We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you don't like sleeping....”
Review of Heaphys

Heaphys
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heaphys
Ranked #48 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The bathroom is a bit on the small side.. is ok if you're a cat or a very small dog, but I don't think it was designed for humans over 4foot tall or more than 10inches wide, however, the Bedroom is Big and well appointed and clean has 4 Big windows which overlook the main square is nice for 'people watching' during the day. And at night good for watching the endless stream of police cars, dozens of police. Several ambulances, police dogs and the large drunken yobbish groups fighting and screaming and shouting and DIRECTLY outside your window between the hours of 11pm and 4.30am... no kidding. This REALLY happened. Some people got really hurt... whilst I appreciate heaphy's have no control over what goes on in the street, some decent double glazing would definately help when living next to violent and troublesome night spot. One positive is that you will find breakfast is not included in your 70 pound a night room, which is fine because we left as soon we woke up.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thegoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Excellent stay - we really enjoyed it here. Big spacious warm room especially as it was a very cold week and as Aussies we need the warmth. Lovely staff - apparently the grumpy manager we had read about has left. Brilliant place for people watching as it's centre of town. Good food and wonderful coffee. Was a bonus having 15% off any food as we are not really breakfast people and appreciated not having to be down at a certain time to have breakfast. Some noise at night but only to be expected from central location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Room had recently been decorated and was clean and tidy. Views were great but noise levels from creaking floorboards above and drunken revellers who congregate right outside at the monument throughout most of the night mean you won't get much sleep. For the price and the fact that it is directly above a cafe i would have thought breakfast should be provided. Although there were three of us only two cups were provided. Also someone went in our room whilst we were out and moved things around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It was great to be able to stay right in the middle of town! Close to bus stops, so I could travel with ease. The staff was more than helpful, kind, and accommodating! Great views from the rooms, facing the square. Clean. 15% off meals downstairs, which is a very nice plus. It is in the center of town, so if you are sensitive to Saturday night noise, bring your ear plugs and white noise tracks. Glastonbury is a great town, and the staff at Heaphy's made it a great stay.

Room Tip: Not good for those who have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aepril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The room was facing the square, with great views and centrally located. Sunny, clean and spacious. However, the bathroom area was pokey (80 cm deep with a sink jutting out in the middle). 15% off breakfast downstairs was an added bonus. Being central, though, the noise was a problem. Up until the last drunken reveller went home at 2:00 am and beginning again at 6:00 with traffic. Not ideal for a mature couple who like to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The room we stayed in was lovely - clean and sunny. Lots of space. Apart from a certain amount of noise from the high street early morning, we had a very relaxed stay. The central location more than made up for any noise. They don't do breakfast, which actually suited us, but do give 15% off any food we wanted, both at Heaphys cafe and the Blue Note cafe up the high street. I believe that the cafe has recently been refurbished - it is really nice, and serves great coffee and will make any sandwich to order.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have been staying here for many years and have always found its central location a big bonus, but now the cafe has had a make-over and is now a sandwich bar with local ingredients and the staff are very helpfull esp the manager. Recomend the make it up as you go along filled rolls.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpfutok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion West Pennard
The Red Lion West Pennard
#1 of 2 in West Pennard
121 reviews
3.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.2 mi away
No.1 Park Terrace
No.1 Park Terrace
#26 of 53 in Glastonbury
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Living Waters Retreat House
Living Waters Retreat House
#47 of 53 in Glastonbury
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaphys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaphys

Address: 16 Market Place, Glastonbury BA6 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Heaphys Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing