We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent”

Review of Walnut Cottage

South West face
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South West face
Children's play house Kitchen and Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
23 reviews
South West face
Children's play house
Kitchen and Dining Room
Kitchen and Dining Room
Garden
Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Downstairs Bathroom
Garden patio
Entrance
Entrance and Hall
Laundry
Southwest face
First floor plan
Ground floor plan
Barton St. David church
Glastonbury Abbey
View looking towards Glastonbury Tor (roughly 6km North North West)
Walnut Cottage garden
Deer running through field next to Walnut Cottage
Glastonbury Tor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
65BeeCee
White Rock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay here very much. We have never stayed in a house so comfortable, well-equipped, and peaceful. The hosts could not have been nicer. We feel very lucky to have found such a perfect place during our once-in-a-lifetime visit to England, and the memories continue to enrich us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KediYavru...
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage in a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Walnut cottage is the most amazing place to stay. The cottage is in a quiet, traditional Somerset country village set in lovely gardens with views across the countryside. We were there in November with our 2 young children and my parents and everyone had the most wonderful time.

The cottage itself is beautiful, decorated to an amazingly high standard and fully equipped with everything you could need. It is heated to a perfect temperature throughout and there is also a wood burning fire if you fancy that lovely feeling of sitting by an open fire in winter.

It is in a great position for exploring the Somerset countryside and just 15 minutes drive into Glastonbury.

The owners live right next door and are very friendly and helpful.

We only stay for 3 nights but wish we could have been there for longer. I would love to return one day and would stay longer next time. I definitely recommend this cottage, it is one of the best I have stayed in.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cottage was absolutley beautiful
Liked least: Coming home :(
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We won't go into great detail suffice it to say we have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years and this place is the best we have stayed at. We had a lovely comfortable super king bed with down quilt and cotton sheets. There was a great large 40in tv which we find such a plus for nights in and a huge kitchen breakfast room and lovely bathroom. We will definitely be going back and last but not least the owners were very friendly and helpful.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Fantastic bed, Large TV Super kitchen and bathrom
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathymarc...
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and tranquil!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The farmhouse was just beautiful and was able to accomodate myself, a friend, my 4 children aged 20,16,5 and3 and my elderly father. It was very clean, maintained and the house was equipped with everything you could possibly need. It is down a small quiet road and it is situated in a very peaceful surroundings, but also very close to many of the area attractions. There is nothing bad i can say about the farmhouse or anything about this property. I highly recommend the Walnut Cottage.....

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallarta1...
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, magic and definitely a five star cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We were a couple traveling with two teenager through England, Ireland and Scotland and we all voted that Walnut Cottage was the best of all the places. The location in the countryside is beautiful, but close enough to get to Glastonbury and other areas. The cottage was absolute perfect, every detail has been though out with all the comfort that you get in five star hotel. The garden is beautiful and the owners were very gracious and helpful. We want to go back and stay longer.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizandton...
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“As close to perfect as is possible. 5 star luxury in a cottage!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Liz and I booked last minute for a 3 day break in February. I booked by phone and Theresa was really friendly and helpful. She really seems like a very warm caring person. Anyway, we liked the look of Walnut Cottage on the internet and when we arrived, well we weren't disappointed in the slightest. It is situated in about an acre of garden, fenced off and secure if you have kids, with a lovely wooden wendy house and swing for them to play on. At night your can hear owls and during the day there are loads of birds and a cheeky squirrel that frequent the garden. We paid £85 per night as were there low season, which is the price of a reasonable hotel room, and we got this lovely 3 bedroom detached house. Its a lovely property and the owners, Theresa and Adrian live next door. They gave us a lovely warm welcome, but apart from waving to them as we went out for the day one morning, and when I popped around to ask them about something, they didn't bother us at all. Its perfect from that point of view, as if there are any problems, they are there to sort it out. Adrian is a very practical man and renovated the cottage himself, so you have no worries on that score.
To park you drive right into cottage garden and it is secure and off road and right by the front door, so easy to load and unload your car!
There is also free wifi.
The house itself is decorated to an extraordinarily high standard, and it all felt new, like being in a showhome but much more cosy and friendly. We felt totally at home and happy the second we entered. The kitchen is truly amazing, big enough for a real family experience whatever the size of your family or intimate enough for a cosy couple break. Its so well equipped too, you could have produced absolutely anything in it and not been short of the right tool for the job. It had a superb induction cooker as well which was so clean and simple to use, two ovens and range cooker. Perfect. Lots of lovely touches like a coffee grinder, beans and coffee maker, a full spice rack and superb pots and pans.
There was a big dining table, that would easily seat 8 (more if you squeezed in) but we slid in the leaves and made it into a suitable size for two. Seriously, its superb!
In the lounge most of the soft furnishings look like John Lewis items, so it has a classy, comfortable appearance. Good sized flat screen telly with a good selection of freeview channels and a DVD player (and a few DVDs too!). There was also a stereo digital/FM radion/CD player which we also used a lot. Both the kitchen/dining room and the lounge had views out to the lovely back garden.
Downstairs there was also a shower room and toilet, of 5 star hotel standard and a plentiful supply of lovely thick towels.
Upstairs there was another shower/bathroom and a separate loo (very practical if there are a few of you), again furnished to an amazing standard. In the large bathroom cupboard there was also a good selection of kids bath toys, spare towels etc etc.
We only used the master bedroom but it had a large bed (at least kingsize) and plenty of storage space, and again decorated and furnished to the same amazing standards.
We didn't use the other two bedrooms but it was more of the same.
From a practical point of view the house is fully double glazed with upvc double glazing so no draughts and plenty of quiet (not that its noisy outside apart from the birds and stuff). The doors have security locks and there is a burglar alarm too. There are working smoke detactors too and under the beds upstairs there are emergency escape ladders folded away. No detail has been overlooked.
Its about a 10 minute drive to Glastonbury where there is a big Morrissons Supermarket or if you prefer Tesco, there is one in Shepton Mallett. There is small convenience store in the next village and a pub in Barton St David which looks like a fun place although we didn't make it down there.
There is a lovely patio area with nice furntiture in the garden which we didn't use much in February but I can only imagine how idyllic it would be using it in the Summer.
There is lots of information in the house about local amenities and attractions, and Theresa is always on hand to answer any questions.
This is really a top class holiday cottage and I would recommend it to anybody. Obviously you'll pay more in different seasons, but seriously it is a really top choice.
I'm sure there is more I could have said, but if you have any questions then please contact me.
I do hope you find this review helpful.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paunat, Dordogne
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011 for a stay in April 2011

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The quality
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing