, high ceilings and a lovely energy. Lots of lovely other guests staying and a very pleasant atmosphere over breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Recently spent two nights in Glastonbury, both at Magdelene House. I can't begin to rave enough. The house itself is gorgeous. I had the Abbey View room. Loved it. Such attenion to details not only in decore but in provisions for guests. Breakfast (included with stay) was a really treat. Lovely full blow English Breakfast (lots of other food items to choose from too), fresh cooked right in the spaceous diningroom/kitchen while you sit and are pampered and enjoy chatting and sharing with the handful of other guests. Debbie is an lovely, lovely thoughtful and caring woman. If you are visiting Glastonbury, this is definately the place to stay and worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Doucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
0.1 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 53 in Glastonbury
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#5 of 53 in Glastonbury
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalene House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalene House Guest Accommodation

Property: Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Address: Magdalene House Magdalene Street, Glastonbury BA6 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalene House Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our spacious family run Grade II listed period home which once formed part of the St. Louis Convent and has many historical connections with the town of Glastonbury. Its unique location opposite Glastonbury Abbey overlooking the Abbey grounds is only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the High Street which has many Unique Shops and Cafe Bars. Glastonbury Tor and Chalice Well are an easy walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing