We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly atmosphere”
Review of Heaphys Cafe

Heaphys Cafe
Ranked #25 of 55 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a lovely centrally located cafe that has recently been taken over by a couple of really great guys. Well worth a stop by if you're in Glastonbury.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hippygeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    57
    30
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No longer what it once was...”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Until recently a pleasant place to sit with a coffee & enjoy being in Glastonbury. Then it changed hands and standards slipped noticeably, i.e. atmosphere, cleanliness, efficiency, quality and respect for customers.
Today (despite asking beforehand) we discovered that it is too much trouble for the owner/managers or their staff to bring coffee out for someone who is disabled who would have difficulty carrying a tray. When we queried this, we got apallingly rude attitude from the owner/manager and consequently will be enjoying coffee elsewhere in the future.
Interestingly, despite the manager/owner stating "we don't do waiter service" apparently they do if you buy food.
So they will walk the 6 yards from servery to tables outside if they think you've spent enough, but not bother if you are 'just' a repeat customer.
The logic, courtesy and customer friendliness of this 'reasoning' was matched only by the rude attitude of the owner/manager who stomped off.

Such a contrast to the previous magement...

Plenty of other cafes in Glastonbury (including ones who maintain a high standard of hygiene in both their kitchens & toilets, such as The Blue Note).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravellerin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Amazing coffee, you have to try the guest blends. knowledgeable staff will help you choose from the extensive choice of quality produce

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NatchoNatchoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“went twice in the same day”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

pooped in when we got to Glastonbury for a coffee, my Espresso was very good my friend had some girly type coffee that came with a heart on the froth, we like it so much we returned for lunch which was very nice too, and a nice place to sit and chill, i have seen there website and the rooms look amazing, if we go again we will stop here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank a3xloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The range and and flavours of their icecreams are wonderful.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family often call in here, coffees and hot chocolate are excellent and the ice-cream is wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Winnie680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heaphys Cafe also viewed

Glastonbury, Somerset
 
Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 
Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Heaphys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing